We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect haven for 4”
Review of Villa Alice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Alice
Ranked #107 of 431 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Villa Alice was perfect for a holiday away with our friends. The villa is spacious and well laid out. The staff are accommodating and check in regularly without being intrusive. Coming home to the tranquility of the villa after a day of Seminyak hustle and bustle was relaxing. The location makes it easy to pop out to re-stock the fridge, and it's close to beachside restaurants. Lots of places do home delivery and take-away too. If you are travelling as two couples or a family of 4 would recommend Villa Alice 2 - or if you have a larger group you could always book Alice 1 and Alice 2. Happy travels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 51 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in the two-bedroom Villa Alice 2 for a week with two good mates. Staff (led by Made) were friendly and accommodating, the modern open-air villa is much bigger than it appears on the website (pretty well equipped with big open kitchen, new fridge, giant TV and TVs/DVDs in the bedrooms - although main sound system could do with upgrade) - and the pool had a great cabana and good shade, a tick after hot April days shopping around Seminyak. The gigantic outdoor bathrooms are best we've seen on our fourth Bali villa holiday, and villa's quiet location - end of private lane two minutes walk from Jl Oberoi (a few villas behind Ultimo) - is handy. Easy stroll to Grocer and Grind for coffee, La Lucciola for beachside breakfast or Chandi/Cafe Bali for dinner. Food in the villa was good, but too many better options not to head out. In short, would certainly recommend to friends/family. Made et al, thanks for a relaxing break.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank NatJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I chanced upon Villa Alice right before confirming another villa we shortlisted. They had only 11 reviews back then but after communicating with the villa manager directly, I felt assured to proceed with my booking through an agent. We travelled with our 3yo in Villa 1.

It's not a luxurious villa with grand reception area (it didn't even have one cos there're only 2 villas) and water features etc. But the simple and contemporary design of the villa was what I was looking for. Overall a very pleasant stay. Reason why it didn't get "Excellent" from me was because of the cranky hot water shower which affected my child (see below). Sharing some comments/feedback below.

Villa compound:
+ Very well-maintained & neat garden
+ Wonderful free-form pool with a generous shallow area for kid's waterplay (key reason why I chose this villa)
+ Gazebo added a nice touch though we didn't use it much
- Concrete slabs lining the garden grounds were too slippery when wet though; had a fall
- Some form of shade at the shallow end of pool would be good since gazebo doesn't provide any shade for the pool (Villa 2 had a pool umbrella)

Villa interior:
+ Very spacious rooms, living and dining areas and bathrooms
+ I like it that there're plants in living/dining area but they're shut behind glass doors. Meaning, no extra mosquities & bugs indoors.
+ Furniture & appliances were still quite new
+ Mosquitoes, yes, but not as rampant as I'd imagined
- Ants swamped the cakes we bought for our kid when we left the bag on kitchen top...
- Room doors were a tad too squeaky
- Floors were however very sticky for some reasons, making our first day very uncomfy. We had to buy slippers to wear indoors thereafter.
- Mosquito coils will be good if provided by default in bathrooms too
- Curtains in living area would be better off replaced with roll-up blinds if purpose is for shade; flying too much

Villa amenities:
- Kitchen top, napkins, linens were stained & didn't encourage usage...table napkins they use for breakfast is especially bad - oughta change
- Hot water for shower was cranky; big demerit point on this one because my young child had to shower in cold water most part (he might have caught his cold from this), especially bad when wind was blowing at the same time in the open bathroom
- Hand shower holder needs repair...kitchen tap looked very worn
- Flushing system didn't work everytime too (and I'm not referring to consecutive flush)
- WiFi was bad the first day but Mr Made (incharge of villa) got help to have it sorted somewhat the next day

Villa staff:
+ Mr Made was great - always helpful and patient
+ Other villa staff were nice too

Communications:
+ Very prompt & helpful responses from both the villa manager (Stefania) & Kadek from Individual Bali; some hiccups on payment but amicably sorted
+ No problem with Mr Made nor the drivers arranged by agent

Meals:
+ American bkfast with any types of eggs, pancakes, toasts & generous fruit platter
- Expect same fare everyday...but I guess we'd usually buy back some stuff for breakfast when we're out
+ Easy to order in (though there're lots of restaurants a short walk out); took just about 30-45min to be delivered

Surroundings:
+ Very inconspicuous lane leading to villa but exclusive in a sense
+/- Short walk out to streets with restaurants & Seminyak Square but not very "walkable" roads for travellors with young kids like us
- Need transport to get to nearby supermarkets eg. Carrefour
- Nothing much to do around the area for us since we're not after beaches (kinda expected that which explains a nice pool villa is important for us to stay-in most of the time)

Room Tip: both villas are lovely, depending on your preference and travelling group
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in Villa Alice 1 towards the end of February 2013. Everything we organised in advance was ready (pool fence, cot, high chair etc) - Very spacious living area and bedrooms. The length of the garden was great for the kids to run around in, and the big shallow end of the pool was perfect fof the kids to splash in. The staff were all exceptionally kind, nice and helpfull. As per previous reviews, the breakfast was just great, and yes, the omlettes are just divine! Laundry service very cheap and fast. Location wise, this is just the best area in Seminyak, close to everything. Some fixtures and fittings are starting to wear a bit and are in need of some love, but dont let this put you off. Compared to some other villas nearby, Villa Alice has a lot to offer at a very competitive price. Airport pick up was all good and efficient. We will definately be staying here again. Note full payment required in advance - little bit unnerving, but getting more and more common for Villas, and in hindsight it worked for us!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

2 bedroom privately owned villa with a pool, chef for breakfast, 24 hour friendly staff. Very clean, spacious, Next to the main street in Seminyak.Lots of botique shopping nearby. Great location. Cheap laundy service. Massages are cheaper out on the street than through the service they offer. Will definately stay there when we visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Villa Alice 1 at the start of December 2012. We were 2 couples both with small children (16 months and 13months). The villa was excellent for us and suited our needs. We organised a pool fence through the villa before we arrived which did not spoil the experience. Rooms and living area were massive and it was also nice to have a grassed area around the pool. Service was first class. Breakfast was good (omlettes excellent). The Villa was also quite convenient in the heart of Seminyak. Probably only thing that the villa lacks was a "family" toilet as both bathrooms were through the bedrooms. A great holiday

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having recently stayed at Villa Alice with a group of 4 friends, I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a place to stay with mates. Everything was well set out, 2 separate rooms with private (large) ensuites. The pool area was incredibly spacious and we enjoyed full sun from morning to night. The staff really make this place; so friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is made for you every morning as well as any incidental requests taken care of; eg. our shower head was playing up and was replaced within a couple of hours of mentioning it to staff. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and amenities. You will not be disappointed with Villa Alice! ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,574 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 148 in Seminyak
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peppers Seminyak
Peppers Seminyak
#29 of 148 in Seminyak
826 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#59 of 148 in Seminyak
1,919 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#12 of 148 in Seminyak
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Alice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alice

Address: Jalan Mertasari, Seminyak 8036, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 431 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $292 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
n the heart of Seminyak close the best restaurant in Bali as L'Ultimo. La Trattoria, Chandi, Cafe Bali, La Lucciola and famous places as Kudeta, Potato Head, Living Room, Hu'u Bar, Mint. Close to wonderful beach of Seminyak famous for its waves and one of the best world sunset. Close to district shopping of Jalan Oberoi, Jalan Seminyak and Jalan Legian. Rent car and motorbike available (extra cost). Delivery food available (extra cost). In Villa Massage available (extra cost). Tours to Ubud, Tanan Lot, Umalas, Lovina, Kintamani, Gili Islands available (extra cost). Free transport from/to airportVilla Alice is a complex of two villas with a common area for staff and parking. Each one villa has 2 bedrooms with ensuite open air bathroom, large living room with american kitchen, big garden with private pool. Villa 2 is 210 sqm on a land of around 600 sqm. Each one villa is fully equipped and 5 staff people work there during the day. Security served all night. Very difficult to find new building (2011) in Seminyak area with big garden, big bedrooms, big living. Breakfast is served very morning at time of guest wake up. Available private chef for lunch or dinner or barbecue (extra cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Alice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Alice Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing