We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #4 of 138 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
407 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

the hotel is right on the beach and all suites facing the beach. really relaxing and has very good service. the beach is amazing and location is very near the shopping area. the manger rohaan chandra actually is on the floor at the hotel actually supervising. never seen such a thing good work rohaan chandra that is why hotel has won the award. the breafast is amazing try the local stuff. we had room 431 was huge over 100 sq mts. everything was perfect . worth a stay. they even have a vegetarian menu . really top of the line.

Room Tip: take the top floor 3rd if possible as get very good view of the beach. all rooms are beach facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nirajsomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    119
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
320
764
53
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel was the highlight of our trip to Bali. Everything was 5 star from the huge, comfortable rooms to the stellar service and food. There are 60 rooms in the hotel but doesn't feel crowded at all. We were easily able to get lounge chairs and the attendants always make sure you have two towels and cold water. The hotel is beautiful (not so much from the outside), but it's an amazing place to stay on a nice part of the beach. We took a walk down towards Kuta Beach and it got noticeably worse. The beach is clean and peaceful where this hotel is. I found the waves to be a bit high for me to go swimming but the hotel has an incredible three level infinity pool. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSS081112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Rooms are huge and the view from the second floor is excellent. We had our breakfast on our terrace which was a great way to start (I am tired of those busy buffet.) So we loved it this way.
Food is fairly overpriced but you have so many restaurant outside that it is not a problem.
The architecture from outside looks a bit like stone castle and is not very delicate in my opinion but once you get in your room, it is very pleasant. Service is good though we had one bad experience but this was an exception.
I had a shirodara massage. Expensive but nice.
In conclusion, this is a typical luxury hotel, you pay everything twice. You pay the room but then all the services come with a high price tag.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanslope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wow! Great service, from the welcome, with a refreshing Balinese drink whilst checking in from a sofa, right through to the hotel staff member negotiating us through the minefield that is the airport.

Our suite was bigger than our house, with a stunning bedroom, lounge, bathroom, kitchen area, dining area and guest toilet! The turn down service each day involved us being left a poem about local environmental elements, as well as a dish of treats on our dining table. Sleeping in a four poster surrounded by white muslin was very relaxing, and our luxurious lounger on the balcony was a great place to watch sunset from.

Sleeping with the sound of the waves hitting the shore was just great, and so relaxing.

Plenty of sun beds and very attentive staff making sure you were fed and watered around the pool were great. The three tiered infinity pools were gorgeous and really
made you feel you were swimming alongside the ocean.

We got a complimentary four course meal as we were honeymooners - the food was fabulous, and we felt really bad not to be able to eat all of it! Drinks at the hotel are not cheap, prices a little higher than other similar hotels we stayed in across Asia.

We were slightly surprised at how many young children there were at the hotel - not a problem for us, but unusual for a high end hotel.

The spa was great, to have a Balinese massage in a gorgeously appointed room, again with the sound of the ocean audible alongside the relaxing music is hard to beat.

We'd recommend walking along the beach in the evening to try some of the local beach bars and live music.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level and you get a better view of the ocean, over the pool/ocean bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have stayed at The Legian a number of times and it remains a favourite.

The ambience, service and position make The Legian an exceptional place to stay in Bali. Since our last stay in July 2011, half the hotel has been refurbished and many of my old concerns have been remedied. The airconditioning is quiet and the newly refurbished bathrooms are excellent. I understnd the remainder of the renovations will be completed by May 2013.The standard of the rooms and facilities is now very good and the addition of a large beach front lap pool adds significant benefits.

The hotel is also under a new general manager and as a result the whole place looks sharper and the attention to detail within the hotel and in the gardens is noticeable.

The Legian is not a large hotel and this helps to create a warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff seem to remember your name and your individual likes and dislikes in a way that makes it a very relaxing place to stay.

The food is varied and of a very high quality although I still find the evening restaurant a little formal and expensive if you are entertaining a young family as we were.

The Legian continues to get better and we will be returning.

Room Tip: For families the ground floor garden rooms are very convenient for pool and beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Simontoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a great view from the restaurant, wonderful, very special atmosphere with lovely lighting and superb feel. In fact we were there for just one evening meal and it was probably worth paying the overpriced bill and putting up with the staff just to be in this place - especially if your hotel is less well located.

However, and sadly its quite a big BUT, this hotel suffers from the arrogance common to many tropical hotels in that it seems to believe that unless you are entirely satisfied, you must be wrong.

The waitress was overly attentive, coming to ask us if our meal was ok every 3 minutes, as did the wine waiter and the manager - even interrupting me mid sentence on a number of occasions as I was talking to my wife. I found this extremely irritating as I had come to dinner to spend some quality time.

We have eaten at many places around the world including some of the finest including Heston Blumental's 'Fat Duck' in Bray. Although not a professional chef, I enjoy cooking and take great pride in experiencing and preparing food.

I was therefore very surprised when my Braised Wagyu Shank with Traditional Spices and Eggplant turned out to be full of cartilage and gristle. I mentioned this to the waitress who sent the manager over. He explained to me with no apology that Wagyu beef contains fat and that it was slow cooked and that I must be making a mistake because this restaurant was of the highest quality. I'm telling you straight it was not marbling or well rendered fat - it was gristle, and in almost every mouthful.

Very disappointing that the food was so poor and the attitude of the staff was so arrogant and pompous.

On receiving the bill, there was then the unpleasant surprise of the highly over-priced gin and tonics before being asked to come with my credit card to what I can only describe as a dirty back room to enter my pin. I felt like they didn't believe that it was my credit card at all and that I had been brought to a 'secure area'.

Not impressed at all at the way I was treated by the staff.

Such a shame that these people rely on the beautiful location but neglect their ingredients, preparation and customer service. If they want to be considered to be in the top echelons of hospitality, they need to make some changes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank firmbutfair100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketut S, Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and valuable feedback on your recent experience at our restaurant.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere, however sincerely apologize and regret that the food and service did not meet your expectation.
Thus, we have shared your comments with our food and beverage team accordingly to address the approach taken in this matter and further emphasized on the privacy of our guests during their dining experience with us.
Be assured that we only use the best available ingredients and the quality of the food served in our outlets is of utmost importance to us.
We hope to welcoming you back in the near future to convince you otherwise.

The Management Team of The Legian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We dined here for a late lunch, whilst not guests at the hotel we were welcomed and treated like VIPs!

Dining at the Beach Bar where we treated ourself to french champagne, complimentary breads, the most fantastic salad and delicious mixed satay for 2. It was perfect in everyway, the bar & pool manager (who's name unfortunately escapes me) was exceptional engaging us in welcomed conversation and humor, tip top service and the offer of beach towels to enjoy a plunge in their beautiful pool.

All this for less than $80AUD (french champagne $25 a glass included)

Would we do this again?

YES

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ormiston62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
0.5 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing