We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
Review of Uma Karan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Uma Karan
Ranked #55 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is our 4th stay at Uma Karan - this time for 12 nights. It is a small boutique hotel with just 10 rooms. Very quiet and perfect for hubby & I. It is 5 mins on the bike to main shopping strips and approx 10 mins to beach by taxi. The staff here are great and Manager Norina is very warm & welcoming. It's great value for money with rooms serviced daily, simple breakfast served to your room to get you started and friendly staff. Great find which allows us to visit Bali more often!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracyvitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest Tracyvitale,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us for the fourth time.

We are really happy to note that you will always stay with us every time you visit Bali.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another inspiring stay.

Thank you & Warm regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    52
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
93
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Beautiful, clean, boutiqueishh hotel. Great that it hosts only a few hotel guests which makes you feel special. With a jump in the beautiful pool in front of the hotel room you can't wake up any better. The beach is just a short walk or a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KikiNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest KikiNL,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here.

We had the most unfortunate experience with this "hotel". We booked for the last 5 nights of our honeymoon in October after understanding that the property was a good Seminyak location. Unfortunately we were sorely disappointed. The hotel is only a few hundred meters from the often congested dual carriage way into Kuta, up a dirt path (and not a good rural if idillic dirt path). We were told upon arrival that it would take 15-20 mins to get to the nearest beach by taxi and found that the main (nice) restaurant area was the same distance away - not the impression we were originally given. The room was frankly soulless with stained sofa and the pool was constantly in shade with only 4 sun beds. My wife became quite tearful and upset that for the finale of an otherwise perfect honeymoon was booked here and we immediately requested that we cancelled our booking. The owner of the property showed absolutely no compassion and refused to give us even a one day refund, despite us having paid for 5 full nights. Given my wife's genuine despair and my shock at how different the reality of the property was to the websites description I can only conclude that the owner is frankly an awful money grabbing man lacking any compassion.
Bali does not do mediocracy, there are plenty of frankly fabulous hotels at brilliant prices. I would for example suggest that you try the Mutiara Bali which is a beautiful hotel, only a short walk from the beach with a massive beautiful pool and facilities (and - thanks to an emergency loan from the parents - which we paid pretty much exactly the same nightly rate for). Unless you're looking for a hostel with a soulless owner - don't stay here.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mjgabg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest Mjgabg,

Thank you for your feedback to your experience at Uma Karan recently. We understand that your visit to Bali did not go as your original expectations. Allow us to reiterate that Uma Karan indeed is not a beach front location and it does take certain vehicle with approximate 10 minutes travel time to go to the nearest beach as per our advertisement which you have acknowledged that the online information did not mention any direct beach access.

As your booking came through a search engine we have applied required terms and condition required by the search engine to fully block any room stay period with full payment as you have agreed prior to your booking to the search engine website as a non refundable booking thus this allow us to block the room for the entire period of your booking with no ability to sell it to other guest for your booking security.

We believe the above explanation should provide you with sufficient information and we wish you a good and healthy life in the future

Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

me and my friends always want to have a perfect nice holiday in Bali where we all can have an easy access for a shopping spree in downtown seminyak but at the same time we want to have a very relaxing moment to be away from all the busy & crowded traffic. when we found Uma Karan it's just the perfect decision, this place is absolutely amazing, it offers both options that we are looking for! the pool is a winner with exotic/relax vibes around it, very helpful & super friendly staffs, showing direction, giving recommendation. the street is just 10 minutes away from seminyak/oberoi even it's very easy to find a very good local restaurant/cafe. hence it's heavenly peace & quiet during the day/night. the room is very clean and always smell good. this place is simply legend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest Vera M,

We are very pleased to note that we were able to exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience with us.

Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at Uma Karan for 4 nights in late September and had a great time. The hotel is tucked away in the quiet corner of seminyak, but it's a close enough for a short taxi ride to the main action spots. The hotel staff helped us arrange taxi and recommended good local places to eat and shop so transportation isn't a big fuss. One of them even drew up a map for us which we found really helpful! But to get there in the first place, do remember to print the location map available on the hotel website - it's otherwise hard to explain to the cab driver esp. if u r going from airport.

The room is clean and the mattress is really comfy. We like being able to wake up and go straight into the pool for a morning dip before breakfast. It does feel more like a private villa than a hotel and apart for the few guests that we met at check in or occasionally at the reception desk, we didn't really see other guests during our stay which makes this place more exclusive to ourselves. We also enjoy the service there- staff are polite and provided very personal service - I hardly saw them roaming around but they were always there to help us change the towels, bring water or arrange transportation when we needed them.

Thank you Uma Karan - it was a pleasant stay and we will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen_Tez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest Jen_Tez,

We are very pleased to note that we were able to exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us, and really appreciate your kind plan to return.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience with us.

Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been to Bali many times this time we decided to stay at the Uma Karan and we couldn't of been happier, the staff were incredible extremely friendly and would do absolutely anything you requested. The rooms were clean and the pool area was just so relaxing. We would recommend the Uma Karan a small boutique hotel and a place to relax. A short cab ride will get you into the restaurant strip in Seminyak at a cost of 30,000 rp which the staff is only to happy to phone for you. A very enjoyable holiday!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest Thelma H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and for recommending our Hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you & Best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We are very happy to find this hotel. This hotel have a very beautiful swiming pool with nice garden, when you swim you swim you will feel like you are in a river, the rooms are very clean with nice bathroom and nice furniture, the staff very nice and very helpful and the location is very close to nice restaurant area.
I hope to come back to Bali again soon and stay in Uma Karan again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest Alice F,

We are very pleased to note that we were able to exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us, and really appreciate your kind plan to return.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience with us.

Thank you & Best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 mi away
M Suite
M Suite
#37 of 417 in Seminyak
132 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aliya Boutique Hotel
Aliya Boutique Hotel
#100 of 417 in Seminyak
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bali Yarra Villas
Bali Yarra Villas
#33 of 417 in Seminyak
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clio Apartments
Clio Apartments
#72 of 417 in Seminyak
133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kumpul Kumpul Villa III Seminyak
0.2 mi away
Room & Vespa 3
Room & Vespa 3
#105 of 417 in Seminyak
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uma Karan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma Karan

Property: Uma Karan
Address: Jl. Bidadari III/8, Kunti 2, Seminyak, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Uma Karan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma Karan, Seminyak boutique hotel. Located only 10 minutes away from the heart of Seminyak's dining and shopping point, beautiful sunset beach of Seminyak and Petitenget, yet tucked away in a secluded corner to allow you the luxury sense of privacy. All 10 spacious hotel rooms (28 sqm), provided with direct access to our 15 meters long swimming pool and lush tropical garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Uma Karan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Karan Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing