We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-Suite Ocean Hotel”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #7 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Rooms are huge and the view from the second floor is excellent. We had our breakfast on our terrace which was a great way to start (I am tired of those busy buffet.) So we loved it this way.
Food is fairly overpriced but you have so many restaurant outside that it is not a problem.
The architecture from outside looks a bit like stone castle and is not very delicate in my opinion but once you get in your room, it is very pleasant. Service is good though we had one bad experience but this was an exception.
I had a shirodara massage. Expensive but nice.
In conclusion, this is a typical luxury hotel, you pay everything twice. You pay the room but then all the services come with a high price tag.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wow! Great service, from the welcome, with a refreshing Balinese drink whilst checking in from a sofa, right through to the hotel staff member negotiating us through the minefield that is the airport.

Our suite was bigger than our house, with a stunning bedroom, lounge, bathroom, kitchen area, dining area and guest toilet! The turn down service each day involved us being left a poem about local environmental elements, as well as a dish of treats on our dining table. Sleeping in a four poster surrounded by white muslin was very relaxing, and our luxurious lounger on the balcony was a great place to watch sunset from.

Sleeping with the sound of the waves hitting the shore was just great, and so relaxing.

Plenty of sun beds and very attentive staff making sure you were fed and watered around the pool were great. The three tiered infinity pools were gorgeous and really
made you feel you were swimming alongside the ocean.

We got a complimentary four course meal as we were honeymooners - the food was fabulous, and we felt really bad not to be able to eat all of it! Drinks at the hotel are not cheap, prices a little higher than other similar hotels we stayed in across Asia.

We were slightly surprised at how many young children there were at the hotel - not a problem for us, but unusual for a high end hotel.

The spa was great, to have a Balinese massage in a gorgeously appointed room, again with the sound of the ocean audible alongside the relaxing music is hard to beat.

We'd recommend walking along the beach in the evening to try some of the local beach bars and live music.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level and you get a better view of the ocean, over the pool/ocean bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have stayed at The Legian a number of times and it remains a favourite.

The ambience, service and position make The Legian an exceptional place to stay in Bali. Since our last stay in July 2011, half the hotel has been refurbished and many of my old concerns have been remedied. The airconditioning is quiet and the newly refurbished bathrooms are excellent. I understnd the remainder of the renovations will be completed by May 2013.The standard of the rooms and facilities is now very good and the addition of a large beach front lap pool adds significant benefits.

The hotel is also under a new general manager and as a result the whole place looks sharper and the attention to detail within the hotel and in the gardens is noticeable.

The Legian is not a large hotel and this helps to create a warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff seem to remember your name and your individual likes and dislikes in a way that makes it a very relaxing place to stay.

The food is varied and of a very high quality although I still find the evening restaurant a little formal and expensive if you are entertaining a young family as we were.

The Legian continues to get better and we will be returning.

Room Tip: For families the ground floor garden rooms are very convenient for pool and beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a great view from the restaurant, wonderful, very special atmosphere with lovely lighting and superb feel. In fact we were there for just one evening meal and it was probably worth paying the overpriced bill and putting up with the staff just to be in this place - especially if your hotel is less well located.

However, and sadly its quite a big BUT, this hotel suffers from the arrogance common to many tropical hotels in that it seems to believe that unless you are entirely satisfied, you must be wrong.

The waitress was overly attentive, coming to ask us if our meal was ok every 3 minutes, as did the wine waiter and the manager - even interrupting me mid sentence on a number of occasions as I was talking to my wife. I found this extremely irritating as I had come to dinner to spend some quality time.

We have eaten at many places around the world including some of the finest including Heston Blumental's 'Fat Duck' in Bray. Although not a professional chef, I enjoy cooking and take great pride in experiencing and preparing food.

I was therefore very surprised when my Braised Wagyu Shank with Traditional Spices and Eggplant turned out to be full of cartilage and gristle. I mentioned this to the waitress who sent the manager over. He explained to me with no apology that Wagyu beef contains fat and that it was slow cooked and that I must be making a mistake because this restaurant was of the highest quality. I'm telling you straight it was not marbling or well rendered fat - it was gristle, and in almost every mouthful.

Very disappointing that the food was so poor and the attitude of the staff was so arrogant and pompous.

On receiving the bill, there was then the unpleasant surprise of the highly over-priced gin and tonics before being asked to come with my credit card to what I can only describe as a dirty back room to enter my pin. I felt like they didn't believe that it was my credit card at all and that I had been brought to a 'secure area'.

Not impressed at all at the way I was treated by the staff.

Such a shame that these people rely on the beautiful location but neglect their ingredients, preparation and customer service. If they want to be considered to be in the top echelons of hospitality, they need to make some changes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank firmbutfair100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketut S, Manager at The Legian Bali, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and valuable feedback on your recent experience at our restaurant.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere, however sincerely apologize and regret that the food and service did not meet your expectation.
Thus, we have shared your comments with our food and beverage team accordingly to address the approach taken in this matter and further emphasized on the privacy of our guests during their dining experience with us.
Be assured that we only use the best available ingredients and the quality of the food served in our outlets is of utmost importance to us.
We hope to welcoming you back in the near future to convince you otherwise.

The Management Team of The Legian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We dined here for a late lunch, whilst not guests at the hotel we were welcomed and treated like VIPs!

Dining at the Beach Bar where we treated ourself to french champagne, complimentary breads, the most fantastic salad and delicious mixed satay for 2. It was perfect in everyway, the bar & pool manager (who's name unfortunately escapes me) was exceptional engaging us in welcomed conversation and humor, tip top service and the offer of beach towels to enjoy a plunge in their beautiful pool.

All this for less than $80AUD (french champagne $25 a glass included)

Would we do this again?

YES

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ormiston62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Legian for 8 nights from Sep 28 to Oct 6th as part of our honeymoon. We had a great experience from start to finish and I can't recommend this hotel enough. Our arrival was painless, we had arranged the hotel pick up. On arrival at the property I found the check in to be efficent. We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe suite, rm 121, the room was well appointed, with a comfortable bed and excellent facilities. We stayed in four high end hotels on our travels including a 5 star in both Dubai and KL and I can safely say the service at the the legian was streets ahead. As nice as the property is, from location to all its facilities, it is the staff that I will remember best. The level of service was very good, and my wife and I could not have hoped for better service. Thanks from us both to the management and staff. Mr and Mrs H.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank all_I_want4xmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked the Legian based on great reviews from Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We have just had 7 nights in a 1 bed suite, did I say suite, more like an apartment (131 on 3rd floor). The suite has a large living room overlooking the beach, a large dining room and a beautiful bedroom with large bathroom off that. The suite just did not lack for anything and we wished we could of taken the bed and pillows home with us. When you can get away from the room, then you have a whole resort below you. As it only has 69 suites, you never feel like the place is over crowded. Breakfast is included in the room rate and has an extensive range, with a choice of cooked meal as well, all served overlooking their 3 infinity pools that cascade towards the beach. Eddie, the Restaurant Manager was always there to greet you, have a chat and would never forget your name. All staff from the General Manager, Kevin, to the room staff were always keen to help and were all so friendly. We ate at their restaurant a couple of nights, including the Seafood Night, where tables are setup right above the sand, highly recommended.
The resort is very central to a number of good restaurants, within walking distance, along the beach - Ku Da Ta, La Lucciloa and Sea Circus are a few.
My wife and I have stayed in many excellent properties around the world and this is in the top two or three. We will be back !!!!!!

Room Tip: Top level and spend the bit more and get the one bderoom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,502 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 148 in Seminyak
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,707 reviews
10.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.0 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $487 - $863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing