We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If it wasn't so basic this would be a fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Primera Hotel Seminyak
Ranked #93 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“If it wasn't so basic this would be a fab hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was one of the very few occasions when I followed a friend's choice of hotel. He had already booked a room at this medium sized hotel in Seminyak, Bali, and I made a last-minute decision to tag along.

From the photos on the booking website, it looked pretty enticing. The exterior and interior decor looked modern, not your usual Balinese garden villa type. It cost S$64.75 per night, which for me was a good rate for a four-night stay.

The address is a choice one, right in the thick of Seminyak life. Seminyak isn't as big, developed or crowded as Kuta but I think it will soon rival it. It is easy to walk in all directions from the hotel and you will easily find food, shops, spas, bars, discos, convenience shops and so on. I even had a haircut for Rp 10,000 ($1.35).

From the airport, book a taxi at RP 70,000 (about S$10) to get to Fave Hotel. It's about a 30-min ride if there is no traffic jam.

The two-star Fave Hotel has a Bandung pink and white theme. It is clean, uncluttered and the staff - from security to check-in, house-keeping to waiting staff - are all rather polite and efficient. That's something quite rare these days.

But why two-star (not my rating, it's given by the online site where I booked my room)?

One, it is a rather noisy hotel. The corridors are not carpetted and so every footstep walking or running on the tiled flooring can be heard through the thin walls and doors. Guests who wake up early or return late at night would chatter as they walk to or from their rooms, and the voices would be amplified and echoed throughout the corridors. Their house-cleaning staff would also talk loudly in the corridors as early as 7 a.m. And if your room faces the Lime Restaurant, where each night, a duo would sing and play pop music at loudly till almost midnight, it makes sleeping a hard thing to do.

Two, the standard room is so very basic. Besides the LCD TV and a room safe, there's precious little else. No mini fridge, no hand and face towels (just two bath towels), no cupboard just a hanging rack, diluted shampoo and liquid body soap, no room slippers and no carpetting. The pluses are there's a shower stall, which sometimes floods though, very clean floors, nice firm bed, clean bed sheets and duvet and two complimentary bottles of water.

In the courtyard there's a small modern looking swimming pool.

My booking came with daily buffet breakfast. The fare is somewhat basic. There's an egg station, four kinds of hot cooked food, bread, tea and coffee, fresh cut fruits, orange drink not juice and a small salad selection. Missing are milk, which you can drink by the glass, yoghurt and cereals. The coffee and tea could be much better, especially in a country that produces tea and coffee.

Check-out time is 12 noon but a half hour extension was given when I requested for it.

The saving grace of this hotel was for me the staff. They would greet guests with a smile and place their right arm over the heart and quietly efficient. And they smile.

Room Tip: For a more quiet stay, ask for a room that doesn't face their Lime Restaurant and perhaps at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrotherDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    393
    276
    71
    51
See reviews for
90
286
229
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
208 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

The hotel is located in the very busy night life center of Seminyak, within walking distance from bars, clubs and restaurants. The rooms are pretty basic, small. The breakfast very simple. The main problem is the noise at night. If you are not partying, it is impossible to sleep until 3 or 4 in the early morning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mxmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is new/modern and very clean. I had the superior room with balcony, although I never used the balcony due to street noise. Loved the funky decor - the common areas and pool are lovely. Location is supurb - just a 5 min stroll to the shops and restaurants on the main street, and a 10 minute walk to the beach. Breakfast was good and had a lot of Asian items as well as an egg cook-to-order station, toast, and fruits. Staff was friendly and helpful. I preferred to use my own toiletries over theirs since theirs are in wall-mounted dispensers that were stingy on the dispensed amount. There is no blow dryer or water kettle in the room. The hotel provides rooms with 2 bottles of water ( glass bottles) which are replaced daily. Wifi was in-room but signal was weak so I had to move around he room from time to time to "catch a wave". Wifi in public areas was ok. There are restaurants with bars and live music close by, so music can be heard in the rooms. This didn't bother me at all since I'm used to big city noise. I would definitely stay here again - excellent value.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for four nights, was a good stay despite some minor hiccups. we had a room all the way at the end of the hotel, which pretty much cancel out noises from bars at the other end of the hotel. as many of the reviews say the walls were very thin, thus we could hear conversations of people but i guess you'll get used to it - i did anyways. my door does bang loudly when i shut it, its the mechanics of the door. if i try to shut it quietly, it doesnt lock and opens back on its own. so weird. i had to choice but to bang it shut - sorry neighbours :( becareful when u leave ur room, u want to make sure the door is locked before u leave and also when u want to sleep, make sure u bolt the door as my door did unlock once during the night but the bolt prevented it from opening. like i said, the mechanics of the door is weird. hmm.

i had some of my stuff confiscated at the airport and was happy to see they provided a plentiful amount of bathgel and shampoo in a dispenser, but when i used it, it was so diluted, the soap did not even lather, better off buying toiletries at the nearby minimart down the road. they also provided drinking water in a glass bottle which comes with a metal cap, we didnt have a bottle opener, so we couldnt open it. we could have called to asked for one but never got around to it lol. i think they save alot of money on free water as probably most guests cant be bothered to open it either and plus its glass, too heavy to carry around if u were to bring it out.

wifi was free and we had good connectivity in our room but it was bad at the dining area downstairs, which was weird cos my other friends had bad reception in their room but good at the dining area. its not consistent so u have to be wary about choosing the rooms if wifi is important to you.

the bed was really comfortable, the tv channels were plentiful, the ambience of the room was okay - pink isnt my favourite colour, i felt like i was living in a princess-y room haha but got used to it after awhile.

service was great, all the staff were friendly, everyone greeted us with a smile. i asked for a hairdryer everyday and it came on time. called for an iron+board, which also came on time. room service was good, altho the fries were too salty. the only thing that bothered me was i had to pay for the floor mat which they claimed had stains which they couldnt remove (i didnt check if previously there were already stains on the mat or not) but i couldnt be bothered to argue cos anyway i didnt check so perhaps you could be weary about this. check all the stuff incase they charge you for the item.

the location is great - taxis are abundant outside the hotel and its walking distance to alot of eateries, bars&clubs, shopping outlets, massage parlours and the 66beach - the sunset was gorgeous! worth the 10min walk (walk towards grandma's - turn right when u exit the hotel)

overall was a good stay. its a relatively new hotel so its quite clean. choose this hotel if u want an affordable, comfortable stay in seminyak.

Room Tip: choose rooms on the right side of the hotel (when u exit the lift, turn right) as i think its less n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenixgyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Spent 7 nights here. It is a budget hotel, but the service, location and rooms were very good! Because some reviews here said the hotel can be very noisy, we asked for 2 rooms in the more quiet area of the hotel! We did get some good sleep there! The location is super! Near the bars, restaurant and gay area and a 10 minute walk to the beach. The rooms were okay, not too small and very clean. The staff is superb, very friendly! Would recommend this hotel, but be sure you will ask for a room in the more quiet area of the hotel!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

this is new hotel open since Nov 2011. small room but okay for us. it's on the main road with the traffic if you want something quiet ask for the room in the back building upper floor. nice staff and helpful. we get a good rate as they have promotion so don't forget to ask if they have any promotion when you stay. Nice breakfast as standard international and Bali food. the pool locates right next to restaurant for breakfast and we can see guests swim at breakfast time. another restaurant is right on street and you can see the traffic. good for short stay if you like modern, trendy, hip, city hotel style.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_noi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed 1 night here and it was very well located within the Seminyak area, only 5 minutes from Made's Warung and other happening spots. Rate was OK for a hotel its class.
However, the ceilings and walls were so thin I could hear what my neighbors were doing (including a certain couple doing "nocturnal activities" upstairs - lets just say I could hear quite abit of the "action"!) . I could also hear kids running around and that was incredibly irritating. Room was abit small, almost claustrophobic but fixtures and furniture were brand new. No breakfast - then again food is really not an issue with loads of great places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms facing the main road as it can get pretty noisy at night (clubs nearby)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.5 mi away
favehotel Sunset Seminyak
favehotel Sunset Seminyak
#52 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
#71 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.4 mi away
favehotel Umalas
favehotel Umalas
#79 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Alea Hotel Seminyak
The Alea Hotel Seminyak
#88 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.3 mi away
MaxoneHotels.com @ Seminyak
MaxoneHotels.com @ Seminyak
#114 of 143 in Seminyak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sense Sunset Seminyak
Sense Sunset Seminyak
#109 of 143 in Seminyak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primera Hotel Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primera Hotel Seminyak

Property: Primera Hotel Seminyak
Address: Jl. Abimanyu (Dhyana Pura) no. 9A, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia (Formerly favehotel Seminyak)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Seminyak
#67 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Primera Hotel Seminyak 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Primera Hotel Seminyak (formerly known as favehotel Seminyak) is located in the heart of fashionable Seminyak and is ideal for visitors to Bali looking for a great select service hotel in the best location on the island.The super clean and functional rooms offer amenities, also feature 'easy to use' electronic security key card systems and in-room safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Primera Hotel Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primera Hotel Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing