We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again wonderful!!”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #10 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Again wonderful!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Once again a memorable stay at the beautiful Oberoi! Staff are superb in all areas, so helpful and accommodating nothing is too much trouble. Situated right on the beach and an oasis of calm in the middle of Seminyak. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DjJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
16/4/14.

Dear DJ Jenny,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali. I am delighted to note that you have once again enjoyed your visit here.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali again.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,364
    183
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
279
979
67
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Situated right by the beach, The Oberoi is beautiful. With its long driveway up to the entrance, as soon as you go through the gates, you leave the chaos of Seminyak behind and are back in sanctuary. The rooms are a good size, even the bathrooms are bigger than many people's living rooms! It's so peaceful, you can hear the waves crashing onto the shore in the night. To one side of the hotel is the very popular (but expensive) Ku de Ta. This can be a bit noisy so if you're worried about that request a room on the other side of the property. We did this and heard nothing of Ku de Ta nor the road. As many reviews say, the breakfasts are great - loads of choice and great view sitting on the terrace staring at the sea. The staff are very polite and nothing is too much. They even offer to clean your sunglasses for you around the pool and serve daily fruit skewers and sorbet. It's the little extras that make all the difference. One day we had breakfast on our patio as we were going on an early trip. When we returned later in the day the tray had not been collected but a quick phone call resulted in frantic apologies and collection in less than ten minutes. There can always be a hiccup but it's how it is dealt with that matters. We really couldn't fault this hotel - from the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome with the Oberoi representative waiting from us on arrival at the airport. I'm sure we'll be back one day and there will be little point searching other hotels as we know we'll be drawn back to The Oberoi.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the road and main entrance, and away from Ku de Ta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
16/4/14.

Dear Eli232,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am sorry to note that the room service not collected the empty tray from your room more timely. I am very sorry for this oversight. We have addressed this point with our Room Service Team in order to improve the clear up service after room service has been delivered.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali once again.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were staying in Sanur but decided to have lunch at The Oberoi after a big morning's shopping. We didn't want to leave. I can't remember the name of the restaurant but we were seated outside under these gorgeous umbrellas. The staff moved them to ensure the seven of us were all in the shade. We all had cocktails, entrees and mains. The food was amazing as was the service. Unfortunately, the rain came otherwise I think we would have still been there at dinner time. Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
16/4/14

Dear RMJDJJ,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to the Frangipani Cafe here at The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your location, food, drinks and service delivery from our warm Balinese staff.

Thank you for visiting us and we hope that next time you can come and stay with us here at The Oberoi, Bali.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

29 years after we were married we returned to the Oberoi in Bali. Everything was as lovely and romantic as we remembered. The setting is beautiful: frangipani trees around a huge swimming pool, right on the most pristine stretch of beach with warm swimmable water. The Oberoi is one of the few authentic Balinese resorts on the beach. All lanais and villas are on ground level in lush secluded settings. There is a beautiful spa and the massages are heavenly. The restaurants serve world class food and each table has a view of the ocean. There are often dance and gamelan performances in the evenings, as well as afternoon tea and complimentary fruit skewers and sorbet by the pool. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. There are good yoga classes and a wonderful boutique.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear CynthiaGr,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you and your husband have enjoyed your visit here and that you have enjoyed the traditional architecture, location, warm Balinese staff, services, and setting here at The Oberoi, Bali. I am happy to note that our location on the beach has also been enjoyed by you.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali. (Please don't wait another 29 years!)

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

A tranquil, safe, beautiful bubble in the middle of the hustle of Seminyak. The grounds and pool are meticulously maintained by cheerful but discrete staff. Breakfast on patio is lovely and our spa experience was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisoninny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
16/4/14.

Dear Allisonin,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit here and that you have enjoyed the location, grounds and warm Balinese staff.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We booked the hotel for it's "true to Bali" grounds. The hotel was very peaceful, very spread out, beautiful ornate pool, and unlike any hotel I have experienced. We were very busy while staying, so our only meals were breakfast and a lunch by the pool. All of which were great. However, we found our room very lacking. It was very cramped in size, and there was a terrible sewage and must smell. The décor was very dated, and we had a tiny patio porch with no privacy. The location was great, the grounds were amazing, but it's time for them to upgrade their rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
16/4/14.

Dear Ashley M,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit to The Oberoi, Bali. and that you found the grounds, location and style of the resort was unlike any other you have ever experienced. The Oberoi Bali is deemed the Grand Dame of Bali resorts and heralded as the most classically Balinese hotel on the island. The Oberoi, Bali is decidedly an authentic Balinese Resort. The 500 metres of beach frontage on 15 acres of mature gardens with all low rise thatched roof and stone buildings were built in an era pre-darting the largish high rise resorts you may have experienced elsewhere.

I was sorry to read in your review that that you found the room decor and size to be lacking. I sincerely appreciate you opinion and assure you that the feedback of all of our guests is paramount. We would have gladly relocated you to room where sitting on your terrace would have accorded you more privacy. Some of the Lanai rooms do overlook the pathways and some don't. The Villas accord complete privacy with their high walls and private courtyards and swimming pools. I apologise for any odour of dampness from the natural thatch roof and gasses from the drains. Thatch does have a damp odour in the rainy season. We are upgrading our septic systems at present and the entire resort will be connected to the municipal sewer system of Bali by the end of the year.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali once again.

Sincere regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Oberoi is a little old-fashioned compared to modern multi-storied hotels of glass and stainless steel but that is it's beauty. It is traditional, tranquil and subtly luxurious set amidst cool green gardens on the ocean front. The staff are its greatest asset - the best I have encountered in any 5 star+ hotel or cruise ship in the world. When my daughter became unexpectedly ill, (not food related) the assistance of the staff was so very re-assuring. I knew we were in good hands which took all the stress away. The standard of all facilities was impeccable even though the hotel was built in the late 70s. The restaurant was superb and excellent value. We plan to return to the Oberoi again when my daughter is well and recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Extra expense of villa without a pool needs consideration.We didn't use the courtyard at all at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
4/4/14.

Dear Marcia36,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit to The Oberoi, Bali. I am happy that you have recognised the most valuable asset, the warm, friendly and efficient Balinese staff who I am fortunate to work amongst. The style of the Oberoi Bali is purposely authentic Balinese. I am very happy to read that the ambience of old world elegance has been appreciated by you.

On another note, I am sorry to learn that your daughter was ill when she was here, but glad to know the team helped to ensure you were well looked after and relived of any stress the situation may have caused.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali once again.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,520 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 146 in Seminyak
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 146 in Seminyak
1,778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.8 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing