We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sense Hotel Seminyak
Ranked #69 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is fairly new and in a good location in Seminyak, right near Seminyak Square and a short walk to the nearest Minimart. I booked for my boyfriend and I as well as a room for my mum and sister through Booking.com.
My mum and sister had a deluxe room with balcony and a request for non-smoking room. I booked a superior for myself and boyfriend with a smoking room request, although the superior does not have a balcony. I assumed that you could smoke in the superior room (we prefer windows open though), because when I booked with Booking.com they gave you the option of requesting a smoking room in the superior category.
When we arrived my boyfriend and I were told we couldnt smoke in our room because it didnt have a balcony. I was immediately angered and pointed out our booking.com preference for a smoking superior room. They said that we could pay to upgrade to a deluxe room with balcony so we could smoke in our room, but I refused to pay because there was clearly a mistake made with our booking instructions. After getting me wound up and angry from this argument, the concierge spoke to his manager twice and they eventually moved us to a different, albeit inferior room with a balcony. We had a fifth floor room overlooking the pool to begin with and we ended up in a ground floor room with a balcony and view of a wall. The balconies dont even have chairs! They obviously dont cater for people who smoke or like to sit on their balconies. This initial experience ruined my time there, although the concierge was very obliging and polite and all the hotel staff were friendly and sweet. Im not sure if the mistake was the fault of the hotel or Booking.com, but surely the hotel ought to be aware of booking mistakes with their agents?
The first room we had and the one we moved to were comfortable, but both times the bathroom and shower floors were dirty. There was mold, soapscum and previous occupants' body hair on the floors, so I wore thongs while showering in this supposedly 4 star hotel.
There is no free water provided in the rooms only minibar beverages which you have to pay for.
The breakfast buffet was disappointing only because the pastries served were stale and obviously left over from the previous day's breakfast.
The hotel and pool area lacks any beauty or balinese flair, it feels like a concrete jungle.
I hate to write a bad review but after all what is Tripadvisor for except to warn people about wasting their hard earned money on a much anticipated holiday?
The only thing the Sense Hotel has going for it is the wonderful, friendly staff. I know its not their fault and I hate to think that they might cop the blame for things out of their control.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Ms Janelle B,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak.

Thank you for your feedback where we will discuss internally for improvement.
And yet, there are things that might arise misunderstanding. All our rooms are non smoking rooms, however clients may smoke in the balcony when available. Unfortunately, due to space reasons we do not set up any chairs on the balcony. We will check and revise content on Booking.com to avoid further misunderstanding about this in-room smoking possibilities.
With regards to the complimentary water, we provide 2 bottled water in your room and it will be replenished daily.

We appreciate your positive comments on our staffs, we will try to keep that level.

Once again thank you for your feedback and hopefully we will be able to cater you on your next stay with us.
With best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    321
    120
    32
    16
See reviews for
80
330
78
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Only had a night here this stay as we were moving to a villa the next day with some friends.

The hotel organised an airport transfer which was no trouble as we came in on a late flight and took us to our villa the next day after contacting them for directions.

The room was nice and clean and as this is a new hotel still in really good condition and everything works well, my only complaint is the bathroom is a little small but you don't spend your holiday in it so its not such a big issue.

The service is great staff really friendly and most of them remembered us from our last visit which was nice.

The location is fantastic, easy walking distance to seminyak square, grocer and grind, ku de ta and potato head etc etc

Would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mr Anning,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

Thanks a lot for your review and the chance to host you eventhough on your short stay. It was nice to have you again with us.

Once again thank you for recommending us too.
Look forward to seeing you again and again at Sense Hotel Seminyak.

With best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

we stayed for 8 nights at the sense hotel on our first trip to semiyak. the staff were extremely helpful right from the first day. the hotel is not a resort but has great rooms and a nice pool. as we explored the area we found that we had the best location. about 400m from beach, seminyak square and great restuarants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Ms Margie112,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

Thanks for sharing your review, really appreciate it.

Hope to be able serving you again.
With best personal regards,


Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you want to stay in a new hotel (7 months old), in a prime location near the beach and top restaurant/ bars then this is it! Seminyak Square is 5min walk away as is Potatohead and Ku de ta, both top spots. Hotel staff are so nice and helpful. We went to Bali for my 60th birthday so it would be low key. We had a quite day arriving back 9.30pm, there was a knock at the door and ten of the staff came in with a cake singing Happy Birthday! You feel like family staying here and it is a new hotel at a reasonable price. Good rooms, decent bed and good breakfast-what else do you want!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if your wife likes to wash clothing regulary, dries quickly as outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TONYCAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mr Tonycai

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

Thank you very much for your review, we are more than happy to read it. Our concept is to create an Homey Atmosphere for all our clients, we are glad that you enjoy it during your stay with us.

It would be great to have again staying with us in the near future.
With best personal regards,


Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It was a really good stay at Sense Hotel for us! So pleasant that I came back to write a review for it even after one month from my visit.

Location:
This small boutique hotel tucked has a wonderful location! Turn right and you are on your way to potato head beach club and the left on the main road are restaurants & bars.

Rooms:
The rooms are clean and simple. The beds are comfy and the size of the room is good.

Service:
I am sure you have read about how other travelers have raved about their services and I must say it was really good. Its service is unlike those you get in 5 star hotels. The unique point about their service is that they make you feel comfortable and will do their best to accede to your requests. During our first night of stay, the occupant above us was shouting very loudly on his balcony that it disturbed our sleep. During breakfast the next day, we mentioned it to one of the staff during her morning feedback routine and she immediately apologized and arranged for a change of room. I like how they try their best to improve on their service by listening and working on feedbacks given by guests.

Spa:
The spa rooms are spacious and really beautiful. We made spa/massage appointments everyday and decided to give our hotel's spa a try on the last day. It was definitely cheaper than those recommended online but was good in my opinion. My partner commented that the massage was the best throughout the trip. Give it a try :)

Overall the stay was pleasant and we are very pleased with the staffs. If you are looking for a simple yet service-oriented accommodation, Sense Hotel is the choice :)

Ps. The only negative part about the hotel was their Internet speed connection.

Room Tip: Rent a motorbike to get around! It's cheap and the hotel will be able to make the necessary arra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Januaryeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Ms Januaryeleven,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak.

We would like to thanks and appreciate your reviews, and that you have rated us so high. We are also happy to read if you had a pleasant stay with us. Yes, we do need feedback from our clients so then we can provide better and better services in the future. We still keep on trying to improve our internet speed.

Look forward to seeing you at Sense Hotel again.
With best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

A good value option in Seminyak. A great location - 5 mins walk for the beach and very, very close to the shopping area. Good cafes and restaurants around the hotel area. The staff are wonderful, very friendly and helpful - keen to make sure that everything is fine. Had a room with a sea view, a small balcony with a spectacular view of the stunning sunset. Room lacked character but was very clean and comfortable. Pool looked nice. Free wifi but quite slow.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank UKtravellergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Ms UKTravelgirl,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,
We would like to thanks for your lovely review where we have also passed it on to our dedicated staffs who did their utmost making your stay enjoyable. We take note also about your feedback for the room character, as well as the slow Wi-Fi for speed improvement.

Thanks and hope to seeing your smile once again at Sense Hotel Seminyak.
With best personal regards,


Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at this boutique hotel. The service is outstanding and the staff were keen to do everything possible to make our stay a very comfortable one. From the moment we checked in to the time we left, we felt very well looked after. It was particularly pleasing to arrive at breakfast and find that the staff were so willing so cater for vegetarians - they offered us vegetarian fried rice and vegetarian noodles, in addition to the other items such as breads, pastries and cereals that were on offer from the buffet.

The standard rooms are a little smaller than we'd expected (particularly the bathrooms), but still very comfortable. The hotel is pretty new, and well maintained. It'd be nice to see the bathroom have a normal detachable shower as well as the overhead rain shower... just a minor suggestion for improvement!

Free WiFi is on offer throughout the hotel and is easy to use, even with multiple devices, however speeds are generally slow. We found that a simPATI 3G SIM card worked out better for surfing - it's really cheap to buy a starter SIM pack from a local shop and top it up with a data bundle.

In terms of location, the advantage of staying at Sense Hotel is that it is just walking distance from some wonderful places... 5 minutes away from Seminyak Beach and the Jalan Petitenget area. Check out the delightful Petitenget cafe if you're there... it's just a few minutes away from the hotel. It's so much cheaper to stay at Sense Hotel and walk 100m to get to the beach, rather than staying at one of the resort hotels located right on the beach. Also you get the benefits of being at a smaller boutique hotel and escaping the hustle and bustle of a resort.

We'd definitely recommend Sense Hotel to our friends and look forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: I would recommend a Deluxe room as they are more spacious than the standard one that we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilmadhvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Ms Neilmadhvani,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

Thank you for taking your time writing your review and making observation about our property. We appreciate your compliment to our staffs, and we have taken note of your feedback about our Wi-Fi so then we can improve the speed.

Once again thank you very much for your thoughts and recommendation.
Look forward to welcoming you again at Sense Hotel Seminyak.

With best regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Horison Seminyak
Hotel Horison Seminyak
#62 of 146 in Seminyak
996 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#63 of 146 in Seminyak
1,751 reviews
0.9 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#48 of 146 in Seminyak
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tijili Seminyak
Tijili Seminyak
#39 of 146 in Seminyak
381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#31 of 146 in Seminyak
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harris Hotel Seminyak
Harris Hotel Seminyak
#71 of 146 in Seminyak
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sense Hotel Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Hotel Seminyak

Property: Sense Hotel Seminyak
Address: Jalan Kayu Jati No. 5, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#28 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#55 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#59 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sense Hotel Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Pivot Point to Cloud NineSense Hotel is an idyllic retreat conveniently located in the tourist oasis and prestigious locality of Seminyak, Kuta. This luxury Bali hotel comes with a tropical stylish haven catering the discerning choice of young travelers and professionals. More than just an exquisite sojourn, the Sense Hotel is not only a hotel near beach but also a perfect Xanadu to celebrate life and revitalize the soul. So, if you’re looking for a hotel in Seminyak near beach but offering tranquility and coziness, think no further. Pick out Sense Hotel only.As the name implies, Sense Hotel in Seminyak will bring in ultimate experiences to every single guest as has been perfectly devised to harmonize the human senses with the surrounding environment through a comfortable stay. Modern design architecture shored up by eco-friendly concept pondering the ventilation, energysaving and the ever changing climate has turned out luxurious premises. In essence, it leads to efficiency in maintenance and operation without forfeiting the quality and convenience of this Bali hotel.Our gracious staff and excellent services extended result in a homey atmosphere that every guest looks for. In turn, this Seminyak hotel makes our mission happen, namely creating unforgettable memories that will stay in the heart of our guests long after they leave our elegant properties. Thus, it is worth becoming your preferred hotel in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sense Hotel Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense Hotel Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing