We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”
Review of Blue Karma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Karma Hotel
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was really looking foward to staying at this hotel, which, by my standards, is quite expensive. First impressions are good: the pool area is lovely, the gardens are well maintained and the entries to rooms and villas are intriguing - carvings and statues everywhere. And then there's the actual room. Kitchy, uninspired art work, curtains hung on the most basic of wires and old fashioned hooks, a balcony which is so small that to get the door open is nearly impossible because the door whacks into the lounger. The whole brushed/raw cement look is very modern I know, but it doesn't make the place feel warm or inviting. The bathroom was well ventilated and lit though, and that's rare in Bali.
The room cleaning service was a bit hit and miss and you never knew when they were going to do it, and what was going to be forgotten that day. There's an electrical switch which is unmarked and they must have turned it off - it was for the fridge. Didn't they notice the wet spot in front of the fridge and the water inside it? The toiletry items I used on the first day were never replaced and sometimes I had all my towels, other times not. Their English was very poor so it was a bit awkward asking for anything.
Sleep quality was poor. The room was NOISY. Dogs in neighboring yards barked all night, and most of the day. 'Disco' noise and traffic noise was audible every night. I could hear the people next door showering and...
Front of house staff and bar/restaurant staff were friendly and the breakfast and menu were good. It's pleasant by the pool if you can get a lounger. I hate it when people leave their towels on chairs and then go away for hours on end and I think the staff should do something about this when furniture availability is at a premium.
On the whole it would take very little to make this place great. The noise issue too could be solved with some insulation in the rooms. A bit of training for staff would help a lot.
On the whole I enjoyed my stay but I don't think I would go back. There are better value hotels which feel friendlier and more inviting. And are quieter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to read you have enjoyed our team and the service offered. We are very sorry for the discrepancies in our housekeeping department and have shared this information with our team for further developments. It is true that Semyniak is a busy vibrant center also including wonderful local communities around us which also gives the area a great cultural feel. We trust in having the chance of another visit in the future during a quieter period of the year. Warmest regards from our entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    165
    32
    5
    5
See reviews for
117
342
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Was REALLY looking forward to this hotel based on reviews, but felt the overall experience was lacking due to some odd contradictions that come into play with this place.

First is location - you have to really be on the lookout for the small Gang Bemo (side-street) where it is located. Not many taxi drivers have heard of it. IF you know Seminyak then OK you can help direct the driver, but for a first time visitor this may be a problem. The main road and the nearest side-street do have quite large blue signs, so be on the lookout for those.

Upon arrival the hotel is visually stunning. A great reception, leading out to the fabulous pool area. The staff are polite and attentive - in 5 days we never saw any evidence that a couple of other reviews mentioned of problems with staff.

The rooms are very good - although the wall art choice is poor and killed the theme dead (a hobby of the owners apparently?). The overall lighting is really good - probably the best I've seen anywhere in Bali (true of the rest of the resort too - the designer clearly had an LED & lighting fetish, and it works well throughout).

The bathroom is just a plain brushed concrete finish on floors & walls/ceiling that I know others haven't liked. I can see what the designers have gone for with this, but I can also see why some people wouldn't like it! It can be a bit oppressive - especially when its all wet from the wet-room style open shower.

The toiletries were well provided for and re-stocked as needed, and the big mirror with great LED surround-lights was very useful.

Out toilet bowl was not securely fastened to the floor, so having a perch was an unnecessarily exciting experience! The bathroom door also lost the pin to one of its hinges in the middle of one night, which we heard drop heavily onto the floor with some concern (but the door stayed in place thankfully).

For some reason the bathroom window is open to the elements (in the suite rooms at least - I know the villas have fully outdoor shower rooms), so it will be hot/humid in there as the weather dictates. To cool it you need to leave the door open to the bedroom, and that risks mossies getting through into the main bedroom. I'm not sure what they are trying to achieve with this.

Our room had a small balcony that was unusable as the door had a damaged handle, and the crammed-in furniture on the balcony made opening the door near-impossible.

The main bedroom has a high vaulted ceiling of exposed brushwood/thatch. This may be one of the reasons the room is so noisy - this material provides very little sound insulation.

Several others have mentioned the noise issue, and I am VERY thankful I came with a few sets of earplugs, or I think I may have struggled to sleep at all. The nearby screeching of cockerels goes on through most of the night and day, as does the rumble and beeping of traffic. The hotel is also close enough to the bars of Seminyak's Jalan Camplung Tanduk to clearly hear the thumping music and screeching microphone of the post 10-pm lady-boy shows (not every night to be fair, but on occasion). We may have got this a bit worse as we were on one of the upper-level suite rooms. Maybe the lower rooms with a slab ceiling or private villa may be a bit better?

My other BIG negative was the number of kids in the resort. The hotel & pool area is just not big enough to provide any personal space or quiet areas, and one morning there was 7 under 6 yrs kids running/screeching/jumping in the pool. This destroys and sense that you are in a peaceful retreat! Again ear protection - in the form of a very loud MP3 player was the only way I got through it! I would imagine with the number of multi-bedroom villas on the complex the issue of larger families would be an ongoing one. If I were to come back again, I'd go for a villa with a private garden/pool to ensure a bit of daytime peace.

Breakfast was OK but a little basic. just a cooked-for-you egg choice & 2 rashers of salty bacon - and that's it for hot food! On 2 days we were offered crepes - but I couldn't see why that can't be offered every day? The buffet items were pretty drab looking, and I never bothered much with them. I tried the muesli a couple of times, but they load it with very large pieces of dried pear/apple that is difficult to chew, so I gave up. The rest of it is dries cakes and some fresh fruit slices, and a toaster that takes a long time to do any toasting - so my bread-free diet started here!

On the good side the locations is very handy - you can walk to dozens of great shops & restaurants from here, and there is easy access to the new bypass/underpass road to get to the airport or the Bali Galleria Mall, and round to Seminyak square.

The staff were all wonderful and very helpful, and the standard of rooms service great.
The poolside sunbeds are really comfy & sturdy, and the towels provided were large and soft.

Overall an OK experience, but I might look for somewhere a bit quieter next time (but that's a personal choice, and nothing really that is 'wrong' with the hotel - it's just an indication of how hectic Kuta/Seminyak is getting now. Families & youngsters may not mind this so much - I'm just getting old and grumpy!)

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms with the thatched roof may provide less insulation from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boff_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Selamat Siang, Thank you for your review and we are all delighted to hear of your great feedback on our team and the services offered. We do have a different offering in terms of room, facilities and decoration and trust you will give one of our other room a try on a future visit, our private pool villas are indeed wonderful choices. We have shared your observations with our team and trust in hosting you next time. Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed with our older teenagers in a two-bedroom villa for four nights. Despite its location not far from main roads, BK is a quiet oasis of green, stylish calm. The only “noise” we experienced was the next-door rooster in the morning and gamelan group practicing next door – all lovely Balinese sounds. We enjoyed the bathroom that opened to the sky at the shower end. The villas are well appointed, with comfortable beds and furniture. We had a private courtyard and plunge pool, but access to the larger common pool and garden provides more space in which to relax. Because this is a smaller hotel, you never have to fight for a poolside chair/lounge. As other reviewers have noted the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is lovely, with made to order juices, coffee and eggs, as well as a fresh assortment of fruits, toast, pastries etc. We enjoyed a lovely lunch one day overlooking the garden and pool. The location offers easy access to shops, the Bintang supermarket, ATMs etc, and you can walk to the beach in about 10 minutes. It is about a 20 minute walk up to the Seminyak Square area, which has many shops and restaurants. We often walked one way and caught a taxi back. If we return to Seminyak, this is where we would stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByronQuartet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Selamat Siang and Fabulous Thanks to you both and the children. It was a real pleasure welcoming you and you have very much summarised the essence of Blue Karma, a charming cosy boutique hotel in the middle of vibrant cultural Semyniak. Pleasure having you and we hope you will return soon - Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Wa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a fabulous 5night stay at the Blue Karma. From the moment we arrived until we departed, the staff did everything within their power to please.
The room was large and comfortable with modern fixtures and fittings. The en-suite was also roomy with good lighting & was kept immaculately clean and refreshed daily with toiletries and bottled water. There are coffee/tea making facilites in the rooms but we did not use this as there was no creamer or milk provided so the tea or coffee would have to be taken black.
We sampled the hotels restaurant on a couple of occasions and found the restaurant food to be excellent and reasonably priced although the breakfast was quite ordinary and on occasion dissapointing in choices.
The pool area and gardens are beautiful even at night!
Everything about and around the hotel is maintained to a high standard.
If someone could kill the Cockerels that continuously crow then this hotel would be perfect but then again...the Cockerels are not the hotels fault.
I would definately recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to return.
Many thanks to all the staff at the Blue Karma for making our stay a very enjoyable one!

Room Tip: We viewed suites and villas...all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaligirlPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Selamat Pagi, How fabulous of you to share such feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed the outstanding service we live by at Blue Karma as well as our food offerings at the restaurant. We look forward to having you back for longer even and let you experience our hospitality even more - See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Location of hotel was great, we spent our first and last night here, while most of our stay was at Alila Villas Uluwatu which was a fantastic hotel!

Our first night, we had a lower level room, next to the pool, mosquitoes were bad here, get the net out and ready provided there aren't any trapped inside. Located close to a local supermarket Bin Tang where you can everything including buzz off!!

The 2nd time we stayed there on our return trip, we had an upper villa on the west side, man the rooster were annoying in the morning! So we couldn't really sleep in!

For a place to stay in transit, it's not to bad, but it all depends on the room you get!

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are a lot better, away from the roosters and main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay the room was fantastic loved the decor and the pool was beautiful. The outdoor bathroom was spacious and a joy to use. The breakfast were fantastic in a lovely garden setting . The staff were helpful and very friendly could not fault the experience. Looking at booking again for Christmas

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aguiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aguiggy, Terima Kasih - Great to read of your positive experience with us and that we will have the chance of hosting you over Christmas - Be quick as limited availability. See you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place is in a quiet location of Seminyak so at least you get some sleep at night. It is a small friendly run business, they have hotel buggy to take you to the beach. Make sure you have mosquito coils burning in the out door bathroom as you will be eaten by them. I did not mind the out door bathroom, it was an experience in itself to shower in the rain. The breakfast they give you in the morning is a good start to your day. I personally found the colors of the room to be a bit depressing, and cold. I personally did not enjoy the over all Seminyak as I found it to bee too crazy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Public Relations Manager at Blue Karma Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you slept well and that we have created a little quiet heaven in the busy crowded center of Semyniak. The outdoor bathrooms are indeed a great experience in a tropical country. We hope we can let you experience our other villas in the future. Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
0.3 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#27 of 146 in Seminyak
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 146 in Seminyak
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#17 of 146 in Seminyak
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Karma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Karma Hotel

Property: Blue Karma Hotel
Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak, Gang Bima no. 2, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#22 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#22 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Karma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Karma is a lifestyle resort in the heart of Bali activities and happenings – Seminyak. The resort is within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and to the beach. Artistic creativity, comfort, ethnic design and flourishing garden have come together to make a vacation paradise in Blue Karma.You will get unique hotel experience and personalized concierge service. Blue Karma welcomes to pamper yourself in Slimming center and Spa, in Restaurant and Lounge Bar enjoy tasteful delights with designer menu options in raw food, listen to mellifluent sounds at live music events and experience special holistic programs as well as creative workshops and authentic trips to discover Bali.This is the lifestyle you deserve, and we are happy to share our passion and curiosity to life with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Karma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Karma Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing