We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rude staff”
Review of Guess House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guess House Hostel
Ranked #317 of 415 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extremely rude staff”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Guess house hostel

I needed a place to stay for one night, a cheap place as my credit card was stolen and I didn't have a lot of cash on me. I found guess house online and went over to see it.
Getting there I asked to see the room before paying, the receptionist said this was not possible (why?).
I was tired after a long day and didn't want to search for another place so I payed, she charged me an extra security deposit of 200,000 rupia. This made nonsense to me! When I asked about it she was rude, with no explanation what so ever.
I've been traveling for almost 5 months and have never encountered such an unfriendly, unhelpful place.
After checking in I asked if there was a bottom bunk. At this point she swore at me in Balinese, I know this because my Indonesian friend was standing right next to me.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuessHouse, Manager at Guess House Hostel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize about your not convenience stay at our hostel my be we want to explain after we check to detail this issue. Maybe our we should have staff not explained in detail the purpose of the existence of the security deposit. at the meaning is That where the security deposit will be refunded when guests check out. Where the Security is just to guarantee the security deposit only. And also it is applicable to all guests and is the discretion of each of the hostels that can not be equated with other hostels in other countries, As far away we know the other guest as we are already know about this policy by other guests and so far no problems. Maybe we do not know the staff just a personal problem that you lose your wallet, and they just run the procedure
.....

I hope this not big issue, and hope u can back and stay with us again with good condition.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    3
    8
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
2
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

At last a nice place to stay in Bali.After a week in Bali at 2 other very bad Hostels this was a nice change.The friendly staff and clean rooms were a refreshing change from my other 2 very disappointing choices.I really enjoyed the atmosphere and being able to meet other travelers.Its a bit isolated from central Kuta but because you can meet other people it was easy to share a taxi so the cost was so small.Everything was as described on the website and the staff were so helpful.A very nice stay in an exceptionally clean hostel and I will come back before I leave Bali.Well recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Good backpackers hostel supported by friendly staff. Well-known internationally for backpackers and received several internet hotel / travel website rewards since its opened. Reasonable price per bed per day, especially considering that there is only a few good quality backpackers hostel in Bali. For a limited space, it is still considered a great place for backpackers. Common area are utilized properly and just by hanging out there for an hour or so, you'll make friends and will easily exchange information.

Room Tip: Just follow the direction from its friendly staff =D
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank difotodito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean as is the common area. No complaints there. It's a short walk to restaurants, warungs, and the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Things that need improvement. No wifi in the rooms. That's unacceptable in this day and age. Also the room fees and everything else seemed to be controlled by the computer or by somebody not on site. We wanted to stay an extra night and they quoted us a price three times higher than we paid for the previous three. We complained a little and the guy at the counter said he has to go by the prices on the computer and it's out of his hands.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osakachero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I booked 4 nights here through hostel bookers, however was struck with a 24 hour bug the night before and was bed bound in kuta so couldn't make it to seminyak. I emailed the hostel straight away, giving over 24 hours
notice to re sell the bed for the night and I would be there the next day. One of my friends was still going there that night and would pay it all upfront for us both. However they still made me pay for the night I couldn't make. I would accept this, as it is in the conditions, however the hostel was not full at all. 4 people showed up the next day and got a bed, so I wasn't robbing them of a bed.I also barely got any replies from my emails, I had to email twice to get a response and when I did, the manager Tina, just copied and pasted the terms and conditions... It's just not very nice..

I've also been travelling for 3 months and stayed in many hostels. Things don't always go to plan and when I've had to cancel before, all other hostels have been much more sympathetic to changes and a bit more 'human'. I've never had to pay for a night I couldn't make in any other hostel I've stayed at.

On top of this, the room was FREEZING. Someone from the dorm went to reception at 4am but no one was downstairs. I had to come down again at 7am to get someone to turn the air con off. My glasses had frosted over, that was how cold it was...

I've also woken to a load of bites on me, as has my friend.

Plus wifi only works in the common area and it's still intermittent there.

Overall, my memories of good hostels are because of the staff working there and that's what makes me want to go back. although some of them are nice, the manager has really let this hostel down for the rest of them.

Won't be staying here again and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aammyy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuessHouse, at Guess House Hostel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Guest know about all terms and condition booking at web booking, " all cancellation must do it before 3 day before arrival any cancellation do it after past 3 days follow the system and hostel policy". About Air condition freezer, we always set with temperature 24-25•C this normal because we can not provide every bed with remote all room share with other traveller, so can not request every guest must accept by own request.

Thanks & Regards,

Guess House Hostel.
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seminyak hotels

London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Clean, good location and great staff! The place was perfect and reasonably priced. Mila and Tina are just delightful and their English is very good so anything you need ask them! Situated next to all the restaurants and bars too but not a noisy location. Will be going back there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuessHouse, at Guess House Hostel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Guest know about all terms and condition booking at web booking, " all cancellation must do it before 3 day before arrival any cancellation do it after past 3 days follow the system and hostel policy". About Air condition freezer, we always set with temperature 24-25•C this normal because we can not provide every bed with remote all room share with other traveller, so can not request every guest must accept by own request. I hope she must be responsibility with all she

Thanks & Regards,

Guess House Hostel.
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hostel had character. I always felt like I was in a cozy home. I got to know both the receptionist really well and every morning they both had a sunshine smile. It was definitely comfortable and the common room is great for meeting other travellers!

Close to everything! local restaurant, cafe, convenient store, money exchange, boutique clothing stores and a massage can all be experienced opposite the hostel. Next to Guess house is also another massage place and also a travel agency - speak to 'Wayan' his pretty cool and can arrange anything! Scooters can be hired for $5 a day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sethutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuessHouse, Owner at Guess House Hostel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Guest know about all terms and condition booking at web booking," all cancellation must do it before 3 day before arrival any cancellation do it after past 3 days follow the system and hostel policy". And we management already give explain and condition also she booking under she name for 2 people and 4 Night and she not accept with this condition.

About Air condition she comment freezer, we always set with temperature 24-25•C this normal because we can not provide every guest with remote control, We are hostel with rate price start around 10 USD( Dynamic rate) all room share with other traveller not sale private room. I think she know with condition at hostel around the world. So sorry we can not request every guest( depend with request) I hope she must be responsibility with all booking she make it.

Thanks & Regards,

Guess House Hostel.
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.3 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#104 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melasti Kuta Bungalows and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Karthi
Hotel Karthi
#146 of 251 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#40 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#76 of 251 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kutabex Beach Front Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guess House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guess House Hostel

Property: Guess House Hostel
Address: 22 Petitenget Street, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 415 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guess House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing modern design and traditional Balinese elements, Guess House Hostel offers affordable dormitory accommodations in Petitenget. Free coffee and tea are available all-day, as well as free internet usage at the computer corner.The air conditioned dormitory rooms come with wooden-frame bunk beds and personal electric power points. The shared bathroom comes with free shower gel. Hairdryers and individual reading lights are available upon request.Guess House Hostel is a 15-minute walk from Petitenget Beach and a 10-minute drive from nightlife and restaurants at Seminyak. It is within a 25-minute drive from Tanah Lot Beach and Ngurah Rai International Airport.The common lounge area is equipped with a flat-screen TV, DVD player and radio. Guests can also make use of the shared pantry, which has a microwave, toaster and fridge.Guess House Cafe serves a daily breakfast, as well as local beers and Indonesian cuisine. Pastries and tea are also offered.The hostel provides baggage storage and a tour desk. Car and motorbike rentals can also be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guess House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guess House Hostel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing