We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy dinner if staying at the Royal Beach Seminyak”
Review of Husk Restaurant

Husk Restaurant
Ranked #246 of 536 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $10 - $150
Cuisines: Asian, International
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Easy dinner if staying at the Royal Beach Seminyak”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Husk is the main restaurant at the Royal Beach Seminyak, serving buffet breakfast and dinner. We decided to stay at the hotel for dinner and try Husk restaurant after eating out at the many great restaurants Seminyak has to offer nearby. The meal was average but not great and after eating breakfast there each morning it was a bit boring. ok if you can't be bothered to venture out but wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AddieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel restaurant”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This restaurant is part of the Royal Beach Hotel Seminyak. It has great meals for lunch and dinner but one can't beat the variety of the food presented for breakfast. Prices are quite reasonable by Ausralian standards, service is excellent ( as one would expect from a hotel of this standard) and the location near the beach and overlooking the pool is fantastic. We would thoroughly recommend it particularly for breakfast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BREAKFAST OF CHAMPIONS”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hardest thing to decided first thing in the morning is to have the egg of the week or pancake/crepe/waffle. My friend has discovered cafe latte to her liking in Bali and she will only stay at an Accor MGallery hotels.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hidden dining gem in Seminyak: Husk!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Husk Restaurant: The Royal Beach Hotel Seminyak

A visit to 'Husk' restaurant is a must for any visitor to Bali staying near Seminyak or Kuta. 'Husk' is the main restaurant located within The Royal Beach Hotel Seminyak. The Royal Beach is located between The Oberoi and the Anantara, Bali.

Our family stayed at The Royal Beach Seminyak for 10 nights in July 2012. We don't normally choose to dine in hotel restaurants. Our preference is to research traveler recommended restaurants and to sample these. We did do this on this trip but, to our surprise and complete delight, 'Husk' was better than just about all of them. We ended up dining there on 3 nights! The setting is tranquil and the food is delicious, of generous portion size and most reasonably priced. The cuisine would be best described as contemporary fusion with Indonesian favourites available as well. The presentation of the meals was the most elaborate that we experiences during our Bali stay. Our son chose the the Satay Chicken which alone would have fed us all. There were 12 skewers and this was served on a small, hot coal BBQ with numerous side dishes. It was almost a work of art! The Nasi Goreng, a favourite of mine, was similarly generous and was, again, the best I had whilst in Bali

All this delicious food can be sampled with a first rate and reasonably priced international wine list. I was able to have a chilled glass of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc so I was in food and wine heaven! You must make sure you leave room after your mains though as their Chocolate Fondant dessert is one of the most delicious desserts that I've ever had and I'm someone who reads the dessert menu before the full menu!

As if this was not enough there was even live entertainment with a pianist playing a grand piano.

The restaurant is of open air design and is set back from the beach but with lovely views out over the frangipani pool, gardens and beach.

We also tried the restaurants at Cocoon, Potato Head, Breeze and Gado Gado but, for mine, 'Husk' trumps them all!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at Husk Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Aussieholiday,

Thank you for sharing so may details about your culinary experience with us . It is always a pleasure to receive nice feedback from our Royal Guests.
I will share your review with the head of department concerned, our Chef and the F&B team and I am sure that it will encourage them to maintain our standard of services.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant for another delightful moment.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food with average service”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We weren't too impressed with the vibe of the place at first although that did improve quite quickly. It was very impressive food with pretty average service. The waiters were friendly but you could tell the restaurant was pretty understaffed. We shared the tuna carpaccio, vietnamese prawn salad, and stuffed chicken wings for entree- the tuna was average but the rest was fantastic. For mains we had the lamb chops- beautiful!- and the terriyaki chicken, was pretty good but nothing amazing. We also had 4 cocktails between us and had an accor advantage card that gives us a 50% discount on food. Price was 800k for the meal and drinks. Would only go back because we had our discount as the price for food was ok but not amazing as well as the service and atmosphere were average.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Husk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing