We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard To Find, Hard To Shower - But otherwise perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dipan Resort Petitenget
Ranked #67 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The dominant thing for me - which is unfortunate because there's so much that's good about the Dipan - is that the location is a little too discreet, and the showering experience was just regrettable. I'll explain the two:

The Dipan is insanely easy to miss - it's located in a small (and I mean SMALL for Seminyak) in-road that is hard to find, hard to notice and if you don't know what you're looking for you'll miss it. There is one small sign informing you that the Dipan is within, and that's it. This proved to be an issue at 1 am when my driver went around 3 times before we found the entrance, and that purely by chance. I now know that I should look out for the "Alila Villas Seminyak" (it's currently a construction site), but that 1st night was trying.

The other thing is that for our 3 bedroom villa, there were 2 main issues. First, there's only a rain shower that's way too tall - Robert Wadlow would have problems hitting it. Some might like it but I didn't - it made washing just my body impossible. But add to that the fact that the hot water never seemed to work, and that the water pressure was bad, meant that the shower experience (esp after hot dusty days outside) was not enjoyable. Which meant that returning to the villa was much less of the Nirvana it should have been.

But there is much to like about the villa - the staff are attentive, the breakfast was decent, the villa itself was quite comfortable (6 of us stayed in the villa for 2 days and there were times we didn't know the others were there - so it's a real house!) and the beds were soft and fluffy. The hotel is right next to Potato Head and La Lucciola, and the main pool near the lobby looked like a lot of fun. So there is much to love about the Dipan (and the Groupon for the villa didn't hurt); but unfortunately my experience was marred by the above 2 factors. As another reviewer said, "Could have been amazing". Unfortunately, it wasn't.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank xpstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond B, Director of Sales at The Dipan Resort Petitenget, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear,Guest

Thank you to spent your value time to write a true experience here at Trip Advisor .

We love to know that you enjoy to spent your holiday with us and definitely will come back for future stay, we also will address your down fall comment to the related department to be follow up immediately.

Once again , Thank you very much for staying with us and we are looking forward to see you again next time.

See you next time.
Best Regards,
The Dipan Resort, Villas and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 523 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Exceptional help with our business documents by Receptionist at Check-in counter made us feel welcome straight away.
Pool and Gazebo area was divine, we enjoyed a last day relaxing the day before our home flight after a hectic 3 week trip to 4 different islands

Room Tip: Suite overlooking pool was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roughrider65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond B, Director of Sales at The Dipan Resort Petitenget, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear, Guest

Thank you for the comments that you shared here at Trip Advisor.
We are glad to hear that you were enjoy your stay with us and also happy with the services that we provided.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
The Dipan Resort, Villas and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The Dipan is centrally located within walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shopping, spas, etc.

We booked a one-bedroom villa and we're upgraded to a three bedroom. The villa was clean, well appointed and modern.

The problem lied with the apparent dog kennel next door. At least a half dozen dogs were caged outside and barked constantly. We were awoken at all hours of the night and disturbed during the day. We're not a couple to normally complain, but we asked the staff if anything could be done. Staff offered to move us to another villa but it was still in close proximity to the dogs on the residential property.

It was incredibly disappointing to fly half way around the world to not be able to sleep.

The construction and bar were also a deterrent to relaxing. We generally spent our time at the beach on day trips and only used the villa to try to sleep. Such a waste for such a nice property.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank AshPatSat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dipan R, General Manager at The Dipan Resort Petitenget, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear, Ash Pat Sat

Thank you for your comment that you shared here at Trip Advisor .

First of all, please apology for the dogs bucking ruin your sleeping time during your stay , we will do a friendly coordination with our neighbor to move their dogs inner in to their house . for your information Bali's people love pets specially Dog and I believe every one does .

We are very flexible to our guest , we commonly change the villa / room if the guest not happy with their villa , only some time because of the high demand of our Resort some time we are not able to do it because we were fully booked , in this case we normally offering guest free spa , lunch or dinner or even a day tours.

by the way , thank you for staying with us and I personally guarantee there is no longer Dog kennel from the neighbor again.

Thank You,

I Ketut Wirya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Dipan Resort is an ideal boutique resort. By boutique I mean that there aren't very many rooms, nor very many guests. You feel at home here. The rooms are very large, with big, soft beds (very soft by the standard I'm used to in East Asia; this may be a plus for some, a minus for others).

The bathrooms are massive, and have a separate shower and tub area. The problem though is that the water pressure is very low. It could take the better part of an hour to fill the tub. For the shower, the water pressure is also very low. Regardless, the bathroom is lovely, with a stone/wood motif going on.

Breakfast is not buffet--you choose from a set menu with a few different options. It is served downstairs in a main dining area that you have to walk through to access your rooms. I was perfectly pleased with my breakfast and most morning when I got up late and at a 9:30 or 10 I was dining completely alone. The staff was attentive and very pleasant.

Rooms are cleaned rapidly and well--something I love. The staff pays attention to when you leave and cleans the room when you are out rather than knocking on your door and bothering you or even worse, as I have seen in some hotels, calling your room.

The pool area is nice but has limited sunlight. So if you are looking for sun, there is only really one or two chairs that can get it, owing to the amazing landscaping done around the pool, with huge amounts of foliage and palms. It's quite nice, but not incredibly isolated, as the pool forms a junction between three sections of the hotel, so people are often coming and going including staff. You don't feel very private there.

The location is great. You are just about a 7 minute walk from Seminyak Beach. The hotel will give you towels for the beach. You are also very close to some of the best restaurants in Petitenget including Sarong, Biku and Potato Head. Eat Street is about a 10-15 minute walk away--very close. Really, this is an excellent spot. The only downside is that there is construction going on nearby so you will get woke up at about 8 a.m. by hammering and drills and things. There is also a bar next door that plays somewhat loud music until 11 p.m. You could probably change rooms if it really bothers you, but the music wasn't so loud.

The attached spa does a nice job. I tried it twice. They will give you a 50% discount if you ask. I thought the Balinese massage with oil after a long afternoon at the beach was perfect for me.

Wifi is blazing fast here--something I really needed since I was on a working vacation.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanhRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dipan R, General Manager at The Dipan Resort Petitenget, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear, Bahn Ran

Thank you for you long review that you shared here at Trip Advisor.

Yes we are located in a prime location where the most of iconic places are around us and also we are very close to the beach and eating street .

We love to know that you enjoy to spent your holiday with us and definitely will come back for future stay, we also will address your down fall comment to the related department to be follow up immediately.

Once again , Thank you very much for staying with us and we are looking forward to see you again next time.
Best Regards,

I Ketut Wirya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed in many of the 4-5 star hotels in Bali but Dipan is definitely up there with the best. No commercialized feel, Dipan feel more like a home away from home. We got the villa with private pool and the ever-friendly staff makes you feel even more like home. When weather's not favorable for you to venture out you can always stay indoors and catch some shows through the massive selection of channels, or using the dvd player provided.
Construction going on around it makes it dusty and noisy during the day but that's all good if you can put up to that (ear plugs help!)

Special thanks to Gedek for arranging the scooter rental and assistance rendered through my stay. Would recommend it to couples and groups of friends alike.
Overall the Dipan's a great place to stay, great staff and good value for money

Room Tip: Private villa offers the most bang for your buck especially if you are travelling in a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dipan R, General Manager at The Dipan Resort Petitenget, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear, Mr. Dannex

Thank you to spent your value time to write a true experience here at Trip Advisor .

Our staff is the greatest asset we have , Gede is one of our security guard even he is a security he also able to offer any service may requested by our guest because one of our philosophy is " whenever you need pitch in and help , there is no words of that is not my job "

We are very proud of them and because of they happy then they able to serve our guest in a proper way .

Seminyak is the most popular area for Bali tourist destination, in fact the building construction are progressing here and there and it is very common happen and it will be done pretty soon and once they done the area become more beautiful .

At The Dipan it self ( inside of the property ) we are not disturbing so bad from the noise of the construction , the public pool with water sound make the area become so tranquility and most of our guest having sun bath , drinks and went to the Spa during the day time.

by the way , it was nice to spent some time to talk with you during your stay and thank you for the review that you shared it will helping other viewers to understand better about our property .

See you next time.

Best Regards,

I Ketut Wirya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our last 2 days in Bali, we decided to move to a villa nearer to the beach. My sister chose the The Dipan Resort because it was walking distance to the Seminyak Beach and the rate was reasonable too. We rented a villa with a private pool. The room was spacious enough for the both of us but not for a family of 4. The people were all very friendly from the reception to the service people at the bar and the cafe. A welcome drink is served on arrival. The internet connection was good and we could get some work done and continue with our social networking. The rate is inclusive of breakfast. The serving for breakfast was very generous and the choices were plenty. The bathroom was clean and well equipped with toiletries and fluffy clean towels. Even though there was a construction work nearby and the club next door playing music all day long it didn't disturb us. It was very quiet in the villa both in the day and night.

Room Tip: Get a bigger villa for family of 4. The Villa we chose was nice just for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minshariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dipan R, General Manager at The Dipan Resort Petitenget, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear, Mr. Minshariff

Thank you for the review that you shared here at Trip Advisor.

We are happy to have a chance to say hello during your stay with us which is one of our culture to meet and greet every single guest who stay with us and observe as much information on how we can improve our service in the future.

Yes we are very lucky to have a prime location , good design and to have a fabulous staff members who are ready for everything .

The Dipan is the best yet to come , I personally guarantee you will love us even better after all construction around us is finished in a short time to come .

And we are looking forward to welcoming you again and see The Dipan in a new stage .

Best Regards,

I Ketut Wirya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed at the Dipan and would happily stay again! Yes there is construction going on but we couldn't hear it! The staff were very polite and happy. Some of the staff have limited English but never did they make a mistake they would ask someone for help. The villa we stayed in was clean and really nice. The food was nice. The fruit for breakfast was small portion but breakfast was big so it was good.

If you are visiting Bali seminyak is a great area and safe for the family. The Dipan will provide you with a safe clean and friendly place to stay. Would definatley stay again.
Thank you to all the staff

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Sian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dipan R, General Manager at The Dipan Resort Petitenget, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear , Ms. Sian T

Thank you for sharing your experienced during your stay with us on your Bali Holiday.

we will definitely address your comments to our Department Had to be consider and follow up .

I am happy to know that you will come back to stay with us again and personally I guarantee you will see us improving time to time .

Just to let you know , since we open 2 years ago we have huge number of repeaters and direct booking as they are found us as a worthy place to stay and within the expectation , as i promise to you in the future instead of standard service will do personalize service and instead of within expectation we will do beyond the expectation.

Once again thank you for your review , and we are looking forward to welcoming you to stay with us again.

Regards.

I Ketut Wirya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Montigo Resorts Seminyak
Montigo Resorts Seminyak
#32 of 148 in Seminyak
468 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#26 of 148 in Seminyak
664 reviews
1.1 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#73 of 148 in Seminyak
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
dash Hotel Seminyak Bali
dash Hotel Seminyak Bali
#35 of 148 in Seminyak
858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sense Hotel Seminyak
Sense Hotel Seminyak
#70 of 148 in Seminyak
784 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#29 of 148 in Seminyak
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dipan Resort Petitenget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dipan Resort Petitenget

Address: Jalan Petitenget Gang Taman Ganesha No. 1 | Jalan Petitenget Gang Taman Ganesha No. 1, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#38 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#54 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#59 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $74 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dipan Resort Petitenget 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE DIPAN RESORT, VILLA AND SPA epitomises fashionable luxury accommodation with acute attention to a design and style yet to be seen on the magical island of Bali. Our philosophy is simple: Anyone who stays with us should feel like a VIP rock star, a fashion icon, a celebrity designer . The Dipan resort, Villa & Spa is the first private villa complex in Bali to incorporate a truly metropolitan chic design aesthetic that blends tastefully with the rich tropical Bali milieu. Our guests can always expect the pleasing comfort of our one of a kind property and unique individual private villas, coupled with services and amenities befitting the most discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Dipan Resort Petitenget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dipan Resort Petitenget Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing