We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HUGE thankyou to the Sense Hotel staff for a lovely holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sense Hotel Seminyak
Ranked #73 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My sister & I really enjoyed our recent stay at this small, intimate boutique hotel in this popular location. As far as we were concerned it was within walking distance from all the shops, bars and restaurants for which Seminyak is noted, but far enough away from the "hurly burly" to suit those who are looking for some peace & quiet too. While it is very close to a part of the beach which does not allow swimming & sunbathing for religious reasons, you can still enjoy walking on it and the hotel's 'beach club' (plus shuttle)service further down the beach adequately compensates for this minor inconvenience. The hotel also provides a range of spa treatments at reasonably competitive rates and the staff happily arrange drivers, guided tours etc. A word of warning: this is a SMALL boutique hotel and as such the pool is small, as are the rooms so if you are looking for luxurious resort-style accommodation then you may well be dissappointed. If on the other hand you appreciate a more intimate encounter with genuine, helpful, and friendly staff then you should be very happy with your holiday here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Ms RosMcC,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

We appreciate your time to provide your review and share your experience about Sense Hotel. We do all effort realizing our concept of creating a homey atmosphere in a small boutique hotel could fulfill client expectation.

Thank you and hope to seeing you soon again.
With best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 788 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Glad to have found this new, small botique hotel in Seminyak from Groupon. Availed its opening promo last year which includes buffet breakfast, airport transfers and a 90 mins. Balinese massage.

I have to say I was impressed with my experience. From the airport pick up, where we were warmly greeted by a hotel staff, to the arrival where you are greeted with cool refreshing face towels, and fresh juices, they had me at hello. The minivan used to pick us up was a Suzuki APV minivan, just enough for two people, and small luggages. I understand, the hire bigger vans for bigger groups.

The hotel is located in a small quiet road in Seminyak, but only 8-10 mins. walk to the beach and the busy restaurant row. The hotel, actually, feels like a small botique hotel (modern Balinese). No frills, nothing fancy, but impresses you in getting the basics right and more! And the warm hospitality and friendliness of the staff (very soft spoken, attentive, and quick with smiles) were something really notable.

The room was nicely designed (modern, and feels like checking into a 4 star hotel), spacious, and clean, with a small veranda. I love the bed, really soft and comfortable. And I also love in particular the fast wifi! Amenities were also complete (i.e. hair dryer, safety deposit box, mini bar, etc.).

It also serves a decent buffet breakfast with a good spread of Western and Indonesia fare, including an egg station. I love the mee goreng, really good!

The 90 mins free Balinese massage (worth Rp 260,000) was also an experience, complete with massage, a scrub (didn't hurt at all), and warm bath with flower petals.

Over-all, very happy with this hotel. Something to just improved on is on the towels (would prefer softer towels and some had a smell of wet towel ironed too early). The location is also not right in front of the beach or next to the action, but it is a good deal. Can just get a bit dark at night, and pedestrian walk way not perfect, but very safe area.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking at the center pool would probably have a better view. Other rooms would have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Mr Alex O,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

We thank you for your time to write your wonderful review about us, we are very happy to read it and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing your smile again at Sense Hotel Seminyak,
With best regards,

Gufron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very small hotel, clean and new, staff was friendly and helpful ( Bali standard) nevertheless for the price its given compared with the room quality (small no view basic amenities), standard breakfast, small pool and almost non other facilities, its more like a budget hotel style, i guess the rates is a bit overrated...as i can get much more benefit from other neighbor hotels...sorry to say it is not worth it with the rate given

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yunita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Ms Yunita C,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,
Thank you for your review, we have taken note about your feedback.

We wish you a nice day.
With best personal regards,
Gufron


General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Sense Hotel in early April with a friend (two girls/mid twenties). We absolutely adored this place and every single person working there!

It's about 35 minutes from the airport and it located a 4 minute walk to the beach and about 4 minutes the other way to Seminyak Square.

The beach closest to the hotel cannot be used for sunbathing and swimming because of the vicinity to a temple but another 3 minutes walk down and you will find yourself at a part of the beach where people are swimming and there are chairs for rent.

Seminyak Square was very convenient to be so close to. There are many restaurant to choose from and many little stands and shops. They also have convenience stores for any forgotten items you may need. Hotel obviously has a restaurant (small) but we didn't try it.

Back to the hotel...as soon as you come in (we got there at 11pm) you are given welcome drinks. Super cute. There is alway security at the front which is comforting. It is a fairly small hotel but it makes it very intimate and quiet. We didn't see any children at the hotel. Many couples.

The service was impeccable. The genuine kindness if the people was apparent. They were very much willing to accommodate your any wish.

The rooms were very modern and extremely clean. Small bathroom but how much time should you really be spending in there? :)

The pool was always empty which made it very serene. It was also very clean. Always someone around picking up any leaves that may have fallen in.

Breakfast was included and was pretty good quality. We were told not to consume tap water so I always avoided even ice in my drinks. You get used to it.

Overall, I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheap Seminyak hotel. The price honestly scared me because of how cheap it was more than fine. Book through those hotel websites for cheaper rates. We used hotels.com.

Ps...Try to contact the hotel at least two days before your arrival to arrange an airport pick up. We made the mistake of not doing this and were overwhelmed at the airport (at 1030pm in the pouring rain) by maybe 8-10 cab drivers all surrounding you trying to get your business, waiving their hands and asking where you're going, etc. Being first timers and two young ladies, were nearly ran back into the airport crying. Arranging with the hotel makes for a much simpler pick up where they will wait for you with signs and get you directly in their hotel owned cab for the transfer. It is, I believe, $20CND as opposed to the $15 a cab driver may charge. Worth it.

Loved loved loved it here!

Two thumbs up Sense!!! We miss your smiles already!

Jennah & Dominique - the Canadian girls! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennahGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Ms Jennah and Ms Dominique,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak.

We are delighted to read your review, thank you very much, we will also share it to our team. Appreciate your effort to recommend our property.

We wish to serve you on your next visit to Sense Hotel again.
With best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Looks like boutique hotel , clean , warm & helpful staff , the rooms not too big & too small also , good location , just walking by 8 minutes you will be in seminyak square , breakfast is only so so , small pool but overall I'm happy to stay here , If you come to Bali & travelling all days , recommend you stay here , If you wanna enjoy the hotel facility you will get dissapointed

Room Tip: all rooms have balcony but small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ywij77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Ms Ywij77,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you at Sense Hotel again.
With best regards,

Gufron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sense Hotel in Seminyak and was very disappointed.
As I always do I based my decision on information on Trip Advisor and was impressed at the good reviews this property had received, I wondered if I had read reviews of the wrong property.
The hotel is close to several popular restaurants and bars but a long way out from the main shopping / eating area of Seminyak. It is walking distance from the beach - BUT a beach that it awful and swimming is not even permitted!
The staff are nice but not to the standard that has been raved about - I have received much better service at other properties. The breakfast is awful ! We ate breakfast twice and gave up after that , no plates available sometimes and empty platters. I have stayed in eleven different hotels in Bali and this was by far the worst food I have had at any.
Our room was fine but had a lovely view of of an electrical transformer . I do not believe that our bathroom was cleaned adequately - hair in the bottom of the shower was there for days and the towels are thin and clean but obviously stained.
The pool area is small but nice but staff roll up and place the used towels back on the lounges so you never know how many people have used the towels before you - very off putting!!!
I am very surprised and confused by the wonderful reviews so many people gave this property.
It is not terrible but definitely nothing like we expected from the reviews.
There are so many lovely and affordable hotels in Bali that I recommend not staying at this property and do more research than I did !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waggaperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Expensive for what it is. Rooms were ok but not good value for money. Breakfast was very good. The WiFi didn't work in the whole hotel. We chose a deluxe room instead of a superior room because they have balcony. The balcony is so small that they cannot put evn a little chair on it! Much better options near by.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osito22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Horison Seminyak
Hotel Horison Seminyak
#61 of 148 in Seminyak
1,079 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#31 of 148 in Seminyak
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#50 of 148 in Seminyak
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#28 of 148 in Seminyak
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
DevinSky Hotel Seminyak (formerly Golden Tulip Devins)
0.2 mi away
dash Hotel Seminyak Bali
dash Hotel Seminyak Bali
#35 of 148 in Seminyak
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sense Hotel Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Hotel Seminyak

Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 5, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#75 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#82 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $40 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sense Hotel Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Hotel Seminyak is an idyllic retreat conveniently located in the tourist oasis and prestigious locality of Seminyak, Kuta. This luxury Bali hotel comes with a tropical stylish haven catering the discerning choice of young travelers and professionals. More than just an exquisite sojourn, the Sense Hotel is not only a hotel near beach but also a perfect Xanadu to celebrate life and revitalize the soul. So, if you’re looking for a hotel in Seminyak near beach but offering tranquility and coziness, think no further. Pick out Sense Hotel only.As the name implies, Sense Hotel in Seminyak will bring in ultimate experiences to every single guest as has been perfectly devised to harmonize the human senses with the surrounding environment through a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sense Hotel Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense Hotel Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing