We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Hotel but no good on a Saturday Night” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dipan Resort Petitenget

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dipan Resort Petitenget
Ranked #54 of 138 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel but no good on a Saturday Night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed with my girlfriend on Saturday 19 January 2013.

It started of fantastic, the staff are amazing, a perfect tasting lemongrass drink when I arrived, and I could hire a motorbike with my creditcard when i payed for the hotel and not have to barter or deal with outside as the price was very reasonable.

It was a little bit confusing paying upfront for the hotel when we arrived but did so anyways. I stayed in a room in the main building (not the villa) that was on level 1 of the building furthest north-east.

The fittings in the room are amazing, so is the bed, bathroom, hot water etc. The swimming pool is fantastic, albeit a little small, but perfect temperature and like an oasis. They were also very accommodating for us in the morning when we left because we had an early flight and cook came in early to cook us breakfast which was great.

BUT, the biggest problem. Hu'u bar was literally 20 metres from our hotel room, and the music was totally pumping from 10pm to 3am. The music was so loud that I couldn't sleep at all, despite wearing the complementary earbuds. Upon reading some reviews, I found that the manager had responded to complaints on tripadvisors saying that they only put younger people in the rooms closest to the bar, and that they also offer them free entry into the bar.

At no point did they ever offer us entry to Hu'u (I am 22 and my girlfriend is 21) and it was frustrating to read reviews about what they did to remedy this problem and to discover that nearly none of it was true.

tl;dr - it's a fantastic hotel, but don't bother staying here any night which Hu'u is open (Friday and Saturday)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank narazarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dipan R, General Manager at The Dipan Resort Petitenget, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear, Reviewer

Thank you for your complements regarding our staff and our product , we were investing a lot of efforts and involved the expertise in building our business in order to be up date at market place.

And Thank you to remind us regarding the free tickets / vouchers to attend the event at our neighbor Huu Bar, as our existing affiliation agreement with them is to offer us 6 tickets for our guest in every event they hold , normally on Friday or Saturday ( twice a month ) but they also held a regular party which also held every Friday and Saturday which is end up before mid night and they did not give us any vouchers for this kind of event. the idea of yours is very valuable for us to consider and we will soon arrange a meeting with the boss of Huu bar to provide us a Complimentary entering Tickets for all of our guests in every party ( regular or special event ). Once again thank you very much for the complements and the bright idea regarding the free entrance tickets to Huu Bar.
Best Regards,

I Ketut Wirya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    152
    38
    15
    8
See reviews for
79
246
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Thanks to all the staff for your hospitality and amicable service. Every smile makes guests feel very welcoming.

I had booked a One Bedroom Villa via Groupon and travelled as a couple. But they upgraded us to a 3-Bedroom Villa - Room 301. The bedroom and bathroom upstairs is huge and beautiful. Real sweet gesture from staff with rose petals spread out on the bed, bathtub and wine to ignite the mood :) The private pool is small. If you are not a swimmer then watch out the depth first before jumping into the pool. Adding ladders in the pool will help non-swimmers and older guests.

3-Bedroom villa was quite big for just two of us and we were tired going upstairs every now and then. Also, with building construction round the corner it was a bit annoying. So, we requested to move back to any available One Bedroom Villa.

The One Bedroom Villa - Room 106 is perfect for a couple. The pool here is bit longer than 3-Bedroom villa. The room is farther away from Huu Bar and no building construction. If you a real light sleeper, you can use the ear plugs provided if your room is closer to Huu Bar .

The à la carte breakfast is filling and tastes good. Also Dipan's Locale Bar&Restaurant meal items are delicious.

Seminyak beach is closeby and walkable.

The body massage at the Spa is relaxing after day's long tiring trip.

Cons -
The dry leaves fallen below the small trees on private pool sides should be cleaned regularly.


We are definitely staying at Dipan next time we visit Bali. And will highly recommend Dipan to our friends and families.

Thanks Dipan for making our stay such enjoyable and memorable experience.

Room Tip: Choose One Bedroom Villa - Room 106 which is farther away from Huu Bar for weekend getaways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Subu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We LOVED our stay at the dipan. To be honest, we didn't love seminyak (too much traffic, quiet at this time of the year) but coming back to the dipan after every hot day was like heaven. We felt a little guilty for never wanting to leave.

Pros:
- we stayed in a villa with a private pool. It was fantastic. Great facilities, nice bathroom, what more could you want
- the common area pool was amazing, like you see in magazines
- the breakfasts were included and a little ridiculous :) 7 different options, lots of food, and really really good.
- the spa was very peaceful, well priced (at least competitive) with places around town
- all staff was friendly and helpful (pick up at the airport was much appreciated)

Cons: (and I'm stretching to come up with some)
- location isn't ideal right now. Construction could be an issue if a really light swimmer
- area is really quiet in low season. Really nice club next door but dead all throughout the week
- Internet in the rooms was very weak - good quality in the common space

Would stay again for sure!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank losttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I would like to first of all thank everyone at the Dipan for their hospitality and overall sunny disposition. Unfortunately during our stay my girlfriend and I became ill, thankfully the staff at the Dipan were exceptional in providing us with the right medication and attending to our needs. I would like to make special mention of both Era and Ketut who most helpful throughout our trip. The rooms are spacious and well kept with a modern balinese feel. As has been said the beds are huge and most comfortable. We found the housekeeping to be clean and efficient. Try to get a villa room as you have your own private pool which is perfect when you come back from a long day out touring. Unfortunately for the Dipan it is surrounded by construction work that makes the surrounds quite unappealing, although when inside the hotel you would not be aware of whats surrounding you as we found the outside noise to be non existent. On one night we did hear the bass from the Hu'u bar although it was low enough to not bother our sleep. If there was to be one criticism of the Dipan it would be that the food is quite bland and does not offer a wide range of selection. This is but a minor dent in the reputation the Dipan has built in my opinion. I would highly recommend a stay at the Dipan for those who wish to stay in Seminyak. Once again I would likely to sincerely thank the staff for making our trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: Room 105 is the furthest away from both construction and hu'u bar. Also try to bargain for an up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My stay at The Dipan was fantastic. I went there for a weekend getaway to celebrate my wife's birthday.Their staff was very friendly. From the driver that pick us up, to the security guard, who offered us an umbrella, to the receptionist and up to the staff that set the candle light dinner for us. Each and everyone of their staff is very well versed in English, so no worries to guests who cant speak Bahasa Indonesia. I email them a couple weeks earlier requesting a special dinner to celebrate my wife's birthday. On that day, everything went perfectly. Even the security guard came in and wish my wife a Happy Birthday.
On top of that, the facilities were amazing to me. They have this service called turn down the room, I didn't know what was it actually till the staff came in the evening and do it. Turn the down the room means they will set up the mosquito repellent for you and some other stuff.
The bathroom was huge inclusive of a huge bathtub.
I really enjoy my stay with the Dipan and I woudl love to be back there again next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinzaghiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

However the next door bar & construction site was very noisy and sometimes very disturbing, we managed to have a lovely time. The staff was friendly and helpfull, the breakfast delicious & abundant.
+ Huge and the most comfortable bed ever
- Should be more light in bathroom, around mirror
Overall great place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CsCs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went for a babymoon at the Dipan, for a relaxing trip in one of their suites. Indeed, the staff there are very considerate and warm. They remembered our names throughout the stay and were very helpful. The staff even had mosquito coils lit and placed in our outdoor pool area in the evening!. The private pool is great to cool down after a day out, however without steps leading up and out, it may be dangerous.
As for the food served, it has got to be one of the best! We had breakfast there every morning and the eggs were done very nicely. The construction did not bother us at all, neither did the music at the nearby bar (as we had feared prior to the trip).
Overall it was a great stay, and we'd definitely return for future stays!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#27 of 138 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montigo Resorts Seminyak
Montigo Resorts Seminyak
#36 of 138 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#24 of 138 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
L Hotel Seminyak
L Hotel Seminyak
#43 of 138 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#59 of 138 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sense Hotel Seminyak
Sense Hotel Seminyak
#58 of 138 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dipan Resort Petitenget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dipan Resort Petitenget

Property: The Dipan Resort Petitenget
Address: Jalan Petitenget Gang Taman Ganesha No. 1 | Jalan Petitenget Gang Taman Ganesha No. 1, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#44 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#46 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dipan Resort Petitenget 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE DIPAN RESORT, VILLA AND SPA epitomises fashionable luxury accommodation with acute attention to a design and style yet to be seen on the magical island of Bali. Our philosophy is simple: Anyone who stays with us should feel like a VIP rock star, a fashion icon, a celebrity designer . The Dipan resort, Villa & Spa is the first private villa complex in Bali to incorporate a truly metropolitan chic design aesthetic that blends tastefully with the rich tropical Bali milieu. Our guests can always expect the pleasing comfort of our one of a kind property and unique individual private villas, coupled with services and amenities befitting the most discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Dipan Resort Petitenget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dipan Resort Petitenget Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing