We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Colony Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Colony Hotel Bali
Ranked #3 of 110 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Colony Hotel”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at the Colony along with friends and family during September. The staff where more than helpful in anyway possible and could not of been more at your service. During my stay I stay in room number 1 which was on the ground level right in view from the main entrance upon walking into the open area pool side it was big and spacious and had everything you could ask for. Breakfast was serviced daily on the decked area where the pool view is and can not fault anything they served during my stay. If your travelling to Bali and enjoy a nice relaxing time spent away this is by far the best place to stay, also has a no kids policy. The surroundings of the Colony as many walking distance places you can go included Sea Circus Restaurant next door which is a great place to eat and also walking distance to Ku De Ta.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    81
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
209
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Colony Hotel it a wonderful small Bali Hotel in the centre of Seminyak one of the best locations close to the beach, restaurants, shops.

We've stayed in many 5 & 6 star Hotels/Motels in Bali for 20 years and are completely sold on the "Colony". We really enjoyed the fresh spacious suite/rooms, including the beautiful clean linen. The pool is situated in the middle of the complex with sun in and around the pool all day.

Breakfast is fantastic especially the Nasi Goreng - and the 2 Chiefs are great and are happy to share their secrets. Also the freshly sliced fruit it incredible.

All the staff are friendly and welcome you to this small Boutique Hotel!

In some ways we are reluctant to put such a "rap" on the Colony as we are frightened we may not get a room when we return to our beloved Bali.

Jayne and Neville Bird

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I visited Bali again recently on our quest to buy a villa style property in Bali. Had never stayed at The Colony previously and at first my thoughts were this is just another little hotel. However it is very conveniently located for walking to the beach front, shops and restaurants. It is small, quiet and compact with comfy beds and pillows. Has a great little coffee shop and restaurant on either side of it as well. Pleasantly surprised. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The only negative from my perspective was no fitness center, however I made good use of the beach early each morning for walking, running and high intensity exercise.

Room Tip: The whole environment is quiet, so all rooms would be okay depending on your budget. I would persona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chambo243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Colony, in my opinion, offers the ultimate balance of location, quality and price. It's walking distance to Ku De Ta, Potato Head, Seminyak Square and right next door to my favourite restaurant, Sea Circus.
The hotel itself has only 20 rooms which means it's small enough to feel like a large villa, but still large enough that you don't feel like you're all alone. We were a group of 10 so we occupied a good portion of the hotel, which meant that most of the time it was just us in the restaurant for breakfast or laying by the pool. The best part of the hotel is their strict no kids policy - you'll honestly feel like your hotel is calm oasis for you to gently splash around the pool and escape the noise outside.
You'll also love the well appointed rooms, I recommend you opt for the Junior Suite, it's only slightly more than the standard room, which is a small price to pay for a huge amount of extra space.
This Colony is my idea of the home away from home and I simply wouldn't stay anywhere else when holidaying in Seminyak.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is massive and well worth the addition cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatDane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Colony Hotel certainly lived up to our expectations. One of the reasons we chose it was due to its child-free policy. This is necessary as all the rooms (20 I think) are set around the pool and it's quite a small area. It's a lovely quiet haven away from all the hustle and bustle of the rest of Seminyak. We chose a junior suite and it was ideal in every way. The hotel's location is great and we were able to walk to the beach, Seminyak Square, La Lucciola and Ku De Ta. All the staff were friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast at one end of the pool was a wonderful way to start the day.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 and very happy with it. We liked being close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanFirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Exceptional value for such a great find. Excellent location right alongside the major 5 star hotels and major bars and restaurants. No under 16s policy meant that we had a quiet little getaway. Yummy cooked breakfast every morning gave the place a personal touch and helpful travel advice made the stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I recently stayed at this gem of a hotel for 6 days. The Colony is a haven from the busyness of the Seminyak streets and is well located for fine dining, the beach and shopping. The staff were accommodating to our every need and responded quickly to any requests and always with a smile.:) Recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,754 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
871 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#21 of 143 in Seminyak
3,222 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Bali

Property: The Colony Hotel Bali
Address: Jalan Laksmana 22, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colony Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Bali is located in the heart of Seminyak and within walking distance to all the fun and leading places that creates your perfect Bali boutique hotel vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Colony Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing