We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Oberoi”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #9 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Outstanding Oberoi”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days and from the moment we entered the perfectly manicured grounds we knew we were going to have a truly memorable experience.
The hotel is styled in traditional balinese fashion but with akk the mordern facilities. Our room 262 was located in the middle which was great.
The staff here were amazing always smiling greeting us by our first names and always available.
We ate at the hotel and had cocktails watching the sunset was a nightly fixture while the balinese dancers were a highlight.
You can help but relax here. Our only problem was we had a plane to catch home:(
Will be bac....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesten2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your resent stay with us and that you were fully satisfied with the services and facilities offered by the hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated that you greatly enjoyed the Balinese cultural dances at the hotel’s Amphitheatre, colourful sunsets from the hotel grounds and the hotel’s services efficiently delivered by my team of warm and caring Balinese staff.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    181
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
273
963
66
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have just returned from the Oberoi to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had a fantastic overall experience. We were greeted with a cocktail and a flower garland and shown to our room, via a tour of the hotel grounds, which was impressive. There was a slight musty smell in the room but this went when the doors were opened. The bathroom was particularly impressive with the sunken bath and shower opening onto an outside area. The room had an ocean view and was near the pool area which for us was perfect. We found the staff absolutely first class, they really couldn't do enough for us. Given that tourism is so important for Bali, one would expect this, but they genuinely seemed to want to go that step further and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were very enjoyable, leisurely and we would sit overlooking the sea and work our way through the menu which certainly didn't disappoint! We ate in the restaurant on four occasions and, while the food was pricey, it was of excellent quality. We did visit Ku de ta, next to the resort, where the food was cheaper but in my opinion not such good standard. We would certainly recommend this hotel, would make a perfect honeymoon destination. Outside the hotel are many shops and bars and restaurants for those who wish to explore. The Polo shop was of particular interest to my husband as there was a sale on!!

Room Tip: All rooms are on one level. The only noise we heard was that of the ocean. We slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millymillymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us and that you were fully satisfied with the services rendered by my team of warm and friendly Balinese staff. Your feedback is greatly appreciated that you found your room to be very comfortable and the quality and choice of breakfast met your expectation.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and it was just pure bliss. The location is fantastic, directly on the beautiful long beach and the hotel grounds are extremely well looked after, manicured lawns with palm trees and flowers everywhere. We also liked the style of the houses very much, it just fits all well together.

The room was very comfortable, we liked the sunken bath tub and room service was impeccable. And the room smelled just fine - we can't confirm any mold odor, on the contrary.

The massage at the spa was excellent. I am usually not very comfortable with hotel massages as you never know what to expect, but the masseuse made me relax within the first minute. Its one of the best massage I have ever had. My husband agreed on this too.

We found the food to be superb! The couscous was the best we ever had and we come from a country where couscous is the national dish! My husband had an Indonesian seafood dish and found it to be outstanding. We can only recommend the dishes prepared by Chef Enrico, he is not only taking well care of his guests, but he knows what he does for sure! We found prices to be well under what we would pay for such quality cuisine in Singapore, where you pay double just for sitting in a so called "celebrity-Chef restaurant".

The breakfast is unforgettable, not only because of the fantastic beach view and the relaxed atmosphere but also because of the service and the food.

But its the small things that make this hotel outstanding - the birthday cake that waited for me in my room, the smiles of the staff all day long, the cleaning of the sunglasses at the beach etc.

We have been in Bali before too and didnt like it that much I have to admit. The beaches are usually not that great and noisy with water scooters and sellers, one can find better elsewhere. So Bali not usually our destination, but now we would gladly return to The Oberoi Bali anytime, with its romantic and extremely quiet sun set beach and the great service.

And yes - nearly no kids :-)

Room Tip: We had room 247, at the end of the garden, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were fully satisfied with the services and facilities offered by the hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated that the hotel’s direct ocean front location set in spacious tropical gardens, well appointed room, good quality of food served in the hotel’s restaurants and excellent spa treatment met your expectations.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Oberoi has the reputation of being one of the best hotels in Seminyak. We'd been to Bali a number of times in the past, but had never stayed at the Oberoi. Given the strength and breadth of the 5 star resorts in Bali, our expectations were very high. We left disappointed.

On the plus side the grounds are fantastic...beautifully manicured and facing out on the beach towards the sunset. The pool setting too was a lovely place to sit and relax. The location is great, close to shopping and next door to Ku De Ta on the beach. In the evenings, our children were surprised to come back to the room to find milk and cookies set out for them.

However the negatives outweighed the positives. When we first arrived, we were given a room that smelled heavily of mildew. We told this to the staff as soon as we entered the room. At first she denied the odor saying that the room smelled fine. When we asked to see/smell another room, she then replied that all of the rooms would smell the same as the same cleaning products were used. Finally she and my wife went off to look for other rooms, but my wife was sent back 30 minutes later having not seen any other rooms. We gave up and went for lunch outside of the hotel. Luckily when we came back they had found another room for us that didn't smell. The decor of the room wasn't spectacular either. While the bathroom was beautiful with a sunken tub and a shower that opened to the outside, the bedroom itself was a bit tatty. It had a woven, rattan like ceiling and furniture made from thick bamboo. Very Balinese, but not luxurious. The last straw for us was the food. The food and drink prices in the hotel are extremely high - higher than one would pay next door at Ku De Ta, and much higher than one would pay at other establishments in Bali. Given the reputation of the hotel, and the prices, we expected the food to be outstanding. It wasn't. Despite a full hotel, there was only one table occupied in the formal dining restaurant. We took this as a sign and instead went for a casual meal in the bar. We went for standard hotel fare - a pizza, a club sandwich, salad and a soup. Unfortunately it was worse than what you'd get a business hotel in other parts of Asia. After one spoonful of soup, my wife stopped eating it. The pizza was essentially a frozen pizza. Given the other, far better and less expensive options nearby, we were very disappointed.

We won't be coming back as the experience didn't match the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tomroadshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

Your feedback is very important as we carefully analyze all of our guest comments to identify areas of improvement in the hotel’s services and facilities, to continue to meet our guest expectations. We regret that you were disappointed with the room assigned to you due to damp smell and you found the food and drinks prices to be high and the quality of food was not satisfactory.

I would like to assure you that your feedback will be brought to the attention of the concerned team members and corrective actions taken to ensure there are no similar recurrences in the future. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

I would like to assure you that our food and drink prices are in line with all other international hotels in Bali. In Indonesia, the imported alcoholic beverages are subject to very high import and excise duties, due to which the end retail price for wines and beverages in hotels are on the high side compared to other regional countries.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Wow, what a fantastic hotel. It's on a huge plot of land and right on the beach. The rooms are in villas, the bedroom was huge and the bathroom spotlessly clean. The service in the hotel was second to none, we loved the sunglasses cleaning service and being offered a lift in a golf buggy whenever we were walking around. A relaxed breakfast overlooking the ocean was memorable. All in all this was a perfect short break and "decompression stop" en route to Australia.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhead2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to The Oberoi, Bali, in October 2011.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were fully satisfied with the services and facilities offered by the hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated that the hotel’s spacious garden setting directly on the beach, well appointed room and high quality of personalised service delivered by our smiling Balinese staff, entirely met your expectations.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.



With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here twice, april and oct 2011 as we loved it so much. The grounds are lovely, the staff wonderful and the breakfast is just perfect. The setting is stunning as you are well shaded but facing the beach and the food is fantastic, there is a lot of food on offer with a fruit platter to start, and the fruit is perfect, not too ripe, the bircher muesli is one of the nicest i have ever had and the eggs benedict are just perfect. They also do amazing fluffy pancakes, the waffles are ok. They offer complimentary afternoon tea from 4-5 everyday which was really nice. Some local entertainment with cute kids and adults playing instruments or dancing, and lovely local cakes, it changes each day but the friend bananas with coconut were great and little rice pancake balls were great too, and tea and coffee etc, really pleasant and really lovely to relax with the other hotel guests just before heading over to the beach which is on the doorstep for a swim or drinks. The hotel provide boogie boards which was great fun for the whole family and there is a hotel lifeguard always on duty which was reassuring. Great location, minutes away from great shops and cafes, right near seminyak square. A great place, can't say enough good things about it. The bathrooms are nice and the toiletries provided are lovely. The pool is quite small but beautiful. We stayed with 3 kids and they loved it but it is more of an adult crowd. We would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: A room close to the pool is best as the grounds are quite large
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jassing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to The Oberoi, Bali in April and October, 2011.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your two stays with us last year and that you were fully satisfied with the services and facilities offered by the hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated that you found the hotel’s beach front location to be stunning, room was comfortable, and the quality of food served in the hotel was good.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco/London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I came here to celebrate my 30th birthday..... I was slightly hesitant to stay here due to the price but it is more than worth it. The staff are amazing, everyone at the hotel are so warm and welcoming. They really make the hotel what it is and I can't thank them enough! We had breakfast included in our room rate and I would definitely recommend it since it was cheaper than ordering off the breakfast menu each morning. The breakfast itself was delicious, excellent coffee, fresh juices, fruit, cheese and wonderful hot dishes. Sitting by the ocean and reading the newspaper was one of the highlights of our day, it was so relaxing. The pool area was wonderful. They have incredibly comfortable chairs with cushions and pillows. They also bring you water throughout the day along with sunscreen.

The room was lovely. The bed and linens were fabulous, the only downside was the giant wood frame around the bed, it made getting in and out of bed a bit of a pain. The bathroom was beautifully updated and they had great toiletries.

Staying at the Oberoi was the highlight of our time here in Bali! The hotel is such a special place and they made my 30th birthday unforgettable. Do not hesitate to stay here, the staff, grounds and hotel are outstanding.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of rooms facing the ocean. I don't really know if it would be worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay to celebrate your 30th birthday with us and that you were fully satisfied with the services rendered by my team of warm and friendly Balinese staff. Your feedback is greatly appreciated that you found your room to be very comfortable and the quality and choice of breakfast met your expectation.

We also thank you for your comments that the wooden bed frame caused you a bit pain. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. We will certainly look into the possibility of re-designing the bed frame.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


With kind regards,

Kamal K. Kaul
Vice President & General Manager
Email : kamal.kaul@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing