We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do we have to leave?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #8 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Do we have to leave?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe suite and cannot fault this hotel. The staff are so helpful and remember your name. Great buffet breakfast with western and asian food ( if you are Aussie they even have Vegemite). Complimentary soft drinks in minibar, Bluray library, complimentary afternoon tea,shuttle to Jl Seminyak, all rooms face the ocean,sandals and beach bag provided I want to live here!
We did have a problem with our A/C in the bedroom but was fixed in ten minutes.
Will definitely come back

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Micksley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    129
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
335
803
57
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Everything from location, pool,bar,staff, service was excellent. Buffet breakfast was superb. We'd go back straight away if we could

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michshol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Everything went really well from beginning to end. Large suite, good service, excellent included breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

A good mini-bar, comfortable beds, attractive rooms, the sound of the waves in your room -- they're everywhere. What makes a good hotel great? Staff, staff, staff. The Legian has been a fixture on this beach for 15 years or so, and I'll bet most of the staff have been there since the first day. They are warm and welcoming, and take great enjoyment from having happy clients in their "home". Good management that empowers them to be creative is essential -- this is not the kind of service a manager can simply command. Overall, it is very impressive.

On the other hand, there are always a few things ... The iPods in the rooms contain a huge stock of albums, but would greatly benefit from a selection of well-composed playlists -- when I go on holiday, I don't want to wade through Metallica and Burt Bacharach, I just want to choose a good jazz playlist. Next, the in-room decor could use a critical eye. The giant shells were impressive 15 years ago, but today we are reminded that these are endangered species and most are probably on the CITES list for banned trade. And how about certification as an officially green hotel? That would REALLY make clients happy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indonesia80571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

we stayed here after 4 nights at the amazing GHM Chedi Ubud. We thought that that hotel could not be beaten but how wrong we were .

how this hotel isnt at the top of tripadvisor i do not know. elegant luxury . gorgeous grounds , beach , pools etc etc

we stayed at the club across the road for 4 nights in a pool villa. you get between the hotel and the club by spending about 1 minute travelling by golf cart! i thought the villas at chedi where amazing but they blew even those away. amazing butler called Sura . the great thing about the Legian Club is your butler only works for you - so is always there for you.

just absolutely amazing. service. spa . restaurants . afternoon tea at the villa . free cocktails. my local newspaper from the UK brought to our room every day.

any questions - Sura had an answer. where to get handbags ? where to eat ? where to get authentic Bali souvenirs ? Sura had an answer and a car waiting to take us there!
the list is endless

amazing amazing amazing - truely a leading hotel of the world
we met the assistant manager at a cocktail night and had a note from the manager on arrival and an email after. brilliant service.

we were treated like VIPs from start to finish thanks to the level of service at the hotel and being on honeymoon and booking through the legendary travel agent David Ourisman all helped!

stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels in europe and usa and this was the best

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Legian is an excellent hotel. The staff are friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite, it is spacious and clean, there is a turndown service each night and the small treats that are left is a nice touch. The mini bar is well stocked and the soft drinks and water is free. The spa treatments are lovely and well worth a treat. The Hotel meals are a little expensive and be aware that alcohol is extremely expensive, a bottle of wine can cost up to £50, however, all that said, the meals are very good. There is a wide range of restaurants outside of the Hotel, we went to Hard rock cafe in Kuta and also Chandi in Seminyak, both restaurants provided value for money and the meals were lovely. There are beach sellers, but if you politely say 'no thank you' they will not bother you. When you arrive at the airport, be aware of the porters as they will offer to help with your case and then escort you to the money exchange bureau, you need not pay anymore than 5000 rupees per case.
Remember to take your mosquitto repellent as you will most certainly be bitten at night. We had a good holiday and will certainly stay at other GHM hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are brighter. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite, it was spacious and provided for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KittyPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at the club in one bedroom Villa. The Villa was of good size, luxurious and the free mini bar was generous .We had a private butler which was trying his best to give the best service. However we expected him to be more knowledgeable of the area, dining options and shopping options. his English was OK but in times we couldn't understand each other. some amenities expected in a basic hotel bathroom were not there. We love staying in luxurious places but we didn't feel the club here worth the money. the rooms at the hotel will be of much greater value.

Room Tip: stay at hotel not at the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbarashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#26 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#25 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Property: The Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing