We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Oberoi Bali”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #10 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Oberoi Bali in Seminyak. We selected this hotel because we had previously stayed at several Oberoi hotels in India with excellent experiences. The property is on the beach and spread out among a number of individual buildings with 1-2 units per building. The rooms are very comfortable and well-appointed. The landscaping is beautiful and well-maintained.
The hotel has an excellent restaurant and separate bar/cafe. Sunsets are incredible. The pool is also very nice.
Trips around Bali arranged by the hotel with car and driver were very interesting and reasonably priced.
Service is absolutely perfect in all respects without exception from every employee from front desk, to waiters, room staff, pool attendants, etc. We spoke personally with the General Manager John at some length when he greeted us shortly after our arrival.
The experience was absolutely and totally excellent in all respects.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillAJXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear BillAJXN,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit here and that the services, quality of accommodation, and location have been enjoyed by you.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,661)
There are newer reviews for The Oberoi Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Oberoi is the oldest hotel in Seminyak. All buildings are single storey. Rooms/villas are rather small and are great for couples, but there is practically no space for a third person/child unless they sleep on a very small couch (I guess still can be doable for a kid of under 10yo). It is right on the beach, and the waves there are spectacular - I would recommend an ocean view villa or an ocean view room. 5 mins walk to Seminyak and next to Ku Di Ta - perhaps the best shopping street and the best restaurant in Bali, respectively. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: ocean view villa/room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Tanya D,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit here and that the services, quality of accommodation, and location have been enjoyed by you. We do welcome guest traveling with children and the folowing should be noted:
• One child under 12 years can stay in the parent's room. A child's bed is provided at no additional charge.
• Two children up to 8 years can stay in the parent's room without additional charge. A child's bed is provided at no additional charge.
• For two children between 8 and 12 years an additional room is necessary. If staying in a Luxury Lanai Garden View Room, the second room will be 50% of the parent's room. Interconnecting bedroom is also available. This family plan offer is applicable when staying in Luxury Lanai Garden View Rooms only, and not valid during peak season periods from 1st July to 15th September and 27th December to 10th January.
• For a child above 12 years, a separate room will be required and chargeable at full rate. (An extra bed shall not be provided for anyone over 12 years of age.)
Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Bali Oberoi is a classic and such a tranquil spot in the middle of what can be bali craziness (especially before New Years). The staff will go out of their way to make you feel welcome; the rooms are so comfortable and the grounds are elegant and peaceful and right on the beach. We have stayed at so many bali hotels and this one keeps calling us back. The best part of our New Year's Eve visit was the small but elegant spa. The rooms opened to the outdoors with the sound of water; the practitioners were exceptional. The hotel should consider enlarging this gem so that more guests can be accommodated--it was a real highlight of our stay. This isn't a hot scene place--but an elegant retreat that offers excellent value and a taste of the old Bali that we hope will be around for a very long time. Thank you Oberoi!

Room Tip: Our Lanai room near the spa was plenty quiet; another side of the property faces the famous Ke-De-Ta...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Aerotraveller,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit here and that the services, accommodation, spa, and location have been enjoyed by you. The Oberoi Bali and KuDeTa are next door to each other. No part of the resort 'faces' KuDeTa. Unfortunately when they do have loud party's, the disco sounds can be heard from The Oberoi, and other hotels in Seminyak.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Oberoi is a resort in traditional Indonesian-style and is situated close to the heart of the Seminyak town (just a 2 min walk). The resort looks very lovely, but if you are more into modern design and fancy swimming pools this is probably not the right place for you in Bali. However, the service is excellent and starts from the moment you enter the the resort. The staff is amazing friendly and helpful (they refresh the room multiple times a day, supply fresh fruits and offer refreshments at the pool, etc.). The front-desk employees and local doctor even called us multiple times to assure everything was fine, when we got a bit ill. The lanai room was fine, but again do not expect any fancy design elements or gadgets. Undermentioned some (minor) improvements;

- Dirty beach (loads of trash after high water) and sometimes very smelly (because of some sort of brackish river). Probably a general (community) problem in Seminyak.
- Lack of more watersport activities. The hotel only have some bodyboards available.
- Beds are not available on the actual beach, only on a small artificial sand strip.
- Spa center is at the back of the property. During a (massage)treatment you hear the noise of the nearby road (why not offering a massage with an ocean view)?
- Pictures on the Oberoi website feel a bit outdated and do not show the scale of the resort (yes, the resort is very large). However, the virtual tours give a way better impressions.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GDoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear GDoek,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you and your family have enjoyed your visit here and that the services, gardens, accommodation, and location have all been enjoyed by you.

It is a shame that bad weather had caused lots of debris from the ocean to wash ashore all along Seminyak beach during the course of your stay. I assure you that Seminyak beach is not always like this. The normally debris-free stretch of Seminyak Beach began to experience rubbish washing ashore during the Christmas New Year period. We have had very heavy rains and stormy seas resulting in lots of unwanted debris washing ashore. All beaches in Indonesia are public property and difficult to control from a single hotel. The pollution of Indonesia's beaches is national concern and we are at the forefront of educating the community and cleaning beaches on this island. I am very sorry that the beach was in such a state during your visit.

Seminyak Beach is a public beach. No hotel on the island is legally permitted to place any sun-beds on the beach. There is natural beach vegetation protecting the beach head al along The Oberoi's 500 metre expanse of beach frontage from erosion. I assure you the sand behind the plantation, where we are allowed to place sun-beds, is 100% natural and not an 'artificial' strip of sand.

You have mentioned the high surf. Heavy surf and rip-tide are the reason for the 'lack of water-sports'. Our team of well trained lifeguards are always on the ready to ensure guests wishing to experience a swim in the Indian ocean can do so safely. Only well versed surfers would be able to challenge the waves. Therefore we do only offer boogie boards for the sake of guest safety.

When The Oberoi Spa was built, its location was intentional as it overlooked verdant rice fields. As Seminyak continues to become more built up, and rice fields give way to development, we have expanded our gardens to help shield us from the sounds of the outside world. Views along the ocean are indeed beautiful, however the area where the spa is, accords more privacy than overlooking the ocean.

Thank you for your comments about the photography on our web site. I very much appreciate your helpful advice to the TripAdvisor audience to experience the Virtual Tours found on the left hand window of our web site.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Oberoi is one of the best hotels in Bali. It sits in 18 acres of garden right on the beach. It has Balinese style with modern amenities. You are looked after from the moment you arrive. The healthy breakfast had the best omelet I have ever eaten! The management went out of their way to fix a small problem and were generous in the resolution. I have nothing negative to say about the Oberoi. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a truly wonderful Balinese experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mardi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Mardi19,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit here and that the gardens, services, and balinese atmosphere have been enjoyed by you.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Large green garden and nice pool with a beach view. The beach was pretty lively but shared with other hotels alongside the beach so it was a bit crowded and there were even dogs running around and therefore the beach was not that clean as we would have liked it to be. Rooms were a bit old but spacious and clean and a nice Balinese design and feel. The only complaint was the breakfast is not a buffet and ordering nasi goreng and omelet took over 30 minutes. Asked the waitress in which she replied nasi goreng is a main course and therefore takes a long time to make for breakfast. This seems unacceptable since there weren't that many people and it was already past 10:30 am and it still took so long to make. In my opinion they need to improve the F&B service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deflair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear deflair,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I was delighted to read that you found the gardens, ocean view, and Balinese architecture at The Oberoi was enjoyed by you. I was sorry to read that you were not pleased with the beach in front of The Oberoi, Bali. According to national laws, all shoreline in Indonesia is public property. The 500 metre stretch in front of The Oberoi, Bali spans from Kuta in the south, all the way up to Tanah-Lot Temple north of Canggu. As Bali has grown in popularity, so too has the area surrounding The Oberoi, making our 6 hectare gardens and low rise, thatch roofed accommodations all the more special in Bali's 'out of control' building boom.

During the rainy season breakfast navigates between our outdoor seaside dining venue, The Frangipani Cafe, and the open aired covered Kura-Kura Restaurant, when it rains. I appreciate that you would have preferred a buffet, however the warm climate and our outdoor, open aired venues are not conducive to serving a buffet from 7- 11 AM. I assure you that we do have an adequate number of chefs on duty at all times. Please accept my sincere thanks for your feedback and for identifying an area where there is room for improvement. Breakfast service at The Oberoi, Bali is intentionally served in courses. Cold dishes, juices, toast, and coffee or tea are always brought to tables first. Hot dishes are served after the cold dishes have been cleared away. I apologise that this European style of breakfast service delayed the delivery of your hot dishes to your breakfast table. I have met with the Food and Beverage Managers and Chefs, and shared your feedback with the team.

I was sorry to read that your experience was contrary to most of the reviews and guest feedback we receive. I assure you we will always take guest comments extremely seriously and ensure concerned team members are retrained to improve our overall guests experience. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused in by the delay in serving your breakfast.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Oberoi at Seminyak has an awesome location, within walking distance of Seminyak Square as well as the shopping and popular eating places. The villas are beautifully done up and the property opens up into the beach. Service is excellent, with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Will definitely recommend the hotel to those planning to spend a few days in Seminyak.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsGetAway123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Traveller123India,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit and the location, style of Villas, and the service from our ever-smiling Balinese staff has been enjoyed by you.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 147 in Seminyak
1,555 reviews
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 147 in Seminyak
3,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 147 in Seminyak
1,809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.3 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $314 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing