We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful :) ”
Review of Uma Karan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Uma Karan
Ranked #55 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful :) ”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay, it may seem out of the way but its a 10min walk or a 2min taxi right to all the food and shops!

The hotel is lovely always clean and always has hot water! The room is everything you need for when your away. The pool is great and hardly any one is ever in it so its great to relax and read a book.

The staff are more than wonderful !! Always helpful and happy to go out of their way to help out. They are very aware of everyone, it shows how much they really care that your stay is as good as possible.

Breakfast is simple, but the pancakes are a winner! And its always right on time each morning!!

Amazing place to stay!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Blowe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
To Guest Blowe89,

We are truly delighted to know that that you had such a good time enjoying our hotel and our service and facilities.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your loved one back for another memorable stay in the near future.

Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    52
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
93
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gland, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This was probably the best hotel at this value in our 4 week trip in Indonesia. The setting is intimate and relaxing, beautiful. Swimming in the pool is very serene. Rooms are clean and well equipped, the staff is very nice and helpful and breakfast was very satisfying. Highly recommended for the price!
(Note that this hotel is not in the center or by the beach, though neither is far at all - for us this was not a problem.)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Owner at Uma Karan, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest Adem C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and for recommending our Hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Would highly recommend this lovely little hotel, with a quiet tranquil pool, friendly and obliging staff, clean spacious rooms except for the bloody yapping dog in the villa behind the brick wall, at the end of the pool, where the day beds are! Night time is the worse. It even came to verbal abuse and a fist fight from the villa in the same laneway at 1 a.m one night. But it still made no difference. After our 10 day stay I was glad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest Carolbali,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and for recommending our Hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you & Best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Uma Karan. The taxi driver also had problems finding the place as it is situated a little outside. But you can walk to the city centre or get a cheap taxi to the beach. The staff is very helpful with everything.The hotel itself has only about 10 rooms so you don't get too much noise. Everything was very clean. Only downsides: breakfast has to be ordered the day before, you can only chose one option and everything extra leads to additional costs. In my opinion it may not be enough for someone who eats a little more for breakfast. Also there are only 4 deck chairs by the pool, in front of the rooms there are no seating options. So if the 4 deck chairs are occupied you have to go back to your room after swimming in the pool. But still a lovely place, absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teamackermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest Teamackermann,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and for recommending our Hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you & Best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is our 4th stay at Uma Karan - this time for 12 nights. It is a small boutique hotel with just 10 rooms. Very quiet and perfect for hubby & I. It is 5 mins on the bike to main shopping strips and approx 10 mins to beach by taxi. The staff here are great and Manager Norina is very warm & welcoming. It's great value for money with rooms serviced daily, simple breakfast served to your room to get you started and friendly staff. Great find which allows us to visit Bali more often!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracyvitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest Tracyvitale,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us for the fourth time.

We are really happy to note that you will always stay with us every time you visit Bali.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another inspiring stay.

Thank you & Warm regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Beautiful, clean, boutiqueishh hotel. Great that it hosts only a few hotel guests which makes you feel special. With a jump in the beautiful pool in front of the hotel room you can't wake up any better. The beach is just a short walk or a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KikiNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest KikiNL,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here.

We had the most unfortunate experience with this "hotel". We booked for the last 5 nights of our honeymoon in October after understanding that the property was a good Seminyak location. Unfortunately we were sorely disappointed. The hotel is only a few hundred meters from the often congested dual carriage way into Kuta, up a dirt path (and not a good rural if idillic dirt path). We were told upon arrival that it would take 15-20 mins to get to the nearest beach by taxi and found that the main (nice) restaurant area was the same distance away - not the impression we were originally given. The room was frankly soulless with stained sofa and the pool was constantly in shade with only 4 sun beds. My wife became quite tearful and upset that for the finale of an otherwise perfect honeymoon was booked here and we immediately requested that we cancelled our booking. The owner of the property showed absolutely no compassion and refused to give us even a one day refund, despite us having paid for 5 full nights. Given my wife's genuine despair and my shock at how different the reality of the property was to the websites description I can only conclude that the owner is frankly an awful money grabbing man lacking any compassion.
Bali does not do mediocracy, there are plenty of frankly fabulous hotels at brilliant prices. I would for example suggest that you try the Mutiara Bali which is a beautiful hotel, only a short walk from the beach with a massive beautiful pool and facilities (and - thanks to an emergency loan from the parents - which we paid pretty much exactly the same nightly rate for). Unless you're looking for a hostel with a soulless owner - don't stay here.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mjgabg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest Mjgabg,

Thank you for your feedback to your experience at Uma Karan recently. We understand that your visit to Bali did not go as your original expectations. Allow us to reiterate that Uma Karan indeed is not a beach front location and it does take certain vehicle with approximate 10 minutes travel time to go to the nearest beach as per our advertisement which you have acknowledged that the online information did not mention any direct beach access.

As your booking came through a search engine we have applied required terms and condition required by the search engine to fully block any room stay period with full payment as you have agreed prior to your booking to the search engine website as a non refundable booking thus this allow us to block the room for the entire period of your booking with no ability to sell it to other guest for your booking security.

We believe the above explanation should provide you with sufficient information and we wish you a good and healthy life in the future

Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 mi away
M Suite
M Suite
#39 of 417 in Seminyak
131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aliya Boutique Hotel
Aliya Boutique Hotel
#103 of 417 in Seminyak
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bali Yarravillas
Bali Yarravillas
#32 of 417 in Seminyak
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clio Apartments
Clio Apartments
#69 of 417 in Seminyak
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kumpul Kumpul Villa III Seminyak
0.9 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#50 of 417 in Seminyak
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uma Karan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma Karan

Property: Uma Karan
Address: Jl. Bidadari III/8, Kunti 2, Seminyak, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Uma Karan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma Karan, Seminyak boutique hotel. Located only 10 minutes away from the heart of Seminyak's dining and shopping point, beautiful sunset beach of Seminyak and Petitenget, yet tucked away in a secluded corner to allow you the luxury sense of privacy. All 10 spacious hotel rooms (28 sqm), provided with direct access to our 15 meters long swimming pool and lush tropical garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Uma Karan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Karan Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing