We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great all round hotel experience in Bali”
Review of The Legian Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Legian Bali
Ranked #4 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Legian Hotel in Seminyak offers a great all round experience. The hotel itself is ideally positioned, offers a wide range of suites to meet virtually all needs and provides a very high level of service.

From the moment you arrive, having taken advantage of priority visa clearance at the airport and enjoyed seemless travel to the hotel, the staff make you feel welcome and comfortable immediately.

The reception staff give you a tour of the hotel which allows you to feel at home as soon as you arrive. It also allows you to understand and appreciate all the hotel amenities so that you can take full advantage of them right from the start.

The rooms are large and very well equipped with modern technology (TV, Blue Ray DVD, and IPod equipment). The rooms have small kitchens which in particular offers families additional benefits. The rooms all have balconies overlooking the sea and gardens which are delightful.

The hotel is situated on Jalan Oberoi in the centre of Seminyak and is surrounded by a wide selection of shops, restaurants and bars. Despite its proximity to so such retail therapy it sits behind high walls and is completely private with total security. The hotel has absolute beachfront access onto the ocean and the lifeguards are both helpful and attentive to all your possible needs including surf and boggy boards and advice as to the best place to swim.

The hotel restaurants are exceptional. The beach bars offers cocktails, drinks and a wide range of high quality food all day long. The two beach bars are surrounded by the beachfront and manicured gardens with a large amount of sun loungers and daybeds. The main restaurant is open for breakfast lunch and dinner and combines great food with efficient and understated service which makes you feel relaxed and comfortable. The staff were at all times friendly and attentive.

For us, the quality of service stood out as exceptional and in particular the lifeguards supervised and helped our young child to surf and enjoy the beach safely. Our only minor criticism was the hot water system which was a little inconsistent but this was a tiny flaw in an otherwise great experience.

We look forward to returning to the Legian Hotel Bali in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but it is worth talking though your requirements with the hotel reception bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was our first trip to Seminyak so were uncertain of what to expect.

The Legian surpassed our expectations on nearly every score. This is a truly first class 5 star establishment. Some "5 star" hotels seem to have gone through a check list of what is required to get the 5 stars but miss out on offering any real experience. The Legian has all the necessary facilities but more importantly it offers a real 5 star experience, from the quality and number of the staff to the personal touches and intimacy of the place. The atmosphere was great, it was buzzy without being overly busy, the food and all the bars excellent, the pool and beach front are awesome, some of the best in seminyak, and its location is great with ku de ta 5 minutes walk in one direction on the beach and la lucciola and potatohead are 5 and 10 minute walk the other way.

Our room was lovely with great ocean views and views over the pool. We were nearly always referred to by name which i found astonishing, the staff were falling over each other to help us. One touch which I loved was that they not only organised a car to take us to the airport, but once at the airport there was a member of staff in Legian uniform who took our bags and checked them in and guided us to the check in and passport control. Truly surpassing my expectations. If we had been more organised then they would have taken car of all check in and we could have gone straight to the passport control an hour later!

As for Seminyak itself, it is a very buzzy and busy part of bali, but even tho it has the great hotels and bars and a big beach, it is still bali and the roads and infrastructure are not western standards. Its worth heading down towards the Kuta end of the beach as it gets much more busy and clubby down there which is fun to experience.

All in all a brilliant hotel and I would say maybe the best I have ever visited.

NB: we were on honeymoon and it was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Really hard to find fault with this fantastic resort. Nothing is too difficult for any of the staff; facilities (pool, spa, gym, restaurants) are all of a very high standard; location is amazing, right on the beachfront and a short walk to shops and restaurants.

The room was immaculate, great bed and bathroom, plus kitchen facilities that included complementary soft drinks, juices and water. Also make sure to enjoy the complementary gelato offered poolside each afternoon!

Staff were unfailingly pleasant and friendly, but still managed to be quite unobtrusive - they were quick to make themselves available to assist, but otherwise were busy with their work and would leave you to it.

Travelling solo in a resort full of families and couples can be uncomfortable and often you tend to fade into the background, but again the staff went out of their way to provide the same level of service to me as to everyone else.

You can walk down a couple of steps to be right on the beach, or remain on the sun loungers and sun beds on a grassed area. Everyone out there is provided with water and sunscreen lotion which I thought wasa really nice touch.

This resort is not cheap, but I felt happy to pay the premium given the level of service and the options. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FiChisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Traditional grand hotel with amazingly helpful and charming staff. Very happy with our spacious and calm rooms. Breakfast delicious and all food of high standard. The atmosphere is sedate, so not so good for party animals (try The W instead - James Bond on ice). Concierge service most helpful and efficient. Guess my only negative comment would be that the decor is a little dated but everything is very clean and well maintained. What's not to love?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goldieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

If you enjoy peace and relaxation, spacious guestrooms and suites,than take advantage of Legian's elegant beachside accommodations. My boyfriend and I stayed at The Legian this June and what can I say....the place is the ideal lodging option for romantic getaways and family vacations. I can go on and on for hours about hotel amenities,but I will put it in one word- luxury. The service was impeccable from start to finish. We were offered a VIP airport pick up, which we agreed on and were ever grateful we did. We were picked up wright from the gate and had the smoothest visa/immigration and luggage reclaim process, had a nice ride and were welcomed at the check in despite the fact of a late night it was 2 a.m. The beach part is very important when you travel to such countries like Bali. I was pleasantly surprised to find it very quiet. It was barely anyone, just a few people walking. Also the infinity effect of the pool makes you feel like you are bathing in the sea...so amazing. The location of the hotel is perfect itself, I think. It is far enough from the noisy busy shopping area in Seminyak(still walking distance) , but steps away from some of the nicest restaurants like La Luciola and Ku De Ta. Plus you get a ride to town or cafe wright from the hotel. We used local restaurant for lunch almost everyday and a couple of times for dinner and it was great. The delicious breakfast was included . It is definitely a five star hotel. Smiles all around. We stayed at The Legian for a week and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

There are now plenty of other resorts in the Seminyak area that offer great service and newer/ fresher decor for a similar price.
This hotel is approx. 14 years old and in need of refurbishment. The service was ok but not of a 5 star standard. This was my 6th stay in Bali and I would not recommend it nor return to The Legian until they have completed a renovation...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Gotothecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We have been fortunate to stay in many 5 star hotels all over the world, but this hotel would rank #1. The rooms are perfect, well appointed, very clean and quiet. The staff can't do enough for you and the breakfast is incredible. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxation and a bit of pampering. We heard that the rooms are renovated annually, so you get old world luxury with a fresh, modern feel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedDevilToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,530 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,719 reviews
10.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $474 - $831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 14 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing