We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't put much stock in placing a reservation”
Review of La Plancha

La Plancha
Ranked #103 of 536 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: on the beach between Jl. Dhyanapura & 66 road.vibrant spanish beach bar & restaurant named after a traditional spanish way of cooking 'la plancha'traditional, simple, unpretentious, fresh spanish food & comfortable colourful beanbags to enjoy a drink & watch the amazing bali sunsets.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't put much stock in placing a reservation”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Pretty much always crowded in the evenings, we tried eating there one night but weren't able to get a spot after waiting for a while. We called back the next morning to get a reservation for one of the beanbag chairs out on the beach and showed up early for our reservation but when we got there they said nothing was available. They ended up leading us upstairs where we just waited until someone got up.

That basically seemed to be the strategy, show up and hover until you can steal a spot and then flag down one of the over-worked waitstaff. They'll take reservations but in our experience it wasn't worth much.

The food was just decent maybe slightly better than average but the atmosphere is great and it's a fun looking place that's usually got some piped in music and a good view of the sunset.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    838
    291
    89
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great for drinks”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

great spot for sunset drinks but too busy & loud for dinner. We went here twice with plans to stay for dinner but were told both times by staff that our food would take a long time due to so many customers. So can't comment on the actual food but lovely setting for some drinks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank quadeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to lose your wallet”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

No doubt this place is great with perfect beach ambiance especially during sunset. The colorful bean bags are so comfy to lie down for stars and moon gazing. It is so exhilarating you could lose yourself, and yes, your wallet too. My wallet may have missed my purse after I paid for our drinks. My sister and I left for our hotel on foot then I realized my wallet was missing. We walked right back and saw that our bean bags were gone but the ashtray full of our peanut husks were still on the table. The manager assured us 100% that his hired help are honest but did not lift his finger to ask who cleaned our space. That was it. We went back the next day to try our luck for the return of my missing wallet, of course, no luck. Caveat? Lose yourself to fun and excitement but hold on to your wallet until you leave.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEACH SUNSET PARADISE”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

ABSOLUTLEY LOVE THIS PLACE!!! never come to Bali without coming here for our hit of sunset!! HOWEVER the spanish DJ needs to loose the awfull spanish music and just stick to the chilled beats!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALAIN74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Every visitor to Bali should visit here.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great place. If we hadn't met this guy called Dallas we would probably not have visited.

Atmosphere was wonderful, food was great, the sunset was awesome, beer cold, the staff friendly and always there when you need them.

Only complaint!! Toilets needed more regular attention.

A must go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Plancha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing