We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here!!! Terrible”
Review of Meriki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meriki
Ranked #112 of 434 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just after checking out of the Meriki apartmetnts, I had to go to the Emergency Room for a centipede bite. We found a black centipede in our bed (dead) A few hours later I was in the emergency clinic with my entire finger reddish/purple and inflamed to twice the size. The sliding doors are fastened from the top, leaving a large opening at the bottom. Just outside of our room we saw several rats. The paint is peeling off of the walls, the bed was hard and the path to our room at night was totally dark. We love Bali and, quite frankly, this was by far the WORST place we have ever stayed!!!! AVOID!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!! Avoid!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 36 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

I find this place nice and quiet. The room is spacious and the pool is just great. The staff are all the time there for you. Ari the lady who manages the place was nice to me and accommodative. If you need to have early breakfast, its good to inform them earlier, the food they served was good. I would recommend the pool view room as it is nice and a bit away from the rest. Good value for money and the location is convinient with circle k and a spa just next door!

Room Tip: Family unit pool view. Room 6-9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iskhandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Although this hotel is cheap and i wasn't expecting much, there are far better places to stay for the price. The rooms were clean but that did not compensate the rest...
The owners living room is basically the foyer, so when you come in the dad is sitting there watching TV and there was cartoons on constantly, almost makes you feel like your invading their privacy...both the owners (an english guy and his balinese wife) were rude and i felt very uncomfortable by their attitude each time i left my room.
Also in the foyer is an arrangement of caged animals, a feret, a possum looking thing and worse two dogs in a cage they can't even turn around in...it was disturbing, cruel and i wanted to let them all out...i don't want to feel pity everytime I come back to my room.
i stayed in the superior garden view (i have been to Bali many times and know that this is not neccessarily a brilliant discription of what you get) which was a brick wall, with broken glass on the top and the garden was a stem of buganvillia which was dead.
The bathroom was outside which i love but was in need of a bit of a refurb and no soap supplied.
Like i said the rooms were kept clean and there was two young people working there who were very friendly and were the only good thing i could say about the place.
I ended up moving somewhere else after a couple of days so don't waste your money!!!

Room Tip: Don't get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie_s79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I was very pleasantly suprised by my stay here. The rooms are very large and spacious, the pool area was beautiful, and the garden at the back was peaceful and quiet away from the street, with water features to add that special touch.

The location was also great, close to the main shopping strips in Seminyak, as well as restaurants, bars and cafes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlayfulPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I would stay again definitely. Meriki had friendly staff, who went out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay. It is a great location, on a quiet street and just a short walk from Seminyak's main shopping and restaurant street and very close to the beach also. The pizza place "Superman" just up the road is a must and is very cheap!! Room was big and very clean, breakfast was delivered daily to our room and the pool was lovely! This place is great value for money and is highly recommended!!

Tip: Book on Agoda, cheapest rates and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcia1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I booked this place via an agent, and quite like it.
The off season rates are good, but the room price jumped up considerably part way through my stay. Despite this, I extended another week; (mostly because I was too lazy to look around!)

The rooms are quite nice, although I don't recommend paying extra for the poolside rooms unless you are planning to spent a lot of time in the pool. The bathrooms are open air which is nice in a way, but it means blazing sunshine in the daytime.
There is a very simple "kitchen" in the rooms (stove and a couple of pans), but I doubt anyone uses them. They do have a kettle and big fridge, but annoyingly they charge for coffee sachets! Breakfast is a bit limited, so I only bothered a few times.
The rooms are generally in decent condition although there is a little room for improvement. I stayed in two different rooms, and the safes in each of them only worked with a key (no batteries), and one of the safes was not even fixed to anything. The cupboards are bit old, and creak a lot when opened, and the power sockets a bit loose (i.e. you have to wiggle the connection to get the bedside light to work). The soap and shampoo dispensers are pathetic, and the stuff in them smells distinctly odd - you might want to bring your own as I did. There is wifi in the hotel, but sometimes the connection is terrible, although it's usually okay. Bike hire is available. The place does get quite a lot of mosquitos in the evening, but they have a spray that you can borrow if you ask.

Staff are very nice and generally helpful but not very knowledgable about the area (e.g. they could not suggest a place for me to buy computer equipment, camera equipment or even a travel agent). They also have a few caged up animals near the entrance which seems a bit unpleasant, and the bird in particular squawks loudly quite a lot, presumably in distress, if this noise bothers you, then you might want to avoid the room close to the reception.

Overall, a nice place - good location, nice staff and reasonable (but not great) value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Für alleinreisende low-budget-traveller sind die Schlafsaalbetten optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Freya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.5 mi away
M Hostel
M Hostel
#81 of 434 in Seminyak
222 reviews
1.3 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 149 in Seminyak
3,612 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#10 of 149 in Seminyak
1,630 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#58 of 149 in Seminyak
1,946 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#14 of 149 in Seminyak
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriki

Address: Jl. Drupadi 29, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 434 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $14 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Meriki 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Meriki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriki Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing