We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Stunning”
other travelers have booked this property
Feel at Home at Villa Jumah
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feel at Home at Villa Jumah
Looking back at house from Pool Area Spacious Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Feel at Home at Villa Jumah
Looking back at house from Pool Area
Spacious Living Room
Enjoy a cocktail or dine in this outside area
Tropical Diniing
Traditional House at Night
Warm Welcome inside Front Gate
Upstairs Lounge Area for  TV,  playstation, or just 'hanging out'! or just to relax
Cocktail area from another angle
Comfortable Living Room for the whole family
Romantic Room (giant bedroom upstairs)
Romantic Room (Upstairs bedroom)
Granny's Bedroom (cosiest bedroom)
Temple Bedroom
Garden Bedroom (separate to main house)
Buddha watching over the Villa
Artwork in Villa Jumah
Temple Room Bathroom
Bathroom Semi/Outside
Stroll to the beach for sunset and cocktail
Villa Jumah's Map
Temple Bedroom
Granny's Bedroom
Temple Bedroom
Garden Bedroom
Garden view looking back to Temple Room
Our Buddha overlooking the lush garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melissa L
1 review
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Hands down one of the best trips we have ever had - Jumah Villa was absolutely stunning - the gardens, the pool, the bedrooms were all 5 star (if not more). A big thank you to all the staff - they were extremely helpful and accomodating .... lost my purse and phone whilst in Seminyak and our villa manager personally took me down to the Police Station and helped me out - Mary you have been blessed to own such an incredible villa and your staff were truly incredible - I honestly don't have anything negative to say. If you're looking for a villa for a huge group - I would strongly recommend Villa Jumah.
Thanks again to Mary and her team - we will be back soon!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2017
What can I say ... this is what we strive to hear from our guests...we loved having you stay with us and we hope we have the chance to "spoil" you again one day in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G
PERTH
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Traditional, relaxing, peaceful haven.”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were lucky to be able to stay at Villa Jumah for a 2nd time. The gardens in the villa are just so peaceful and relaxing and are a credit to the team. The bedrooms are all unique and different and really feel like Bali. We love the mosquito nets on the 4 poster beds- it is a great touch!
It was great to be able to order our dinners in- whatever we wanted! It was amazing and presented beautifully for us. There was nothing we could have asked for more. We loved it all.
The cooking class that we did was the best ever. We learnt so much and had so much fun. I would recommend the cooking class to everyone if you can do it.
The best part of Villa Jumah is the staff. They make everything just wonderful. We have stayed at Juragan Villas before and the whole team and management is exceptional. Do yourself a favour and book one of Mary's wonderful villas. You won't regret it.❤️❤️❤️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
A wonderful review..thank you, thank you! :):)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MkAlt15
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm (let down by a few points)”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Jumah is a great villa to be in. It looks as good when you're there as it does in the photos and felt like an oasis of calm compared to the chaos of Seminyak (particularly the traffic - which for most of the day felt more like the UK at rush hour than what we wanted from Bali). We tended to spend our time by the pool in the mornings before going off and doing some exploring in the afternoon. The staff were really nice and very helpful. One night we had the babi guling (roast pork) banquet, which was delicious. Breakfast was simple but nice.

There were a few points that let down our experience:
1) We noticed a rat near the dining area on one of the nights. Later on, I also saw a rat in our bedroom. The next morning I told the staff who said that they would tell their supervisor; however, little more was said on the matter. Considering we had our 4 year old son with us it would have been nice if more could have been done to deal with this.
2) We used the villa's driver to take us out to a few different locations. Later on, we asked him to take our group of 11 from the villa in Seminyak to a restaurant in Kuta. He said this would be 150,000 IDR one way (about £9). Later on, we discovered this we could take the local Bluebird taxi to do this for about 30,000 IDR using 2 cars. It was difficult to not feel ripped off, something I thought the placed where we were staying wouldn't do.
3) I was slightly surprised to see a security guard outside the villa every night. This suggested that safety in the area wasn't as good as you would hope. We were told a member of staff would be in at the villa 247 and that the villa was secure. However, one of the days we came back from a day out none of the staff were there, which meant we couldn't get in. The villa's driver (who was with us, although didn't have a key) then had to jump over the fence to let us in. The fact he did this so easily showed how easily someone could jump over the fence. Considering none of us were given keys for our rooms (meaning we couldn't lock them) I think someone could break in if they really wanted to.

I know on holiday events can sometimes get lost in translation, but better communication around all of the above points would have given this review a higher score.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Thank you taking the time to write your review. There are a few points I would like to explain. Firstly - about "the rat”….I wouldn’t like this either..but in Bali, unfortunately, sometimes when we have heavy rain, a "cheeky rat" can sneak in from the bush and onto the villa grounds (and may get into the room ...eeeek!!). Our staff are constantly trying to keep this under control - and thankfully it is a very rare occurrence. Balinese just try to deal with the situation without any fuss…hence they wouldn’t have elaborated any further about the situation.

With regards the car hire to Kuta…our prices are clearly stated in the villa - and our rate for a private van which can carry 11 people - Rp150,000.- (around AU$15) is a very normal/reasonable rate compared to other villas. Had you told us you would like to take taxis, then our staff would have been “more than happy” to organise this for you. Another point, regarding the taxi coming home - to get to Kuta is a completely different proposition to returning from Kuta. To get there - the streets are all “one way” - and the traffic is horrific…hence if you would go to Kuta by taxi it would certainly cost you more than Rp30,000.- per taxi. Taxis are also only allowed to carry 4 pax, so you would have needed 3 taxis (Bluebird in particular won’t bend those rules). It really upsets us that you would think we would be trying to take advantage of you…this is the last thing we would ever do to our guests.

Th other point I would like to clarify is the “unmanned” villa. Apparently some of your guests asked to be taken to Tanah Lot the same afternoon as you went to Kuta - so the Butler (who was manning the villa) drove your group. He asked our Engineer to man the villa, which he did - but the Engineer was called to our other villa to fix the water pump - so he passed the key to the staff at our villa next door. Ilu (our Butler next door) didn’t hear that you had returned…hence the confusion. Having Security in Bali is not a sign of “unsafe area”…it is very normal practice for any villa (of a good standard) to have Security. In fact - it is “frowned upon” if you don’t have Security. Two of the rooms in the villa do have keys to lock the bedroom door (they are in the lock on the inside of the door )- only the Garden room and the Romantic room don’t have keys. This is due to the fact they have the “old original doors” and it would seem a pity to change these a we have tried to keep the original feel to the villa. We have never had a problem (also as the villa does always have somebody there) with theft or robbery.

We pride ourselves in trying to do “everything right” for our guests…and we thank you for praising the good points. We would like to apologise for any discomfort or concern you may have had…but also just wanted you to hear our side as well.

We’re hoping you have good memories of Bali and will return to the beautiful island one day in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EGH
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bali style villa in central location”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Loved our recent stay at the 4 bedroom Villa Jumah in Seminyak. This traditional style property was a fantastic venue for a group of friends. Each bedroom has air conditioning and it's own ensuite, comfortable beds with mosquito nets and lots of storage space. The living areas where great with a large TV, central kitchen, lots of places to relax with a book or by the pool. Beautiful gardens and more staff than we knew what to do with. Breakfast was included and beautifully presented every morning at whatever time we selected the night before.
Loved that everything worked and was well maintained which is so unusual in Bali.
Bintang Supermarket is just a 5 min walk away and the beach about 10 mins in the other direction. Given the complexity of getting to the villa by car, when we wanted to get a taxi we found it easier to walk up to the Supermarket. The staff were all fantastic as was the Manager Komang. We will definitely be back for another stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2017
Thank you so much Evie for taking the time to review Villa Jumah. We're so glad you had a great holiday, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back one day in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilia K
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful experience!”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

For first time Bali travellers, we were simply delighted and impressed with the amazing Villa Jumah and all the staff! Thank you so much to Iluh, Dessy, Raini, Wayan and Dedix!! You all made our stay so wonderful and it would not be the same without you! We miss you guys already! The villa is stunning, traditional Balinese accommodation with lush well kept gardens and plenty of space. Only a short walk to all the shops and restaurants! We would definitely recommend it! We hope to return and see our new friends in the future! Thank you again!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
Thank you for such a "heartfelt" review....I'm sure our staff loved having you all stay - and we look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Jumah!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo2craig
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My husband myself and 2 other couples stayed at Villa Jumah. It was our 3rd time in Bali and 2nd time staying at Villa Jumah. We love Villa Jumah as it has a more traditional Bali feel to it which is what we were looking for. It is also very close to the Bintang supermarket which was good for us as we sometimes just caught a cab to somewhere close by. Our butlers Dessy, Iluh, Deddy, Raini, Wayan and Agus were all fantastic, friendly and very welcoming. The villa organised day tours for us which was great. While we were there it was my daughters birthday and they had a birthday cake ready for her which was a nice surprise for her. I would recommend staying at Villa Jumah to anyone, we will visit again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review....we appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back one day soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family holiday”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed with our families and the staff were 1st class making our stay unforgettable. We enjoyed the great conversations and local knowledge and 2 fabulous meals including the local suckling pig.

The Villa was tired and needs a renovation and wasn't what I expected from photos and description online.

Thanks to the wonderful staff for making our experience one to remember.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2017
Thank you Lisa for your review. We are constantly renovating all of our villas - but Villa Jumah, being an old Balinese house - makes it a little more difficult as some problems come with the age. We also try to keep the Balinese feel to the villa - as this is what a lot of guests are looking for, rather than a more modern villa. Maybe, if you would have preferred a modern villa - one of our other 3 villas would be more suitable for you. We hope you were still able to have a wonderful holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing