We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow wow wow”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Echoing all the other 5 star reviews of this hotel.....The Legian is simply fabulous! A beautiful hotel in a great location; The Legian is set on a prime strip of beach in Seminyak that is far enough away from the hustle and bustle that you can feel away from it all, whilst being close enough that you can dip in and out of town at your leisure with ease (though every time you leave the hotel you just want to get back as quickly as possible as you can't bear to be away too long!!)
But what really makes The Legian stand out is the service. ALL of the staff go out of their way to accomodate you and make you feel welcome - but in a way that is not formal or stuffy but rather comes across as genuine and heartfelt - these guys really want you to enjoy your holiday, and boy do they do a great job of it!!
We were upgraded from a Studio Suite to a One-Bed Villa Suite which was a serious bonus! The room was huge; the decor perhaps a little 'corporate' for our taste but nonetheless supemely comfortable and luxiourious (love the Acqua Di Parma products in the bathroom). The restaurant is a great; reasonably priced for such a luxury hotel and a spectacular setting with excellent dishes. Breakfast definitely a highlight. Also lots of little touches that make a difference, like a constant chilled drinking water by the pool delivered to your sunbed, free tea for all guests between 4-6pm, wet towels and face mist by the pool to wipe the sweat from your brow etc etc.
The spa is also fantastic - great treatments and beautiful setting.
From the moment you check in, you literally don't need to think for yourself, everything is taken of care and for me that is exactly what I want when I travel.
If you're still reading this review then just stop and book now. Don't bother looking at other hotels in Seminyak as they won't come close to The Legian. You may pay a premium for The Legian but it's worth every rupiah!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear James B,

The entire team and I would like to thank you for writing about your Legian experience and recommending us to others through TripAdvisor. It is very motivating to read that the personalized and genuine service delivered by the team, the attention to details around the property, the facilities, the design of The Legian Bali and all our other efforts put together made your stay an extraordinary one. We are also glad that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel being ocean front and with shops and restaurants in the neighborhood.

We all very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Legian Bali.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,556)
There are newer reviews for The Legian Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

I have just returned from my trip to Bali, and The Legian. This has to be the best hotel in Seminyak. l will definitely be recommending to anyone and everyone. The location, rooms, hotel facilities and service are all outstanding! . The hotel is Beach front and also walking distance to best shopping, restaurants and nightlife in Seminyak.
This is one of the best hotels l have stayed at, I will be 100% returning to this property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BP1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear BP1988,

Thank you very much for staying with us and recommending us to others. We are very happy to learn that you had a fabulous stay and enjoyed all the features of The Legian Bali.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just returned from our honeymoon - 4 nights of which we spent at the Legian. I can only agree with all the other reviewers when They say how amazing it is.
From the beginning of our stay right to the end everything was perfect. We had a slick pick up at the airport, and though we checked in quite late we had a bottle of champagne and honeymoon cake waiting. We stayed in a one bedroom suite - thoroughly recommend staying in an ocean view if you can. The rooms are huge, and ours had a huge balcony with large sofa and table and chairs.
Our room was maintained impeccably - turndown service, replenished with whatever we needed whenever we needed it.
When we got to breakfast in the morning everyone greeted us by name. Breakfast is incredible - overlooking the ocean with the sound of the waves to accompany the incredible food!
Staff at the hotel are great - remember your name, friendly but in no way intrusive. They recommended some lovely places to eat and helped organise a day trip for us.
We have been to Seminyak before, and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. If you are planning a trip to Bali I would thoroughly recommend staying here - amazing!
If you

Room Tip: Oven view if possible!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear travel0830,

It is delightful to read that your entire stay at The Legian Bali was perfect in every little way. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the personalized service, the suite and its amenities, daily breakfast and that the concierge was able to recommend good restaurants as well as helped in arranging a day trip for the two of you.

We would like to thank you for recommending us to others and look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon to Hong Kong and Bali and during our trip we decided to stay for 8 days at The Legian. We have never written a review before but felt the need to put pen to paper as it was such an amazing decision staying here! Before we arrived, we had read the wonderful reviews on tripadvisor and had actually by chance met several people who had also stayed here and couldn't fault the hotel so we were really excited before our holiday had even started!

The hotel itself is simply beautiful with immaculate grounds and infinity pool area. We stayed in a huge one bedroom deluxe suite on the third floor which had clearly been designed with sumptuous taste and and it boasted magnificent sea views. When we arrived a gorgeous honeymoon cake and bottle of champagne was waiting for us!

The second main point we feel the need to make is the staff- they are so caring and considerate and can't do enough for you to the point at times when we felt slightly embarrassed that they wouldn't even let us move our deck chair ourselves but this isn't done in a pretentious way. We told them it was fine we could do it and their response was simply ''relax you are on holiday''.They genuinely go out of their way to ensure that you have an experience of a lifetime.

The concierge and reception staff were very helpful and were able to advise on some wonderful restaurants and day trips (we did Elephant Safari - definitely a must). The two managers are a credit to the hotel and were always walking around speaking to us and other guests to ensure that everything was to our satisfaction. Nothing was ever too much trouble and there is clearly great communication between all teams at the hotel.
The staff all address you by name, know your order at breakfast, your favourite drink and where you prefer to sunbathe!

The breakfast at the hotel is very tasty and we found that there was a wide variety of cereals, yogurt, fruit and breads etc and hot dishes on the menu to choose from (everything hot is cooked fresh for each person). The lunches were divine and we were also offered complimentary afternoon tea each afternoon at 4pm. We never got round to dining at the hotel restaurant but the menu looked delicious and other guests have commented on the high standard of the food there. The hotel is so well located that you are literally a 5 minute walk away from a bustling road filled with restaurants and bars and lovely clothing and swimwear shops.

We also made use of the gym which had all exercise equipment one would require and every morning it offers a free yoga class for all guests. As part of our honeymoon package we received a 1 hour complimentary Balinese massage in the spa which was fantastic!

If you go to Bali DO NOT stay anywhere else - we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hannah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Hannah Z,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your Honeymoon at The Legian Bali. It is with great pleasure to read that you both enjoyed the personalized treatment received by the team, felt recognized in all areas and enjoyed the food offerings in the various outlets. I am also very happy to learn that you were able to indulge yourself at The Spa, appreciated the design of your suite, enjoyed the magnificent views of the Indian Ocean as well as the location of the hotel with shops and restaurants in the vicinity.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali to celebrate your first anniversary.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have stayed at the Legian Club Villas twice before but as I was traveling alone this time, I opted for the main hotel. I had expected less than the club but no, the attention to detail, the staff attitude, the rooms, the food, the management response was honestly 100% throughout. I'm picky and probably not an easy guest but The Legian is warm, welcoming, accommodating and I think easily the best in Bali by a very long way!

The rooms are huge, traditional but in perfect order, and always immaculately cleaned. Good facilities, Bose sound etc, a couple of great infinity pools facing the ocean right on the beach, a great bar and a very very good restaurant, all with amazing service throughout - what more do I need?

This remains my only choice for Bali and I've looked at the W and a couple of others but this feels like home each time. The hotel is in the best part of Seminyak, near all the good shops and restaurants. I'm sorry if this all sounds like an advert, but I rarely get this enthusiastic about somewhere!!

Room Tip: The one bed studio ground floor are the best rooms for the price.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rogerstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear rogerstephens,

It was great to see you again and welcoming you back to The Legian Bali. I am very pleased to read that your experience at the main hotel was as good as the ones in The Club and that the team was able to exceed your expectaitons. It is also wonderful to learn that The Legian remains your choice in Bali and thank you for reviewing you stay.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Legian is incredible! I have never stayed at a hotel which is so unbelievably slick. The three tiered swimming pool is gorgeous and there were rarely more than two people in each tier at a time. The staff are phenomenal; constantly smiling and nothing is too much for them. If you leave your sun lounger they straighten your towels, your glass of ice water is constantly topped up and you are even given a mist spray to keep you cool. The beach is great for surfing (the hotel have boards you can borrow) but the current is quite strong and not a turquoise water white sand place. Tea is served whilst you are lying on your sun lounger! A three tiered cake stand is delivered with incredibly delicious treats. We were upgraded to a suite over looking the sea which was lovely. Other reviews have mentioned the rooms being dark. This isn't something we would have noticed/ mentioned but it's true they aren't bright and sunny but definitely not dark and dingey. The position was great, with lots of amazing restaurants within walking distance and amazing shopping. Really hope we can come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holiday2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear holiday2008London,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to describe your holiday at The Legian Bali and thank you for staying with us. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed every feature of the hotel be it the detail oriented and personalized service delivered by the team, the infinity pools and afternoon tea to the location of the hotel being in the heart of Seminyak.

We hope to welcome you back to The Legian Bali in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We are coming to the end of what can only be described as a wonderful holiday under the guidance of probably one of the leading hotel managers in the world Kevin Abramowicz. Together with his superb management and staff they have provided us with a memorable experience.

During the week it was my wife's birthday and after breakfast we heard all the staff entering the villa singing Happy Birthday. Much to her embarrassment they provided her with a gorgeous bouquet of flowers, champagne and a birthday cake. Something we will always remember.

We are now sat alongside the pool in our garden villa in the most tranquil setting one could imagine. With the sound of Balinese music drifting across the gardens from the beach.

The key to this wonderful holiday as been the service our butler Eka has provided us with. He is so knowledgable, experienced and informative on all aspects of Balinese life. We prefer privacy at certain times of the day and with his expert eye for detail and personal service this has been made possible throughout our stay.

Like many trippers have commented everything as been said about the hotel, so we would only be repeating what others have said. However it is very clear to see why it's the No 1 in Seminyak.

Once again an enormous thank you to everyone at the Club and Hotel who made this holiday so very special.

Room Tip: It's expensive but stay at the " Club " if at all possible
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Schnauzer123,

On behalf of Eka and the rest of the team at The Legian Bali, I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing to spend your wife’s birthday with us and writing about your experience. It is with great pleasure to read that her birthday celebration was very special and truly memorable. Eka was very happy to learn that his personalized service was very much appreciated and the key to a wonderful holiday.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 147 in Seminyak
3,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 147 in Seminyak
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 147 in Seminyak
1,809 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.4 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#22 of 147 in Seminyak
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $498 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing