We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back second time and it's still outstanding!”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Back second time and it's still outstanding!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

For us The Legian is the best place to stay in Bali. I absolutely love their gorgeous specious rooms, their professional outstanding service and the most delicious tom yam soup! It is a 5 star all the way around from grounds to hospitality. This time we also got a deal. We stayed 4 nights and only paid for 3 including breakfast and soft drinks from mini bar. Their pool area is well maintained and beautiful. They offer a complimentary tea with cookies at midday there. Once you laid out you get an ice water and fresh hand/face towel. One thing tho I like to have a morning mimosa laying out by the pool, which turned out to be a 30 dollar one each day , because they use an actual nice champagne for it. I would't mind if they used prosecco;). Breakfast buffet was delicious. Besides the buffet you get to order an omelette or an eggs benedict...etc a la cart, but also complimentary. It was my BDay this time travel. We were picked up by the hotel's fancy car( which we arranged over an email) on time and arrived to the hotel just a little passed midnight. They had all the info on us saved from last time we visited, so the check in went so fast and smooth. We went straight to our accommodations where fresh drinks and welcome sweets were waiting for us along with all the check-in paper work.The next day at breakfast my boyfriend surprised me with a Champagne , carrot cake and a candle. They arranged everything perfectly. It was very sweet the way they did it. The carrot cake was delicious, the Bday song was not nosy or annoying and I got to make my wish.Than back in the room I had gorgeous flowers waiting for me. He asked for it they made it happen! During our stay we also used the GYM( fresh coconut water,water, apples...etc), Sauna and the Spa. At the Spa we had a couples massage, which was so relaxing and romantic. What can I say look no further it's a best place in town!

Room Tip: Higher floors have ocean views, but first floor is better for the pool users or family with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    130
    25
    10
    11
See reviews for
341
827
56
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Legian offers all that can be expected from a Leading Hotel of the World. Room, staff, restaurant, service and the rich breakfast are just perfect. Also the snacks near the pools have that outstanding quality: the best sate that we have eaten during an almost three weeks stay on Bali.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bert_janmaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

You Hear of Hotels saying they are a 5 Star Resort, and when you arrive you feel a bit let down,
This is definitely not the case at The Legian, as soon as you arrive at the airport you can opt to be greeted at immigration for $45 per person to save all the queuing, you go straight through, then driven to the hotel by a luxury vehicle, you are greeted by the Management who guide you around the resort before showing you to your room, We were booked in for one night in The Main Hotel in a One Bed Deluxe sea facing Suite, and Seven nights at The Legian Club staying in a One Bedroom Villa with a personal Butler (A young Lady called Chandra who was Excellent)
Both the Suite and villa were clean & spacious, and I would recommended both,
But if you want a total relaxing private holiday away from other guests, The Club is the place to stay, a private gated Villa with pool, outside covered bath, outside eating area where your butler will bring you your Breakfast or Evening Meal to you, a free of charge mini bar, a total chill location,
The Main Restaurant is first class, with a first class menu, while we were staying there I mentioned to the Hotel Manager (Kevin) that it was My Wife's Birthday, and that I would like to arrange a special evening meal, Kevin said no problem leave it to Me, He called Me the next day with a suggested private menu, which looked amazing, we arrived to a truly beautiful private table laid outside on the beachfront, The meal was exquisite, My Wife said this was one of her best Birthdays she has ever had,
We would like to thank all The Legian Hotel employees for a Truly Five Star Experience,

Mr & Mrs Thompson
Essex, England

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View Suite unless staying at The Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DThompson700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

For my partners 50th we decided to celebrate via 5 star. The Legian is everything one could wish for in 5 star accommodation, beautiful & spacious rooms, exceptional staff that simply cannot do enough for you, great food, fantastic swimming pool & surrounding area, absolute beach front location & management that walk around all day meeting & greeting guests with genuine enthusiasm. If you intend going to Bali & are looking for somewhere "special" to stay, The Legian is the place to stay...you won't be disappointed !!!

Room Tip: A room overlooking pools & the ocean would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent an excellent New Year at the Legian with my family. The staff are exceptionally friendly (but not fawning) and competent. Special mentions for the Concierge and the poolside teams. Rooms very large and comfortable. All amenities excellent. Overall a superb experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingstour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Legian Bali impressed from arrival to departure with impeccable service, superior accommodations and fantastic food & beverage. We spent three wonderful days (and nights) at this amazing beach-front property from December 24 - 27, 2012 and only wish we had stayed longer. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with oversized bathrooms, large indoor and outdoor sitting areas, desk, wifi and queen size bed. With many new hotels opening up in the Seminyak as well as many other areas in Bali this is is definitely one of the older hotels but it has kept itself current and can compete with newer, modern properties on all levels, e.g. W Retreat and Spa (see separate review) or also St. Regis, Alila and Anantara where we stayed on previous occasions. The service is outstanding and the pool area right next to the beach is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The breakfast is amazing, as was every other meal we had at the hotel.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the higher floors, but that's obviously a matter of preference. The 1 Bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTastic4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in the Studio Suite at The Legian on a work related trip in November 2012. The room was immaculate as was the service throughout our stay. We only stayed 2 nights and I would not hesitate to stay again. I am quite the fussy traveller and do like the best of comforts when I travel and The Legian exceeded all my expectations. The view from our ground floor room was just gorgeous and a short walk across the gardens to the pool area. The room was huge with a bathroom almost as big as the room again. A lovely king size bed with amazing pillows ensured a restful sleep every night. Breakfast was also amazing with the attentive and friendly staff cooking anything for you upon your request from the delicious menu. They could not do enough to make you feel welcome and very well looked after.
Luxury at it's finest!! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderLust_0381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
873 reviews
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing