We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Ranked #31 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome stay!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The room is nice and clean. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. The location is good walking distance to the beach about 10mins and behind there are restaurants so is convenient to get food. At night it would be dark to walk back to the suite but BGS has put lamps at the side of the path to brighten the walkway for the guests. The staffs are friendly and helpful. They are also very fast response to email reply. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queeniepf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad that you found the location convenient, and the area continues to grow; I noticed signs today for a new Thai restaurant about to open nearby.

I will pass on your positive comments to the staff. The really are a great group of people and take a bit of pride in their work. Regards, Lou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    149
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
73
258
71
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Its a decent boutique hotel, tucked back behind the main street and thus difficult for taxis to find. Rooms are nice -- particularly if you like the color red. However, the rooster next door started up at about 4am. The front desk is well aware of it, and just meekly apologizes. They said they normally have earplugs, but were out that night/morning. I wish I was able to get into Grandmas Hotel at Seminyak for half the price and a nicer room where my friends stayed.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are above the lobby and next to a neighbor with a loud rooster, so if you are a ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank civilservant77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

While we are of course sorry that a rooster woke you up, we see that as something that is not within our control. Unlike New York, the Balinese are permitted to have roosters, pigs, cows, dogs and other animals, and when we have discussed the issue with our neighbour they are genuinely bemused as to what the issue is. Apart from meekly apologising I am not sure what you expect our staff to do, but we will discuss it again with the neighbour. When available we do offer complimentary earplugs.

Unlike the larger hotels such as the one you mentioned we are boutique accommodation with only 10 rooms available. Quite often we receive guests from the larger hotels who have been disturbed by the noise of the other guests or who are looking for a bit more character and personal service. Regards, Lou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Matt and I stayed in suite #4 for 14 nights after discovering Bali Ginger Suites online. From the initial email, communication was fantastic and well organized. It was made clear to us that the balance was to be paid in cash, and upon arrival at the airport, our driver was patienty waiting (we were delayed for over an hour) Check in was efficient, 2 staff showed us to our suite,explained the A/C and safe box, waiting to ensure all was well, before leaving us to enjoy. The suite was bright, spacious, the indoor/outdoor bathroom is a real highlight- it is evident that there is thought for the environment, with the shower water being used to water the kitchen garden and the use of bamboo linen (which was lovely). It rained HEAVILY one night and I was surprised to find no water on the kitchen floor, the suites are designed well. The rooms are cleaned daily and the turn down at night was nice to come back to after adventuring around Seminyak. We asked for a DVD player at reception on our way to dinner and arrived back less than 30 mins later to find it all set up ready to go. As BGS is relatively new, taxi drivers and tour companies don't tend to know it's location- we took to mentioning 'La Sal' (a GREAT restaurant 3 min walk away) or carrying their business card, which has a map on the back-it really wasn't an issue. The pool was FUN!! ... And much needed in the heat. The suites have a fridge and mini bar- we were amazed to note that the Bintang was actually cheaper to buy here than the supermarkets!!- they really are trying to keep prices fair. The Mosquitos at this time of year can be an issue, the staff do all they can to minimize them, undertaking two insect bombs during our stay, as well as nightly sprays- provided we kept the main doors closed, it wasn't a problem. The highlight of our stay was without a doubt the staff at BGS- always smiling and willing to help in anyway possible. During our stay, we happened across an unfortunate event and I was blown away by the attentiveness, kindness and genuine helpfulness and concern of the staff, who went above and beyond- I won't forget it. The manager has done a wonderul job of building a lovely team and they do her proud. A number of other reviews mention the noise of neighboring clubs- we were aware of this from our first night, however, at no stage did it ever hinder our sleep- I am a light sleeper, but it wasn't enough to keep me awake. Overall, I can not rave enough about both the suite and the BEAUTIFUL STAFF- they truly made our stay in Bali and I would not hesitate to recommend the Bali Ginger Suites. We thank each and every one of you! X

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write such a lengthy and wonderful review. I am sure other travellers will find it useful.

I especially appreciated your comments regarding our staff. The Balinese are a wonderfully gracious people, and as you say our Manager has built a terrific team who genuinely enjoy looking after the guests. Some of the things you mention are outside of their "job description" and yet it would have made them very happy to have been able to provide you with the assistance you needed. I will certainly pass on your kind words to them.

We look forward to seeing you next time. Regards, Lou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've just returned from 10 days at Bali Ginger Suites, we had another wonderful stay with the staff being amazingly accommodating. They arranged a number of dinner reservations for us which was just so wonderful. We stayed in Suite 3 this time around and found we had the pool to ourselves the majority of the time.

March is an extremely hot time of year, with mozzies well and truly active which was our only issue, we had to spray continually to try and keep them down in numbers.

In terms of fine dinning we had two amazing lunches at La Lucciola, dinner at Mamasan which was good but we much prefer Sarong! A highlight was the dinner at Sardine, the ambiance and food fantastic!

Another great experience was cooking classes for two at the Tugu Hotel, this is a must and I can't wait to organise friends to try some of the dishes, great value just under $80.00 and you receive a beautiful gift and eat the food you have prepared.

So all in all we will be staying at Bali Ginger Suites again and would highly recommend this accommodation, great location!

Room Tip: Pick the suite around the pool as you usually have the pool all to yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review for us, it is really appreciated.

What a pity about the mosquitoes. At the moment we have increased our fogging routine to twice weekly, and we do supply insect spray and insect repellant lotion in each of the rooms. But March is a bad time of year for them as it is just after the Wet Season.

Regarding your comments on the restaurants, Bali is really developing into a foodies paradise with the number of fine restaurants that exist here.

We look forward to seeing you next time you stay in Bali. Regards, Lou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at the ginger suites with my husband, daughter and my mother. This was on our way to singaraja to see family. The first night was stayed in the family suite which was just perfect having family all together, separate rooms but joined up through kitchen and fabulous shared balcony over looking the pool. In fact you could jump into pool from this balcony.
We were welcomed with a thirst quenching ginger tea and smiling staff and rooms include a pastry dejection in the morning.
The ginger suites are located just off the main road if the hustle and bustle of seminyak and you wouldn't know it. It's quiet and very tranquil.
All the rooms are unique and have a special designers touch and very pleasing to the eye. Beautiful gardens. You just check out honey moon suite - sooo beautiful a d located in original
The place is staffed 24 hours and there are security safes in the rooms.

On the way back from singaraja we stayed again in 2 single rooms. Lovely big king size beds, flat screen tv and kitchenette and again beautifully designed.

It's a special place, I would highly recommend to family, honey mooners and people wanting something boutique and different.

Very classy. Owned and run by 2 lively x pat ozzies...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessMachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Your review was a delight to read, and I am sure it will be helpful to others looking for great accommodation in Bali. We have not specifically designed Bali Ginger Suites with families in mind as it is "inner-city" living, so it was great to read that it had worked so well for you. I will pass on your positive feedback to our staff.

We appreciate your decision to stay with us and look forward to meeting you again next time you stay with us. Regards, Lou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautifully laid out accommodation, with lovely modern furnishings and great pool in daybeds. Unfortunately there was a nightclub very close by that wanted to keep the party going until past 4am and I was unable to get a good nights sleep. So light sleepers, bring some heavy duty earplugs!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AmyL566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your review Amy.

When we opened we actually supplied complimentary earplugs for our guests, but they remained un-used so we stopped the practice. After your comment I will look into having them supplied again on request from the guests.

Regards, Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkey
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

OK, we may be fussy but we thought Semniyak was horrible....however thats not what this review is about ! The Ginger Suites was lush. We stayed in a one bedroom suite for 3 nights and really couldn't fault it at all. We met the owners who were just lovely and learning that they have a theatrical background made sense...the design, the decor, and the flamboyance of the place ! Everything about it is well thought out, well designed and well planned. Add to this a team of exceptional staff and this place is a winner. We had a specific situation, which had nothing to do with Ginger and the staff, in particular Meiki and Kadek went well out of their way, literally, to help us, always with smiles and warmth that are so welcome when one is frazzled. As we really did not think much of the surrounding area, we were quite happy to use the pool and the day beds before going for a massage and a bite to eat and we found the room very comfy, enough space to unpack and the bath ! ....., oh the bath !! such a joy ! Highly recommended and as they are a new kid on the block I am sure it will become one of those places you have to book well in advance. We loved it, just hated Semniyak

Room Tip: We had suite 5 which is the at the end but the rooms are well built and we had no noise from neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seaprincess2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou W, Owner at Bali Ginger Suites & Villa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. Very interested to read your comments regarding the location, and I appreciate the care you took in distinguishing your thoughts on the area from our accommodation.

Most of our guests love the location with the nightlife, restaurants and fashion, plus of course the vibrant atmosphere of Seminyak Beach at Sunset. If you are coming to Seminyak for a quiet tropical escape in thatched bungalows on the beach, those days have gone. You can still find that experience in places such as Amed in East Bali and Lovina in the North, or better still take a trip to nearby Lombok. Ginger Suites is more inner-city living, Bali style.

Thank you for the great comments regarding our staff, who are always happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#27 of 146 in Seminyak
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#49 of 146 in Seminyak
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#65 of 146 in Seminyak
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tijili Seminyak
Tijili Seminyak
#40 of 146 in Seminyak
402 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.2 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Ginger Suites & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Ginger Suites & Villa

Property: Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Address: Jl. Drupadi II | Gg Ginger, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#28 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Ginger Suites & Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct for Best Rates. Boutique holiday accommodation in the heart of Seminyak with a difference. Luxury Suites offering 1 or 2 bedroom apartment style living, with relaxed tropical interior design close to Seminyak Beach. Bali Ginger Suites offers you the conveniences of a small resort, without the crowds, but with the personal care from our staff, 24 hours a day. The beautiful swimming pool surrounded by lush day beds in secluded courtyard make for a quiet oasis away from busy streets. All suites have king beds with quality mattresses and lush bamboo linen and are a dream to sleep in. With full housekeeping, turn-down service and very helpful staff with good English makes this a perfect option for a relaxing tropical holiday only 500 meters from Seminyak beach. All at an affordable price. There are 8 x 1 bedroom suites and a 2 bedroom luxury villa to choose from. The 1 Bedroom Balcony Suites are 2 neatly appointed rooms on the first floor, each with their own daybed and kitchenette on private balcony; funky. The 1 bedroom Poolside Suites feature a private living area with daybed, dining area and kitchenette, framed by a small lush tropical garden. These 5 stylish bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, with cathedral ceilings and a tropical style indoor/outdoor en suite; sensuous. Shikumen Suite is the most romantic 1 bedroom suite, ideal for honeymoon couples. This exclusive suite is designed to make your stay unique and memorable. It features a stunning bed in a restored 150 year old antique timber house, elegantly furnished, and featuring an antique ceramic bath set grandly to the side of the bedroom; romantic. The Poolside Terrace Suites are a great option for a small family or group of friends. Fully equipped with kitchenette and features a poolside terrace, accessed by a bridge over the pool; magical. Finally the 2 bedroom Shikumen Villa is a stunning villa with private pool and fully equipped kitchen with dining/living area overlooking the private pool. It is set in a colourful courtyard garden filled with frangipani trees, creating a great hideaway from the tropical heat. Shikumen Villa can also be combined with the Shikumen Suite to expand it to a 3 bedroom villa; indulgent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bali Ginger Suites & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing