We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First try...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tulip - CLOSED

Tulip
Price range: $0 - $50
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First try...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

To make the story short, we (me,wife n son) ended up in this restaurant... but we didnt regret it... food was good.. service a bit slow but still acceptable.. and being escorted out by the friendly manager was a plus...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank togarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    87
    28
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not my favorite any more .”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

What a disappointment this restaurant has become . When it first opened it was one of my favorites but after visiting there for dinner last week there is no way I am going back . The menu is basic . It was to much trouble for the waiter to bring out the mezzo tray let alone explain it . The worse part was these seating low lounges and a coffee table . We ended up eating with our plates on our knees . The setting of tulip is great but the rest is very disappointing . There are better restaurants to go to in Bali . What a shame this restaurant has list the plot

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verajane4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“Authentic Turkish Mezze in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

IN May we visited Tulip restaurant in Bali. Don't let the name fool you, tulips are traditionally turkish flowers ( which we did not know) and this restaurant honors traditions of turkish cuisine as well as putting the modern turkish dishes in the spotlight. Really enjoyed the mezze, the wines, the fresh and warm baked bread ( you can see it being baked), the service, the ambiance! Really a jewel on jalan petitinget!!! For Bali the prices are high, compared to a warung, but not higher (even less) than other high end restaurants

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice food to share with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

A friend told us about that place, and that was good for wine and sharing some turkish food.

So we went and give a try. The place wasnt busy, but the restaurant with pounds and open view was really nice.

We sat first at the bar and having some cocktails at the bar while waiting our friend. The waiter asked us if we wanted to have dinner and we explained that we wanted to have a casual gathering with friends with some food for share and easy bites.

They prepare a high tables next to the bar and when everyone arrived we went for wines and several appetizers such as mezze, pizza and other local turkish food that we shared all of us.

Overall it was good just a bite quiet not much ambiance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank casastyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sorry, I wasn't impressed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went here a few months back (and hopefully it has improved) with a large group I was hosting and found the dinner to be somewhat uninspired, awkwardly paced, and fairly overpriced for what you got. Bali is a competitive place and Tulip has a great concept but execution of it can be improved. That said, it's not bad but it's not a five star dining experience either. I'll try them again soon to see if it has improved.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PapayaFiends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulip also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing