We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out”

Chef Dean Cooking Class
Ranked #1 of 9 Food & Drink in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An exciting combination/selection of Mediterranean and Balinese cooking class demo and tours to fishing village, traditional market, organic and cacao plantation, and other interesting places, tasting traditional foods and finally having Chef Dean's signature luncheon.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We did this cooking class in Seminyak in August 2013. Dean was a great host, taking us down to Jimbaran Bay to the markets, explaining all of the various seafood, spices, and other inputs into the cooking. We returned and he got us to work, showing how to prepare the seafood and chicken, grinding spices etc etc. We finished with a great feast of all the food we had sourced and prepared. Was excellent value - just a tip - you won't need dinner in the evening, so just book a table at a bar!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FFSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    17
    4
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What an experience! Chef Dean's class is excellent value, for roughly AU$100 you get a whole day experience packed full of knowledge, delicious food and just as tasty cocktails. This is Indonesian food with a gourmet twist and I highly recommend it to all foodies.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank C_RPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful day and experience. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Market was a massive highlight. So much to see and experience. Cooking was so much fun. Filleted a fish all on my own. Cocktails whilst cooking was also a highlight :). Chef Dean is awesome. A must do experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidayfun44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Chef Dean's Cooking Class - Perfect way to spend a day!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I would highly recommend attending this cooking class to anyone coming to Bali. My husband and I both came (both of us love food, but not ones to spend heaps of time in the kitchen at home). Chef Dean kept us both engaged the entire day. The day kicked off with a tour of the spice markets in Denpasar which were AMAZING - so overcome with aromas and culture. Chef Dean is insightful in his knowledge of the products and the people. Once back at the restaurant, and plied with delicious Chocolate Martinis, Chef Dean walked us through the use of many local spices and gave a demonstration of a duck dish. We then participated in preparing another dish and picked up some handy knife skills. The group learned how to fillet fish, prepare squid and prawns like an expert and other tricks of the trade. There was an equal balance of preparation and demonstration and cocktails before tucking into an extraordinary banquet of food. This class is a must-do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent way to spend a day”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just amazing day and so much fun! I highly recommend this as a way to spend a fun day. Dean does an amazing job in such an organized class. I did the spice class, and.recommend the class. Going to the market was great fun with Dean as he does a great job explaining everything about the spices, cutting chickens, cleaning fish, prawns, calamari, chopping veggies. The feast and drinks we ate was the best I had in Bali. Don't plan on dinner that night as you will be stuffed after the meal. You also leave the class with a really nice set of recipes you cook. The service and staff helping Dean we all great too! Highly highly recommend the class!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Dean Cooking Class also viewed

 

Been to Chef Dean Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing