We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Oberoi is amazing!!”
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
Ranked #9 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Oberoi is amazing!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2007

We chose to spend 10 nights at the Oberoi for our honeymoon at the beginning of september and all I can say is... WOW!! The hotel is amazing, the rooms are great, the staff are fantastic and the location is perfect. There really wasn't anything we could fault about the hotel, everything was superb, the grounds are imaculate and the service is great - the only thing we cannot comment on is the restaurant. We chose not to eat at the hotel as it was very expensive and in all honsety there are so many fantastic resturants just a short walk or taxi ride away that we just wanted to try somewhere different everynight! There are plently of resturants to choose from in the area and they are just so cheap! We are in our mid twenty's and were probably the youngest couple at the hotel, it is very relaxing and quiet and not at all crowded. If however you like a bit of nightlife then it is just a 15 minute taxi ride away in Kutah. We spent our saturday night there and although the area is alot more commercial there are lots of bars/clubs to choose from. Overall we had a fantastic honeymoon, wouldn't have changed a thing... can't wait to go back one day!

  • Liked — the room and the staff
  • Disliked — loved it all!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Finchley_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    181
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
273
964
66
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

I have just spent 5 nights at this wonderful hotel, and absolutely loved it. The rooms are superb, clean and very traditional - I especially loved the bathroom, and couldn't choose which to use, the sunken bath or the shower, so used the both. All the staff are wonderful, and I loved having my sunglasses cleaned by the pool, and the complimentary fruit and ice creams throughout the day. The restaurants are great, and breakfast at the Frangipani Cafe is a wonderful experience, with a superb choice of fruits, eggs, wonderful coffee and too much choice. Location is wonderful, with some great restaurants nearby. The Living Room and Ku De Ta are especially good, but don't miss a meal in the a la carte restaurant at the hotel. I could not fault this hotel, and would definitely go back again. We stayed at the Oberoi in Cairo last year, and absolutely loved the experience there too, as the Oberoi Group are synonomous with excellence. An absolute treat.

  • Liked — I can't single anything out
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank SoloTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

We just came back from a 8 day stay at the Oberoi Bali and I have to say that it was probably one of the best vacation in my whole life.

The hotel staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, from the gentleman who picked us up at the airport to the concierge who arranged our departure. The size of the hotel is perfect and was not over-crowded, and there was no problem getting sunbeds by the pool or the beach each day. They even provided chilled water, sunscreen, cool towels, and ice-creams complimentary!

We would definitely recommend the Oberoi, and will not hesitate to stay here again when we next return to Bali.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank battersaweib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

The understated yet elegant Oberoi, Bali has got be one of the most spectacular hotels in the world.

The property is beautifully built along the gorgeous Seminyak Beach.. The restaurants, poolside etc. is all overlooking the beach. We stayed in the 'ocean view villa with pool' which was FANTASTIC. The private pool is a very nice size (reasonably large) and the outdoor private area is well appointed with sun-beds and a wonderful tree-house-like sitting area (where we had breakfast once).

The villa itself is beautifully done - high four poster beds and the most stunning, spacious bathroom (with a small outdoor area as well). The bathroom is huge with a sunken tub and separate shower area. The attention to detail was really impressive.
The hotel also has a great collection of DVDs incase u feel like watching a late night movie..

The service was outstanding - reception staff very helpful, advised well in terms of restaurants, sight seeing etc.

Seminyak area is definitely the best to stay in. Lots of high quality shops & restaurants. There is a Great lounge/ restobar called Ku De Ta right outside the Oberoi. Highly recommened.
We went to the Kuta area as well - but that was very commercial and the beach was overcrowded and hectic.

Restaurants to check out - La Lucciola, Living Room, Ku De Ta, Cafe Warisan. (all high end but worth it! super food 'n wonderful ambience)

All in all, the perfect blend of great beach - great restaurants - great shops... Bali is a 'must-do'! And the Oberoi will make your stay a once-in-a-lifetime worthwhile indulgence!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank MD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Neither my girlfriend or I could fault the Oberoi for the 13 days we stayed there. Our memories remain of the most amazing hoilday (from quite a list) we have ever had.

Things we loved:

Staff- invariably gracious, friendly, hard working open and pleasant. Could not have been nicer.
Service- Absolutely perfect- neither other the top nor understated- that perfect point between the two
Hotel- Rooms were beautiful and very very comfy. Barthrooms were just as you'd expect. We got a free upgrade after 3 days to a pool villa which are heartily recommended- these are truly beautifl villas. Breakfast outside your room is well worth it.
Food- the only downer was the price of food- hotel prices are roughly equivalent to Uk prices (and the food is excellent so it would be a bargain) were it not for the food prices in Kuta being 1/10 of the hotel. Breakfast is well worth it though if you get a b'n'b rate.

take a driver into town whenevr you need it and when you find one you like (we used a extremely friendly guy called wayan) boook him direct for a days drive- shoudln't cost much more than £15-£20 for the whole day.

  • Liked — The staff and service
  • Disliked — price of in house food
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank pugwash4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

After web-browsing for places to stay in Seminyak (anyone looking at this site knows the drill ... Will it be like the photos? Does "charming" mean the same thing in Seminyak as it does in Western real-estate-speak? How much is 1 million rupiah exactly?), I stretched the credit card a little and booked a villa ("luxury villa ocean view, no pool" to be precise) at the Oberoi. I did this through their website where, for some reason, I could get the villa under some package or another for over USD200 less than the rack rate (although, to be honest, I'm not really sure what "rack rate" means, probably "the price no-one ever pays"). Even under "the deal", the rate was a little (but not a lot) steeper than I'd wear normally, but my girlfriend and I were in dire need of a holiday, and, for reasons relating to overseas work commitments, Bali, thank god, was the best location for our wee rest.

Thank God indeed. We had a wonderfully relaxing 5 days. The Oberoi is right on the beach. It's quiet, except for the waves. The staff are professional, courteous and good at their job. The villas and lanais are older, balinese-style, but are well kept up and fit into the landscape, unlike the brutalist holiday architecture of The Legian, Sofitel etc. The gardens are glorious. The continental breakfasts (part of "the deal") included fruit platters & juice, museli/yoghurt, pastries, coffee/tea (i.e. something more than a dry croissant and a cup of weak coffee). The bales and reclined chairs around the pool and next to the beach are perfect for lazing, reading, sleeping ... I mostly did the latter. And you get the towels, chilled water, sunscreen, fruit, sorbet, sunglass cleaning, boogie/surf boards etc that other reviews have noted. And the vibe was relaxed and friendly. In short, the whole place just ... works. It just does what it does extremely well and with a minimum of fuss and we loved it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Bert-Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We have just come back from a fantastic honeymoon in Bali, we stayed for 8 days at the Oberoi and cannot fault it. As some of the other reviewers have said it is a bit older than many of the hotels in Bali but in my opinion that just adds to its charm. The setting is fantastic.

We had a garden view villa with private pool. The pool was a great size, far larger than we had imagined. We were greated with champagne and chocolate cake in our villa on our arrival. The service was faultless throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble for the fantastic staff. We tended to eat out in Seminyak most nights at a variety of amazing restaurants and the hotel concierge was more than happy to book these for us and never pressured us to eat in the hotel if we didn't want to.

The drinks at the Oberoi are expensive as are the breakfasts and occasionally we had breakfast at Ku De Ta next door for a change of scenery and a cheaper meal!

I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic break and especially honeymoon.

  • Liked — The private villa and pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Manon34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,496 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing