We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little hidden paradise”
Review of Uma Karan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uma Karan
Ranked #51 of 415 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little hidden paradise”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at Uma Karan with my family twice while we were in Bali. I stumbled upon it on trip advisor and what a find! When we first arrived down a little rugged track we had no idea what to expect but as soon as you walk through the doors you find yourself in a little paradise. A small pool with gorgeous frangipanis and green trees surrounding it. 10 decent size rooms so perfectly quiet and small. Clean, comfortable and relaxing. I don't even know where to begin with the staff, they are absolutely the best. So helpful, cheerful and so willing to help. We felt right at home and we will all definitely be back! Couldn't recommend this beautiful hotel enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    51
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
93
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

5 days stayed at Uma Karan weren't enough for me and my husband, wanted to extend but was not possible because we had next trip to other country in Asia.
Spaciuous room with comfort bed and sofa, pool view, warming and friendly staffs, very clean and for sure with good service. And we loved so much the pool, small pool but many plants in the sides of the pool, so beautifull.
Just took 4 minutes to laksamana street (the famoust dining and shopping area) by motorbike, closed to the beach at seminyak area, and also closed to ever places like Kudeta, Potato Head, etc.
We were very satisfied and highly recomended to everyone.
We'll be back for sure. So lovely and nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Uma Karam is not opulent and the area outside the hotel looks a vacant lot with builder rubble in it. It't not on the beach. Nothing great within 10 minutes walk.
Yes within the walls it is done to perfection. There appear to be 8 units, 4 on each side of the pool. Wonderful, helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble for them, and plenty of those famous Balinese smiles. I swam every day in the lovely pool. I never saw it being chlorinated but I feel great so obviously it's looked after. There is a nice deck with chairs at the end. Everything works perfectly in the rooms. Great aircon for sleeping, Nice mattresses with a great doona that gives you the right temperature for good quality sleep. The desk is unattended late at night but the security guard loves to help people, acting as a concierge and even he too seems very happy,

It's about an 8 minute taxi ride to the best restaurants in Bali.
Just one quirky thing that we actually think is a great idea: Because the hotel is a little hard to
find you pay 25,000rp (A$2.50) minimum for all rides even if the meter only shows 10,000rp. However the Uma Karam is hard to find and most taxis don't know where it is, but the Bluebird taxi company (best one in Bali by far) will send a driver over straight away, so I guess the extra pocket change makes it worth everyones time to get over to the Uma Karma quickly.

We felt the extra A$1.50 was money well spent and it's nice to know that for the Balinese that extra $1.50 would probably equal somewhere between $20 to $40 to them in spending terms, so would help them to feed their families much more than the $1.50 would mean to us.
TIP: Grab a Uma Karam map at the front counter when you go out to show to the taxi driver when you return, especially at night.

Room Tip: Make sure you grab a Uma Karam MAP when you go out to help you to get back easily. I didn't n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank passdeplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Seminyak Area is slowly turning into a Chaos like Kuta. When on vacation i personally dont like to stay in concrete environment like Kuta. I am glad i found Uma Karan Seminyak for my stay at Bali. Their small Villas won my heart. The place is like a Sanctuary - Peaceful, & serene in a small way. The best part is the Swimming pool with greenery as Canopy. Come in the evening and chill out in the pool with a can of beer, green herbage all around you.

The Rooms are modern and offer most of the amenities of a top hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank manishgadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Everything about Uma Karan was fantastic. Small and initmate. Beautiful rooms, clean, new, modern and spacious. The pool and surrounds were lovely and more luscious than the photos show. Breakfast were simple and not a big selection, but more than enough to start your day and always very fresh. The location is a bit away from one end of Seminyak but still an easy walk. The staff will always organize a bluebird taxi for you which will take about 5 minutes. In spite of me trying new accommodation every time I come to Bali, I might just have to make this a favourite.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. Five down one side of the pool and five the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LeeLou64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It's a cozy little place from outside and then you were shown your room and voila! A spacious, terribly clean, well-thought of room with a bright natural and equally spacious bathroom to boot. I love the muted calming interior and how they play with natural materials and textures. The room feels very modern with tropical twists. Loved it.

And the service was excellent! Loved the staffs. They're always there for you, polite and precise. And please do not forget the breakfasts. You'd be feeling like a local a couple of days here just because of the breakfasts. Brilliant idea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sikoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a great stay in this Villa for 5 days. The rooms are spacious, even the bathroom are spacious with natural lighting. The problem is the location its quite secluded and it doesn't have a restaurant that guest has to go out at night to eat dinner and you have to take a cab. But generally the place is peaceful and the service is great

Room Tip: All rooms are located in front of the pool. Bring your own adapter because the hotel doesn't pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fed89reyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 mi away
Bali Yarravillas
Bali Yarravillas
#30 of 415 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.8 mi away
M Suite
M Suite
#38 of 415 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aliya Boutique Hotel
Aliya Boutique Hotel
#102 of 415 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#58 of 415 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.1 mi away
ER Villa Bali
ER Villa Bali
#107 of 415 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kumpul Kumpul Villa III Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uma Karan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma Karan

Property: Uma Karan
Address: Jl. Bidadari III/8, Kunti 2, Seminyak, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 415 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Uma Karan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma Karan, Seminyak boutique hotel. Located only 10 minutes away from the heart of Seminyak's dining and shopping point, beautiful sunset beach of Seminyak and Petitenget, yet tucked away in a secluded corner to allow you the luxury sense of privacy. All 10 spacious hotel rooms (28 sqm), provided with direct access to our 15 meters long swimming pool and lush tropical garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Uma Karan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Karan Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing