We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon highlight!!”

Chef Dean Cooking Class
Ranked #1 of 9 Food & Drink in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An exciting combination/selection of Mediterranean and Balinese cooking class demo and tours to fishing village, traditional market, organic and cacao plantation, and other interesting places, tasting traditional foods and finally having Chef Dean's signature luncheon.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon highlight!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I went to Bali for our honeymoon and stayed in both ubud and seminyak. Wanting something different to do then the beach we booked onto the course which was super easy by the website. There were 14 of us at the start of the Balinese cooking day but a couple dropped out as e day went on as they were a little under the weather. The markets in Denpasar were really bustling and interesting and we saw a wide range of new foods. The cooking section of the day was much more informative then I imagined it would be. We not only learnt eat new recipes which were included in a menu file to take away at the end of the day but we learnt how to fillet a fish, dissect a chicken, prepare squid and octopus. Everyone had a great day and the tasting section at the end of the day was more like a full on banquet! There was so much delicious food it was amazing. Just don't plan on eating for the rest of the day!!! I'd thoroughly recommend this course, it was a great highlight.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CLund99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    18
    5
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cooking and eating 10 courses!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Dean Fisher's cooking school is a great experience. Started the morning at Jimbarin Bay fish market - quite the experience and then back to Vivai Restaurant to cook the fish. Learnt a lot about how to prepare all the fish, chicken and vegetables - great tips! And then we get to cook, followed by eating - amazing food, great company, loads of fun. Was a highlight of our trip! We didn't finish until 3.00pm... No dinner required that evening.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaKBooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cooking Class a must”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Loved loved loved it. Chef Dean was great. The market tour was an experience you would not normally have on your own. We had such a great day and learned so much about spices and making pastes. The food was amazing. We were so full we couldnt have dinner. This was definately one of the highlights of our Bali holiday.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GayleCowdroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A must try experience !”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wanting a break from viewing temples and sight seeing we booked ourselves onto the seafood cooking course (knowing nothing about how to prepare or cook seafood)after reading some good reviews and checking out the web site.
We met at the early morning meeting place by Dean and were informed we would be the only two on the class for the day, which was great because we ended up having a personalised tour around the fish market (which was amazing .. everything was soo fresh there was no smell at all) and watch the fishing fleet on the shore.
After touring the market and being shown the local seafood and what we would be bringing back to cook, we headed back to the restaurant (which is a great place above Seminyak Square) where Dean took both of us through how to prepare the seafood and chicken, the various pastes (as there was only two of us we elected to cook things Balinese style) and then cooked the various dishes. I now know how to scale and fillet a fish, prep squid, octopus and crab, cook scallops, fillet a chicken and how to de-vein a prawn without pulling it to pieces.
The food was fantastic and Dean was an excellent host and teacher and we both thoroughly enjoyed his company and his tails of life on Bali. As there was only the two of us we did end up being a little overwhelmed by the sheer volume of food to eat (who would ever think I would say no to more seafood) and both of us waddled back to our hotel along the beach feeling very full and satisfied.
I would heartily recommend doing one of Dean's cooking classes, we had a fantastic day and learnt lots !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best. Day. Ever.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As a completely incompetent cook, I was pretty skeptical about signing up for a day-long Balinese cooking class. I was afraid of being surrounded by people who have actual knife skills and speak in tongues about flavor balance. But it turned out to be the highlight of our trip to Bali. Chef Dean is ready for prime time on the Food Network. He's got the personality as well as the skills. The other people in the class were fun and relaxed and not crazy foodies. The day's activities are well-organized with a good balance of demo and hands-on (which in my case probably saved a few fingers). His assistants are very well-trained and the prep and cooking of multiple dishes went seamlessly thanks to their behind-the-scenes scurrying. We had no idea that we would actually be feasting on the foods we prepared, more expecting it to be a TV show trick where the chef shows you what to do and then pulls a pre-cooked demo out of the fake ovens in the wall. But we actually enjoyed everything that we made in a huge meal at the end, accompanied by a complimentary, perfectly prepared Cosmo!
We started with the market visit which was fascinating, as long as you suspend strict ideas of sanitation. I agree with the other reviewers that Dean needs to figure out a way to stop and speak to the whole group at once. Those back in the line missed out on a lot of his explanations of some of the more bizarre looking foods. Back at his beautiful, breezy rooftop restaurant, we learned about and prepared a spicy base paste followed by a parade of one dead creature after another. We stuffed ducks, deboned chickens, filleted red snapper, gutted squid and deveined prawns, all of which magically appeared in some form or another in our final feast. The food was excellent, the company was great fun and it is a great day for even an inexperienced cook. That said though, I must confess that I have not de-scaled a single fish since my return home :-)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Toric2Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Dean Cooking Class also viewed

 

Been to Chef Dean Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing