We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food to share with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip - CLOSED

Tulip
Price range: $0 - $50
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice food to share with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A friend told us about that place, and that was good for wine and sharing some turkish food.

So we went and give a try. The place wasnt busy, but the restaurant with pounds and open view was really nice.

We sat first at the bar and having some cocktails at the bar while waiting our friend. The waiter asked us if we wanted to have dinner and we explained that we wanted to have a casual gathering with friends with some food for share and easy bites.

They prepare a high tables next to the bar and when everyone arrived we went for wines and several appetizers such as mezze, pizza and other local turkish food that we shared all of us.

Overall it was good just a bite quiet not much ambiance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank casastyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    87
    28
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sorry, I wasn't impressed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went here a few months back (and hopefully it has improved) with a large group I was hosting and found the dinner to be somewhat uninspired, awkwardly paced, and fairly overpriced for what you got. Bali is a competitive place and Tulip has a great concept but execution of it can be improved. That said, it's not bad but it's not a five star dining experience either. I'll try them again soon to see if it has improved.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PapayaFiends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Turkish delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had long wanted to try Tulip & decided to head here on a surprise child-free evening this week.
The ambience is lovely, particularly the tables at the rear of the restaurant & the service was outstanding (although the waiter did forget to give us the wine list when we arrived but this was a very minor point).

The food was excellent, delicious dips (the eggplant in particular is very good) & the accompanying bread was soft, fluffy & piping hot. My husband had the sea bass & I had the jumbo prawns for main course and both were fantastic. We were disappointed that the Baclava dessert was unavailable as none of the other desserts appealed or seemed to have a Turkish/Meditteranean flavour.

Overall I would highly recommend this restaurant - it deserves to be a lot busier than it was on the night we visited.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephsjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpectedly fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were travelling with our two year old and realised it was valentines day. With no booking, we wanted to find somewhere nice that we could go early and be out of everyone's way.
Tulip was recommended to us by an expat, and we thought we'd give it a shot. It didn't look much from the front, and it was fairly quiet, so we weren't really sure what we'd let ourselves in for, but we were pleasantly surprised.
From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome. We were treated like a happy valentine couple of three, which was incredibly special for us. The menu was another surprise. I can't even remember what we ordered now, but I remember expecting my husband to receive some kind of burrito and for mine to be fairly bland - how wrong I was. Easily the best food we ate during our holiday, all the more for the fact that we didn't have terribly high hopes. Sitting and watching the sun set while eating, the meals all being brought out in good time (no time for the little man to get grumbly), the lovely relaxing ambience and wonderful staff. it all made for an experience I'm eager to repeat next time we're in Bali.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsGlobetrotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Tulip many times and always enjoy.
This time with our active 20mth old child which is tough as the restaurant isn't child friendly, they also don't have high chairs.
We are vegetarians so had dips and yummy hot fresh bread, filo pastry with feta, mushroom baked dish, and a salad. It was a nice meal. We were content with the dips and bread!
The price is higher then places like Ultimos and Ginger Moon which it shldnt be for what we were eating which was like tapas food. But we will visit again for sure cause the food is good.

One thing that the restaurant needs is more fans or air con cause on those hot humid nights its unbearable! Sitting there eating hot food and warm beers with a cranky hot child doesn't make it enjoyable.
The staff are 5 star! Very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockyrocksalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulip also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing