We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine a better hotel in Seminyak”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't imagine a better hotel in Seminyak”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent five nights here in late March with two other couples. All of us could not fault The Legian on any level.
The room was amazing: we had a ground floor room which allowed us direct access across the gardens to the pool and beach. This does mean the balcony is less private, but we found it very convenient for quick trips back to the room etc. The kitchenette in the room features a Nespresso machine for reasonable coffee. All juices and soft drinks are complimentary in the mini bar too. A pleasant surprise! As were the delicious dessert treats that were left in our room during turn-down.

The level of service is outstanding. We ate regularly at the pool bar and enjoyed their seafood bbq night. Excellent food. We ate at the Oberoi hotel for one meal and found their staff to have poorer English and much less attentive service that The Legian. We also attended a wedding at the Anantara Resort and again felt like we had made a sounder choice by staying at The Legian.

The proximity of the pools and sun lounges to the shoreline is outstanding. Pool staff are always ready to provide you with cold towels, face mist and cold water.
We would find it very difficult to return to Seminyak and stay anywhere else. The Legian is worth the $!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear royandkate,

I would like to thank you for complimenting our facilities as well as and most importantly the level of service being offered by our staff. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the Seafood Indulgence and your time spent at the resort.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bali.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,339
    133
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
350
837
57
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Legian in Bali. They have done some renovation to the suites and pool area, and a bit of renovation is still going on in one wing of suites. It is still an ideal property to stay in Bali. The location is excellent, shopping nearby, great beach area and walking distance to wonderful restaurants. All the rooms are suites or larger, and are spacious and well thought out. There are villas across the street, but we choose a suite overlooking the ocean. The suites have a sitting area, moveable flat screen TV, two balconies and a large modern bathroom. We loved the ipods in each room full of great music and blue ray stocked movies. The snacks each day were a nice touch as was the tea time in the afternoon. We also liked the yoga class in the morning, but would have liked it offered each day. The included breakfast is fresh and tasty, and the food in general is quite good. The staff is attentive and kind, especially the general manager who is accessible and helpful. If you are looking for an enjoyable beach vacation, good for families with teens and couples, the Legian is a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jksingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear jksingapore,

Thank you very much for choosing The Legian once again and writing about your experience. We are please to read your comments that are constructive as it helps us to consistently work towards improving our services rendered to our guests.

The team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back in order for you to experience some of the enhancements were are currently working on.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our stay at the Legian was outstanding in every regard. We have already informed may people we know that this is a resort that "must be experienced". The resort more than exceeded our expectations. The staff were all very attentive and friendly. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe room which was very spacious and has a huge balcony overlooking the ocean. The Restaurant and food in general is worthy of a specific mention. My partner is hard to please when it comes to food but he had the best meal ever at The Legian (the Striploin). We attended other dining 'hot spots' well known in Bali and came away unimpressed saying each time that it wasn't as good as The Legian. I was highly concerned about traveling to Bali as I have a peanut allergy, however, I was reassured by staff at all times that my concerns were taken seriously and the menu would be adjusted according to my needs. The Legian is a resort that takes great pride in meeting the needs and expectations of its visitors. We would like to thank everyone for making our time at The Legian so perfect. We will be back. Tanya and Jason

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear TanyaC67,

I would like to thank you for a very encouraging review which I have shared with my team. It was a pleasure to read that we were able to anticipate both your needs and exceed your expectations.

We all look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have never called a hotel stay perfect until stating at The Legian (GMH hotel). Stayed in a deluxe room (suite) with view overlooking the pools and beach. Access directly from the hotel to the sand. The room and facilities were fabulous++. The pool perfect, service excellent and above expectations, breakfast so tasty with great healthy options, best location, - I do not have enough words to describe how beautiful this place is. 6 star rating. Large bedroom and king size bed, large private balcony with very comfortable lounge, very large bathroom with his and her sinks, shower, large bath and toilet, then a separate lounge room and entry hallway with a second toilet next to the front door. If you can afford a holiday of luxury, stay here. Best hotel I have ever stayed at by a long way. There appears to be some refurbishment to one of the accommodation areas, but did not affect my stay at all.

Room Tip: My room with a view overlooking the pool, gardens and beach was peaceful, relaxing and breath taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touring1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Greg105,

On behalf of the entire team at The Legian, thank you very much for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are truly pleased and grateful to hear that we exceeded your expectation and that you enjoyed our service, facilities and setting overall.

We all at The Legian look very much forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We would strongly recommend the Legian Bali, it is just one of the best Luxury hotels we have stayed at.  This is our second time to the hotel and we are very glad we returned..  We  really researched the room sizes since we have a 3 year old and we believe it has the largest and most luxurious suites with fantastic views of the ocean.  But what makes this hotel is the staff.  There commitment and attention to every detail.  Always remembering your name, always watching and willing to help.  Always with a smile.  The service at the Hotel is excellent.  The manager Kevin is always very visible, friendly and keeps a watchful eye on everything.  The hotel is very central in Seminyak.  If you want a luxurious, relaxing holiday with great service and a generous smile this hotel cannot be beaten. Finally get them to book and recommend your restaurants since they seem to be able to secure the best seats in the restaurants. Our favourite was Metis Restaurant . We had a great holiday and we are sad to leave. Pat, Agnes & Thomas

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the ocean - we chose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Agnes S,

Thank you very much for staying with us again and taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay.

I am thankful and pleased to read that my team was once again able to make your stay truly relaxing and memorable. Your comments have been shared with the entire team and we all look forward to welcoming both of you and Thomas back to The Legian soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having stayed at this property some 10+ years ago, we were delighted to find on our return visit that it had improved with age. The property is a fusion of contemporary and Balinese architecture. It is simply a beautiful hotel with huge suites (separate bedroom, huge double bathroom, separate living and dining areas, a small kitchenette and washroom and enormous balcony with a very comfy day bed and outdoor setting). The thing that really makes this property something special is the staff. All of them were absolutely beautiful - nothing is too much trouble. Everyone is friendly but not familiar and the staff genuinely seem to enjoy working at The Legian - which makes a huge impact on staying guests. No tacky breakfast buffet here - a sophisticated breakfast is on offer every day. Whislt we did dine out regularly, (as there are so many great restaurants around Seminyak these days) other meals and snacks we enjoyed here were fantastic. Afternoon tea is included every day if you feel inclined. I did try a spa treatment which was OK - I'm sure once the new spa and gym is open later this year, it will be fantastic. At the moment, the hotel is undergoing some refurbishment which the management is at pains to try and limit the disruption and noise to guests. The Legian is a class act - we were not disappointed the second time round.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level 3 or higher for a view of the ocean - at the moment, probably best to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyGlobalShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear SydneyGlobalShopper,

A sincere thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your most recent stay which is most valuable to us. Whilst I am to happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, I am sorry to hear that your Spa experience did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with the respective department and will do our utmost to further improve our services and standards.

Thank you so much for your support whilst we are making improvements in order to provide guests like yourself with an enhanced product and an unforgettable service experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at one of the suites at the hotel for 2 nights and were highly impressed at this property. We have been to Bali numerous times and stayed at some very nice properties and looking at the reviews, we knew this property is going to be good, but was genuinely impressed since it’s on par with some of the other major properties in Bali which are twice/thrice more expensive than Legian.

When we checked in, the resort manager came out and welcomed and talked for a few minutes which is something you would expect from Aman/Four Seasons property, but Legian does it and that is always a good touch. The hotel itself has only around 80 suites which makes the service personal and I liked that about this property. When you are staying at other resort hotels in Bali (100+ rooms), you do tend to get the feeling that you are one of many guests, but here we felt that the service was personalized and impeccable.

The suite room was of good size with sufficient area for both bedroom and living room area and the balcony was on the big size to sit outside and enjoy the ocean view. The bathroom again was big with his/her side and it is modern, but not over the top modern feel to it. The amenities and the decorations in the room had good Balinese touch to it with arts/paintings.

We tried dinner at the hotel restaurant once and it was great. The seafood selection at the resort is quiet fresh and the overall food quality is excellent. Breakfast at the resort is ok, but not that exceptional. It wasn’t anything bad, but based upon the other food we had at the resort, the breakfast felt bit plain. We tried the food by the pool for lunch and that was excellent. Fresh and great taste.

We spent a lot of time by the pool and it has great view of the ocean/beach and the service at the pool area was excellent. The infinity pool overlooking the ocean is stunning and looks very done/maintained. Special praise goes to the pool area staff who were kind, looking to help and great service overall.

Overall I think for the price you pay, this is a great value property, close to Seminyak, great beachfront location and incredible service. I would rate this property on par with Aman/Four Seasons/St Regis properties in Bali.

Room Tip: Corner rooms gives more privacy, but some of them don't have full ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global_traveller112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 146 in Seminyak
3,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 146 in Seminyak
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 146 in Seminyak
1,626 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing