We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay around Seminyak Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Ranked #32 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is our first experience to take private villa in Bali. The main reason was we're coming with 10 people, and we try to stay close together so decided to take Ginger Suites (and Shikumen Villas, which actually at the same place with connecting door).

To find the place, it's not that easy since it was at the back of main street, but following direction from the hotel and ask some people when close the area would do. We were welcomed and check in process is painless. We took 2 rooms in Ginger Suites, and all room in Shikumen Villas. Room in Ginger Suites is designed for couple, modern clean design, and we liked the room. Shikumen Villa is connecting with door, and there's one main suite room, with 2 additional smaller suite rooms. The main suite room in Shikumen Villa is unique due to glass door on the front. It's perfect for honeymooners but not for family or kids. We took it since by taking the whole rooms in Shikumen, it will be cheaper. 2 other rooms were perfect for us, it's relatively small but enough for 2 person.

Each room is completed with basic kitchen utensil, one refrigerator in case you still like to cook yourself. They provided tea and coffee, and breads in the morning. There's one small swimming pool, and one "pool" in Shikumen villa that never used since it's too small and only for dipping yourself in water. The bathroom/toilet is relatively small, but it's ok for us. General, it's clean and tidy since it's being serviced everyday.

The area was close to one main street "Champlung Tanduk" that has all kind of shops, restaurants, bars, ~ 200 m by walking through small road. There's one small grocery store that open 24 hr. The negative things that at night you might hear some noise from the bar close by. To go the beach is relatively far (~ 500m), but still manageable.

Room Tip: For family of four, take Shikumen villa (but not the honeymoon suite).
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icedrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindylu2u2, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

It was very interesting to read your review because it shows the different options guests have here, depending on the size of the group that is coming. With the Shikumen Villa being a private area it allows people to book an exclusive area, then add on as many bedrooms as they need.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Regards, Lou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 561 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have just stayed at Bali Ginger for my third time. I love that it's a really small hotel so it's private, and the staff know your name and are friendly and great to chat to.
The second time I stayed in one of the poolside suites which is a fronts onto the pool with large frosted glass doors so that no-one can see in. Inside is a kitchen, couch, table and chairs, small garden and doors that open to the bedroom and bathroom. It's fully self-contained so there's everything you need.
The location is great because it's on a private lane way that is just off Jalan Dhyana Pura which has lots of great restaurants and shops and is a short walk to the beach.
The first and third times I've stayed here I had one of the upstairs balcony suites which are smaller but still have everything you need.
I was on a buying trip this time and the staff were really helpful with advice and booking drivers and also carried all my boxes down the stairs at 3am for an early flight.
The only drawback with Bali Ginger is that it's close to some nightclubs so you can hear the music until late, especially on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank loochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindylu2u2, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thanks for your review. One of the things we are pleased with is that Bali Ginger Suites is attracting guests who are regular visitors to Bali, and already have a good understanding about what accommodation is like here, and choose to stay with us. We hope to see you agin soon.

Best wishes, Lou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The room where we were supposed to be checked in was on the first floor and pretty noisy from the construction area on the street. We have been shown a room on the ground floor which was around 350000idr more expensive. Since they give us a discount (after a pretty unfriendly discussion) we decided to stay in the ground floor room which was a big mistake! The bed sheets were dirty, the lights in the room are depressing dull - too dark to be able to read and too white to feel comfortable. All in all, the room feels more like a youth hostel and way too expensive for being that! But the worst thing is that it is way too loud to be able to sleep or chill - construction during the day and loud music from the disco during the night.

We discovered much better and cheaper places to stay and enjoy our time in Bali! I would not recommend this hotel since it is loud, dirty and, in my eyes, overpriced.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank freaz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindylu2u2, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

To be honest, I have been struggling to think how to respond to your review. Obviously we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do appreciate feedback and criticism and see it as a way to improve our standards.

I have decided not to go into depth in this response, and if anyone wishes to get the full story about this booking I suggest they contact me directly. However, I do wish to say is that our guest reviews so far have highlighted;

- the noise level as being acceptable for the location. While there is music from the clubs we have used noise minimisation materials throughout the sleeping areas. But we do emphasise that the location is one of the most popular destinations for vacations, and as a result may not be suitable for everyone. Please choose your accommodation carefully.

- all rooms are cleaned daily without fail, and fresh linen provided for every new guest. If any issues are reported to our Reception they can be dealt with immediately, especially when they are reported with respect and courtesy.

Regards, Lou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ginger Suites for our first and last 2 nights of our 2 week trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had one of the Balcony suites on the 2nd floor and our room was very clean. There was plenty of surface area for us to spread out and our room overlooked the swimming pool Our room had a balcony with a small kitchenette. I loved that our kitchen had a filtered water tank so we could refill water bottles during our stay.

The hotel is about a 2 block walk to one of the main drags in Seminyak and about a 5 minute walk to Seminyak beach. It was nice being slightly removed from the action and made things a lot quieter. Even being a little removed, we could still hear some noise from nearby bars. I can't imagine being any closer! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindylu2u2, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. I noticed that you are an experienced reviewer (and already have 17 helpful votes alongside this review), so it is terrific to get your experienced perspective. We are also experienced travelers and have worked hard to bring that insight into this venture, especially in details such as the free drinking water, power points, space and privacy.

We look forward to seeing you next time. Regards, Lou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at the Ginger Suites for our first and last 2 nights of our 2 week trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had one of the Balcony suites (actually we stayed in both during our stays) on the 2nd floor. The rooms were very clean, had lots of counter space to lay out our belongings and the decorations were very current. Each of these rooms has a balcony with a small kitchenette and day bed. The fridge was stocked with lots of very reasonably priced items and coffee/tea were included for free. The pool is set in the center courtyard and has 6 or 8 lounge chairs around the pool. The hotel is about a 2 block walk to one of the main drags in Seminyak and about a 5 minute walk to Seminyak beach. I actually liked the fact that the hotel was slightly removed from the main street as there is a lot of noise with motorbikes and cars (and clubs) on the busy streets, so it was perfect for us. They also were able to help us arrange for drivers to and from the airport. Great place to stay and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Balcony suite 2 has a view of the pool.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasonbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindylu2u2, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review for us. I am sure other guests will appreciate the information you have included, and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Regards, Lou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at Ginger Suites for a week in November and we loved it. The place is beautiful and the staff were very accommodating and helpful with any requests we had. Would recommend hiring a bike as it makes it a lot easier to explore as it is a 10 minute walk from the main strip of restaurants. Would recommend it to anyone who was travelling to Seminyak, and will definitely be returning there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallym_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindylu2u2, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thanks for your terrific review and for choosing to stay with us.

Hiring a bike is a good option, although there are some great options withing easy walking distance, including La Sal (Spanish Food), Kreole (delicous, with a touch of cajun cooking) and Chez Gado Gado (one of my favourites, right on the beach, Asian fusion).

We look forward to seeing you next time, regards, Lou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had looked at Bali Ginger our last trip in March, decided to book a suite for the first half of our recent trip. It is as you see on the website no hidden surprises. We travelled as a group with friends who had not been to Bali before and a couple with a you child, Bali Ginger was perfect for this. The pool is right on villa door step so parents can relax while children are asleep. There are plenty of food choices close by a must is Kreol Kitchen. The bamboo sheets are so soft. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindylu2u2, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thanks for your great review. One of the things that we try to do is describe our property accurately so that there are no hidden surprises, and we appreciate your comments regarding this. Our photos are real and accurately depict the rooms, all facilities are listed, the location is accurately described and online maps show the location etc.

We look forward to seeing you next time, regards, Lou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 147 in Seminyak
636 reviews
0.2 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#50 of 147 in Seminyak
476 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#64 of 147 in Seminyak
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#78 of 147 in Seminyak
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali
0.2 mi away
Blue Karma Hotel
Blue Karma Hotel
#21 of 147 in Seminyak
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Ginger Suites & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Ginger Suites & Villa

Address: Jl. Drupadi II | Gg Ginger, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $52 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Ginger Suites & Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct for Best Rates. Boutique holiday accommodation in the heart of Seminyak with a difference. Luxury Suites offering 1 or 2 bedroom apartment style living, with relaxed tropical interior design close to Seminyak Beach. Bali Ginger Suites offers you the conveniences of a small resort, without the crowds, but with the personal care from our staff, 24 hours a day. The beautiful swimming pool surrounded by lush day beds in secluded courtyard make for a quiet oasis away from busy streets. All suites have king beds with quality mattresses and lush bamboo linen and are a dream to sleep in. With full housekeeping, turn-down service and very helpful staff with good English makes this a perfect option for a relaxing tropical holiday only 500 meters from Seminyak beach. All at an affordable price. There are 8 x 1 bedroom suites and a 2 bedroom luxury villa to choose from. The 1 Bedroom Balcony Suites are 2 neatly appointed rooms on the first floor, each with their own daybed and kitchenette on private balcony; funky. The 1 bedroom Poolside Suites feature a private living area with daybed, dining area and kitchenette, framed by a small lush tropical garden. These 5 stylish bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, with cathedral ceilings and a tropical style indoor/outdoor en suite; sensuous. Shikumen Suite is the most romantic 1 bedroom suite, ideal for honeymoon couples. This exclusive suite is designed to make your stay unique and memorable. It features a stunning bed in a restored 150 year old antique timber house, elegantly furnished, and featuring an antique ceramic bath set grandly to the side of the bedroom; romantic. The Poolside Terrace Suites are a great option for a small family or group of friends. Fully equipped with kitchenette and features a poolside terrace, accessed by a bridge over the pool; magical. Finally the 2 bedroom Shikumen Villa is a stunning villa with private pool and fully equipped kitchen with dining/living area overlooking the private pool. It is set in a colourful courtyard garden filled with frangipani trees, creating a great hideaway from the tropical heat. Shikumen Villa can also be combined with the Shikumen Suite to expand it to a 3 bedroom villa; indulgent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Bali Ginger Suites & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing