We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best place to stay in Seminyak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Ginger Suites & Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Ranked #22 of 135 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We went to Seminyak as most of the people would do when they are travelling to Bali and we had a fantastic time at Bali Ginger suites.

The design was great, the villa is similar as photos, and I would say even better when you get there for the first time…so designed and with lot of amazing deco.

The staff were super great, super warm and genuinely hospitable. We have to say that it was one of the factors which helps us to spend great holidays : Warm welcoming of the entire staff, we really felt at home.
A special thanks to Pia and Vita who were amazing.

The only reason why I would not recommend this villa is to keep it available for myself next year…!
I look forward to coming back really soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christ0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
It was great to read your review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We think our staff do an excellent job of making our guests feel welcome and at home during their stay, and we are glad you appreciated this.

We look forward to seeing you next time (and we will keep a room available just for you).

Regards, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    100
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
49
176
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The Bali Ginger Suites are located in a tiny dirty and dark back alley and are extremely difficult to find. To the south of the suites there are noisy night clubs, which you can hear until 5 am before the roosters next door start crowing. To the immediate north there is a dark, sewerage stinking road with little to offer tourists. we rarely feel unsafe in Bali but we did here walking down this street at night.
The suite we had was very average. The breakfast had little choice, was extremely small and was the worst we have ever been offered in Bali. The fridge and kitchenette area is located outside where it receives the afternoon sun, this makes it unsuitable to store food in this area.
Our room was never cleaned during our 3 day stay, nor linen changed. When we fell extremely ill during our stay no one from Bali Ginger even bothered to check on us or help us.

I would not recommend the Bali Ginger Suites to anyone. There are so many better places to choice from in cleaner more tourist friendly areas.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G-K-H-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay. It was very disappointing to hear about your experience. We will take on your feedback and make sure that wherever we can we improve our service.

After reading your comments regarding cleaning I have checked our Housekeeping Log Book, which has noted the following; "called them if they want us to clean their room but the guests always answer "not today, we don't feel like going out, we just want to rest""

On another day it notes the following; "they asked for fresh towels, face towels and a bath math twice and we delivered to the room twice and also offer if the staff can clean the room, but they said "no it's fine, we want to sleep""

In addition the Log Book records; That the staff did "call a doctor and ambulance came, ordering chicken noodles for them and send it to their room, printing their boarding pass, booked bluebird as they requested for early morning check out.."

Clearly we have let you down and I will speak with my staff about ways to better take care of the guests. However it is confusing for them as they believe that they were doing what you had asked by leaving you alone to recover. We certainly want to provide a good level of cleaning in all the rooms and we will review our processes to ensure this happens.

We provide 4 options for breakfast;
Omelette with cheese and grilled vegetables.
Granola and yoghurt with tropical fruit salad.
Croisant and jam.
Banana Pancakes with Palm Sugar, infused with vanilla pod and cinnamon.

There is a choice of any style of coffee (latte, cappuccino, espresso, plunger etc), tea or fruit juice.

Unfortunately it is not practical for us to offer a wider range of breakfasts.

Finally, my husband and I did meet you personally during your stay at Bali Ginger Suites, and remember that you seemed to be enjoying your stay. You certainly did not raise any of these concerns with us at the time, nor give us the chance to address some of these issues directly. We are committed to giving our guests the best stay in Bali that we can, and welcome the chance to help our guests when possible.

Best wishes, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Im currently staying in the 2 bedroom villa for 4 nights and its outstanding, comfortable beds and nicely furnishings. Breakfast is included, only tried the pancakes which werent that great, hopefully tomorrow will be better. in a nice quite part of seminyak but still a short walk to cafes and shops.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmas3angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks for your review and I am so glad that you are enjoying your stay.

Thanks for your feedback about the pancakes. Will check what they are doing because they should be delicious. We have also just found a recipe for palm sugar syrup infused with vanilla bean and cinnamon.

Regards, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The suite was gorgeous, the bed huge, all the linens and furnishings etc were of high quality. Our suite had a kitchenette, separate bathroom and daybed for lounging, in addition to the lounges surrounding the central pool area. Breakfast was included and they also made extra to suit our tastes at our request for a small additional charge. The staff were friendly and accommodating and couldn't do enough for us to make us comfortable. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer as it was only one night en route to Ubud. Next time we will stay longer to enjoy the peaceful vibe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neridachiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
It was a delight to read your review, and the detailed description you included about our property. We have worked hard to make sure the suites are well appointed as well as functional, and your review reflects this. We think Bali Ginger Suites provides a great mix of privacy as well as the opportunity to meet guests around the pool or cafe in a relaxed atmosphere.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Regards, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We Miss you Guys.

My Family and i spent 8 magnificent days at Bali Ginger suites. We had the 3 bedroom villa which includes the Shikumen Suite.Plenty of room for all, it sometimes felt to big. The children loved the pool and the staff, especially Breakfast. They also made new friends with some of the local children.
At times i thought my kids are having to much fun and perhaps annoying other guests, apparently this wasn't the case, as i'm told they were well behaved and i'm sure i witnessed a tear or two when we departed. Hopefully it wasn't tears of joy.
My fridge was constantly refilled with Bintang everyday, never running low and at a very reasonable price. Nothing better than a cold Beer.
The free wifi was just like being at home. Probably the best service we recieved anywhere in Bali. We stayed at Popular large family resort for another 8 days following the Ginger Suites and there Wifi was non existant compared to the Ginger Suites.
I only wish we had Lucas "Resort Driver" to take us on our trip to Ubud. I asked for a driver with good english, sence of humor and happy to muck around with the kids. This was not the case, our assigned driver never spoke unless spoken to, couldn't recommend any restaurants in Ubud,didn't understand me when i asked for a restaurant with BBQ and or good suckling pig and wasn't sure of certain areas close by i asked to be driven too. FYI, He also provided us the Transfer to the Dynasty resort and couldn't exactly find it. I ended up directing him. On our return, YES WE'LL BE BACK, if thats ok, hopefully this will be rectified.
All in all, A great time was had, many restaurants all close by to chose from and all great quality, we ate somewhere different everynight. The bike transport provided when requested was also very convenient and appreciated.
The bedding and sheets are amazing. Yes there was some club noise at night however if you were unable to sleep through it, u hadn't had a big enough day. Slept like Babies,all of us

Thank you so Much Pia, Vita and all of the staff for a memorable stay, like i mentioned earlier, "WE MISS YOU GUYS" and your a credit to Lou.

Kind Regards,
Jeff,Trudi,Max,Jessica & Jack

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, cool and clean. May still order the Sheets "Bamboo"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful and heartfelt review. The Indonesians are great with children, and it is a bit unusual for us to have family groups at Bali Ginger Suites, and our staff really enjoyed it.

Great to read that the wi-fi is operating well, as we have had problems which we have hopefully now had sorted out. We realise how important it is to our guests.

Regarding the driver, we have our own car and driver. When he is booked then we go to a contractor and book a car and driver on our guests behalf. Usually they are great, but we will take your feedback on-board and let the company know that we expect better.

Again, thanks for taking the time to write this review and include such helpful feedback and information. I am sure many people will find it quite useful.

Best wishes, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel is small and cute (not much privacy), very clean and hotel staff really great. BUT we have been lying in bed for over an hour as a nightclub nearby keeps us awake!!! (It's 1am and my mom is 60 years old, not the quiet retreat we hoped for and read about). The road was also too dark, dirty and dangerous for us to walk to the main Street tonight.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hi, and thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

While our place may not be ideal for light sleepers I checked our guests sleep quality rating following your review, and note that it is currently rated at 4.5 out of 5, as is our location.

In your review you state that it is not the "quiet retreat" you were looking for. We endeavour to accurately describe our location in all of our advertising, and in this day and age with internet feedback most of our guests have a very clear picture of what we are providing. Inner city Seminyak is a busy and vibrant location with many options for guests including access to the best clubs, restaurants and shopping in Bali, many of which are within walking distance.

There is good news regarding the road to the villa. The nearby construction is virtually complete now and we will be installing lighting as well as upgrading the entrance in the near future.

Regards, lou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

WOW this is such an amazing suite, please have a look at this online the pictures actually dont do it justice it is even more fabulous. All the modcons, but with a gorgeous asian aesthetic. We loved our bed, yep the sheets are amazing and the bed is very very comfy. The complex is small and very well laid out. We loved relaxing right outside our door on the sunloungers. We had the pool area to ourselves for the times we were there. The staff are gorgeous and very professional, we fell in love with them and our room. So many gorgeous little things, the fully stocked minibar, the large water cooler, the turn down service at night. The gorgeous little brekky delivered to your private oasis in the morning ahhhh blisss. A highlight for us was the shower, hot water and amazing water pressure we were in heaven. The only downside for us was the nightclub noise, we stayed on a weekend. I wear earplugs and it didnt really help me. Location is great, easy walk to the beach and shops. It was easy to tell the taxis that we were staying near the new Harris Hotel. If you appreciate more personal service and a gorgeous setting then please stay here it is certainly worth it. Thank you guys for a lovely end to our Bali Holiday. x

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
That is a terrific review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in The Shikumen Suite. It is very romantic and a terrific option for a honeymoon or a decadent escape.

As you say, Bali Ginger Suites is a good option for people who are wanting a bit more of a personal touch and we are glad that you appreciated the little things that we have in place to help with this. Our staff are a key to this and I will pass on your comments to them.

Best wishes, lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#20 of 135 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centra Taum Seminyak Bali
Centra Taum Seminyak Bali
#44 of 135 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#14 of 135 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali
0.5 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#40 of 135 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amadea Resort & Villas
Amadea Resort & Villas
#29 of 135 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Ginger Suites & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Ginger Suites & Villa

Property: Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Address: Jl. Drupadi II | Off Jl. Drupadi, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Ginger Suites & Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct for Best Rates. Boutique holiday accommodation in the heart of Seminyak with a difference. Luxury Suites offering 1 or 2 bedroom apartment style living, with relaxed tropical interior design close to Seminyak Beach. Bali Ginger Suites offers you the conveniences of a small resort, without the crowds, but with the personal care from our staff, 24 hours a day. The beautiful swimming pool surrounded by lush day beds in secluded courtyard make for a quiet oasis away from busy streets. All suites have king beds with quality mattresses and lush bamboo linen and are a dream to sleep in. With full housekeeping, turn-down service and very helpful staff with good English makes this a perfect option for a relaxing tropical holiday only 500 meters from Seminyak beach. All at an affordable price. There are 8 x 1 bedroom suites and a 2 bedroom luxury villa to choose from. The 1 Bedroom Balcony Suites are 2 neatly appointed rooms on the first floor, each with their own daybed and kitchenette on private balcony; funky. The 1 bedroom Poolside Suites feature a private living area with daybed, dining area and kitchenette, framed by a small lush tropical garden. These 5 stylish bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, with cathedral ceilings and a tropical style indoor/outdoor en suite; sensuous. Shikumen Suite is the most romantic 1 bedroom suite, ideal for honeymoon couples. This exclusive suite is designed to make your stay unique and memorable. It features a stunning bed in a restored 150 year old antique timber house, elegantly furnished, and featuring an antique ceramic bath set grandly to the side of the bedroom; romantic. The Poolside Terrace Suites are a great option for a small family or group of friends. Fully equipped with kitchenette and features a poolside terrace, accessed by a bridge over the pool; magical. Finally the 2 bedroom Shikumen Villa is a stunning villa with private pool and fully equipped kitchen with dining/living area overlooking the private pool. It is set in a colourful courtyard garden filled with frangipani trees, creating a great hideaway from the tropical heat. Shikumen Villa can also be combined with the Shikumen Suite to expand it to a 3 bedroom villa; indulgent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bali Ginger Suites & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing