We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Legian for 9 nights on the last leg of our honeymoon. And I am so glad that we saved the best till last! The Legian is absolutely fantastic - we honestly couldn't fault a thing.

We chose to stay in a one bedroom villa over at The Club which is just across the road from the main hotel. The villa itself was awesome - spacious, all mod-cons (including Bose sound system) with an outdoor 10m pool. We were also impressed with the extras you get as a Club guest - complimentary mini bar (alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks), snacks, unlimited laundry, daily newspaper, iPad, fully loaded iPods, chauffeur around Seminyak and of course, a personal butler. Out butler was Yoni who did a fantastic job of looking after us. She made our restaurant reservations, recommended things to do and generally made us feel like VIPs. Nothing was too much trouble and even the smallest details were taken care of (my husband mentioned that he liked passionfruits and we had fresh passionfruits left in our villa every morning). In fact all of the staff both at The Club and the main hotel were excellent and we received top class service wherever we went.

We didn't spend much time at the main hotel but the pool area (which overlooks the ocean) looked lovely. We ate dinner in the main restaurant on two occasions and both meals were very nice. It was fairly pricey (especially the wine) but you are dining in a 5* establishment so you do expect the price tag to match.

The Legian is situated in a central location and you can easily walk to lots of shops, bars and restaurants including Seminyak Square and Ke de Ta. Plus Jimboran Bay is a 45 minute drive away if you fancy a change of scenery (Yoni kindly arranged for us to have dinner there one night).

All in all, The Legian is a class act and probably the best place that we have stayed, in terms of accommodation and service. If you are considering booking then I would say go for it - you won't regret it!

Thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy_lazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear amy_lazell,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a truly detailed review on your stay at The Legian.

I am very happy to hear that Yoni’s exceptional service, The Club team along with all its amenities as well as the main hotel put together were able to create a truly memorable Honeymoon for the two of you. I have shared your comments with the entire team who were pleased to hear your positive feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    130
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
340
827
56
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

- Perfect
- Excellent and complete value for money
- Everything about the place is par excellence
- The suites are so comfortable and the service is exceptional
- The airport VIP Visa on arrival, Pick-up and drop service is complete value for money and I would recommend to opt for it
- The place is highly recommended

Room Tip: All the suites are Sea Facing hence anyone is just perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asheesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Asheesh A,

Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a review on your experience at The Legian.

I am truly glad to hear that you feel that everything about The Legian is par excellence and thank you in advance for recommending it to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 9 nights at the Legian and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were there during school holidays so the adults pool was a real bonus and very pleastantly enforced by the pool staff. I concur with all the previous excellent reviews. The staff are very professional and do their job exceptionally well, making your stay easy and relaxing. The Concierge staff are amazing and go out of their way to help you make bookings for dinner, tours and spa treatments. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on and nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfast is excellent, best crossiants ever!! but the bacon is very tough (our only complaint about a fabulous breakfast experience). The buffet combined with al a carte options is a very relaxing way to do breakfast, it is nice not to have to jump up and down throughout the meal and have your food freshly cooked. The french toast is amazing and not to be missed, it is worth every kilojoule!!

The newly refurbished spa and gym is excellent. The spa is expensive by Bali standards but you get what you pay for and if you are looking for pampering this is the place to go. The gym has all the usual equipment and staff on hand to give expert advice.

The rooms are excellent we had a two bedroom suite and it was very spacious for the four of us. Having decaf coffee for the nespresso coffee machine in the room was a real bonus. It was very nice to get complimentary freshly frothed milk for the coffee in our room, it arrived within 5 mins of us calling room service. The ice for afternoon drinks also arrived within 5 mins of us calling and was often accompanied by complimentary freshly cut limes (whenever we asked). This empitomises the Legian, it is the little extra touches which make your stay so special. It is very disappointing to get home and dial 5 and find no one on the end of the line!!!

The location of the hotel is excellent we used the lane way (opposite northern exit of hotel) to walk to Seminyak Square (200 metres). The laneway has security guards and we felt safe at all times. The beach out the front of the hotel had a strong sweep but nothing worse than what we experience on the Gold Coast.

If you are considering this hotel - just book it. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TillyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Tilly Travellers,

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review on your stay.

I am very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay at The Legian from the professional service delivered by our staff, the spacious suites, breakfast experience, all other facilities that we have to offer, all the way to the little touches and amenities that you were able to indulge yourself with. I would also like to thank you for your feedback and be assured that we make any effort to address it.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you all back very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My recent visit to The Legian was my 5th stay, and by far the best. As all reviews say about this hotel, there is nothing really to fault. Location, service, food and rooms are all well above 5 star. The most recent change is the update of the hotel. To first timers, you wouldn't notice anything, but all of the rooms have been cleverly updated, with no noticeable changes to the decor. It has been kept to the beautiful Legain style - upmarket Balinese. All of the fixtures and fittings have been modernised, including the air conditioning. The new GM, Kevin, was very present, but in no way overbearing. He should be very proud of his wonderful hotel. Also, a big thank you to Rohaan, Director of Rooms, who arranged all of our per arrival requests. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Natasha053,

Thank you very much for staying with us once again and reviewing your recent visit to The Legian. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to notice all the changes made within the suites from the fixtures and fittings to the amenities and glad to hear that you like them. I have shared your positive comments with the team and we were all very happy to hear that your most recent stay was so far the best.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently returned from our 8th stay at the Legian. This year was a bonus visit as we usually go every second year. We enjoyed our visit so much in 2012, that this year we decided to do a detour home from Europe to Australia. Again we were not disappointed. The hotel is fabulous. Suites, just so comfortable. The staff are amazing. Within half an hour of arriving, every member of staff knew our name. It makes you immediately feel at home. Breakfast is always my best meal there. The choice of food is fantastic. Can't wait for our next visit. Maybe next year??

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Naomi J,

Thank you for your review and was lovely seeing you again. It gives the team and I great pleasure to hear that you decided to take a detour and stop by in order to spend a few days at The Legian prior to returning back home.

The Legian team looks forward to welcoming you back "home" soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After our 4 night stay in ubud coming to the legian was breathtaking! The beach, service and location are excellent! We spent 6 nights here and would come back again ad again. The staff were second to none.

This place is worth ever penny and delivers even more! The best in the Seminyak region. Hands down!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahzeen-Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Shahzeen-Shah,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. I am truly happy to hear that you enjoyed the service delivered by our staff as well as the breathtaking location.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've just returned from five days at The Club at The Legian and have to say it was the best hotel experience I have ever had, anywhere in the world. As many have noted, The Club is a short walk or buggy ride from the main Legian resort, lending an air of exclusivity and privacy to the experience. Our villa, number 6, was at the back of the compound and though we were nervous before arriving about noise from surrounding Seminyak, we experienced no issues whatsoever - it was very peaceful. The photos on the website do not do the villas justice - at almost 500 square metres they are genuinely a home from home, equipped with everything you need for a luxurious and relaxing stay. The decor is understated but elegant and chic, with lots of attention to detail in the soft furnishings and amenities. The outdoor space with 10m pool, dining bale, seating areas, pantry, pond and outdoor bath is simply breathtaking. What really makes The Club special however is the service, especially that of your Butler. Ours, Eka, was a consummate professional and in the manner of all great servers, he quickly understood our needs and began to anticipate them before we could. To have someone remember your prefences from minute one and so thoughtfully cater to your needs is a rare experience indeed. More than a Butler however, Eka became a friend thanks to his warmth, humour and kindness, and I have no doubt this is indicative of the rest of The Club staff also. As for the perks, they have been listed previously but I have to say, having a lexus 4x4 on hand to take us to local restaurants is something I could really get used to! A special thanks to the Club Lounge staff who made beautiful cocktails and canapes for us to enjoy every evening, and to the serving staff of the restaurant in the main resort, who were also exceptional. It's extremely hard to find anything to critique but a minor point would be to change the phones in the room to cordless ones (like at The Chedi), to save dashing in from outside when someone calls. This was hardly an issue though and both my partner and I came away from the Club feeling more rested, relaxed and content than we have a long time. A huge thanks again to Eka, the GM Kevin and the entire team for making this the ultimate luxury experience - we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Room Tip: All villas at The Club are surrounded by high walls - very private. The perks of The Club are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bringonthesummer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear bringonthesummer_11,

A sincere thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and wonderful review. I am very pleased to read that Eka and the rest of the team at The Club at The Legian were able to personalize your stay in every way possible in order to create the ultimate luxury experience for you. I am also happy to hear that you were able to experience all the amenities at The Club as well as the main hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback and be assured that we make any effort to address it.

I have shared your positive comments with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#21 of 143 in Seminyak
3,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
871 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing