We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Food, Innovative Flavors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kura Kura Restaurant

Kura Kura Restaurant
Ranked #181 of 463 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Innovative Flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

When we arrived at the restaurant, we were the first ones there. Throughout the night, the place did not get filled up with more than 6 tables at a time. Perhaps that is because it is deep inside a hotel, with no sign near the road to advertise its presence.

Once inside, however, the food and service were excellent. We ordered the 9 course tasting menu at RP880,000++ each. The portions were small, and we thought we would not have been full by the end of the meal but we were. The creative combination of flavours, presentation and service were all world class.

We will definitely return, and hopefully this restaurant will get the recognition it deserves by then.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrewtyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    10
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a fabulous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 8 wonderful days staying at The Oberoi Bali.

Kura Kura, The Oberoi's fine dining restaurant was just that - the food, service and attention to detail were outstanding and not just by Bali standards.

This restaurant stacks up against 5 star restaurants in Singapore and Australia.

We both had entree and main course and my husband had dessert and at no time did we feel rushed - the time between each course was appropriate and this added to the experience as we both hate being rushed through a meal so that an establishment can reseat our table.

The little touches like an amuse bouche, a selection of bread from a trolley, a palate cleanser after our mains and a frangipani when we left were the icing on the cake.

Chef Enrico Wahl visited each table and seemed genuinely interested in whether or not we had enjoyed our meals.

Great job- keep up the good work and we will definitely be staying at The Oberoi and dining at Kura Kura again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Food & Great Experrience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

On a stormy night, we were delightfully treated, served & spoiled by the staff of the Kura Kura Restaurant & the adjoining bar. Food was of a very high standard. Comparable to any 1-3 Hatted restaurant. But the service was better than most. A little pricey for bali terms but the food & cocktails are worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dipsta86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Intimate restaurant, well-presented food, excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Located in the Oberoi, this restaurant is designed like a traditional balinese royal courtyard. With the tables well spaced out throughout the restaurant, it is one of the rare places you can have a quiet dinner in the Seminyak area while hearing the roaring ocean.
All the dishes were prepared with extreme care and attention to detail and the service was attentive yet discreet.
Must-trys are the smoke-infused salmon, pork cheek and seared scallop dishes!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fatmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I ate here in May for her birthday, then returned in November for our 10th wedding anniversary. One both occasions the meal was the highlight of our trip. The location (right on the beach) is glorious, the service wonderful, and the food is fantastic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wheatleygreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kura Kura Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kura Kura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing