We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roof top villa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amadea Resort & Villas
Ranked #32 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Roof top villa”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We booked an excellent deal through wotif and stayed in one of their roof top villas - which meant we had a huge outdoor area (~150 sqm) with private outdoor double sunbed, garden and a beautiful spacious villa. We watched fireworks from our balcony every night.

The staff were really friendly and helpful, with a good day spa.

Communal pool and outdoor bar area was relaxing most days - a couple of days there were families (with loud, noisy kids) which broke my serenity but that was a minor issue.

It is a beautiful villa in seminyak - hidden in a busy shopping street. It is a 10 minute walk from the beach however.

Room Tip: I would choose the rooftop villa again if I returned - it is 3 times the size of the standard rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katefrommelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    687
    119
    31
    13
See reviews for
316
868
113
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is a great hotel in a great location near a lot of very nice restaurants and boutique shopping. Can walk every where you need too from here. We stayed in a pool terrace room which was new, modern and comfortable. I think the standard rooms would be just as nice. The villas if you had a large group look amazing and have private pools. The hotel pools are very good are warm as they get a lot of sun. We spent a lot of time in them. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The hotel restaurant out the front is pretty good and reasonably priced. We had the lomi lomi massage at the hotel spa and it was very good. The best we had in Bali for the price. The hotel rooms are about 150m from the street but there is a buggy to shuttle you to/from if needed and being setback from street it is quiet. I only had one negative which is that our room wasn't ready when we arrived and we had to wait over 2 hours to check in.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Go with a villa if you have a group or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmysgonefishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

the location is in the heart of Seminyak so if you like the buzz etc you will love it!!
It is a very short ride from the Legian and other main things to do (like siting and drinking at the beach :))
The hotel is really clean - we were upgraded to a deluxe pool room and to be honest it was very nice!
The staff was extremely helpful and smiley!
The wifi is not free in the room which is a shame but only in the lobby. Breakfast is good but lacking of banana pancakes :))

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malvina31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Amadea, Seminyak is an excellent place to stay. I have been to Bali a few times, and the staff are by far the nicest bunch of people I have met in Indonesia. Excellent location. They could upgrade the facilities in the breakfast area, but it is very a minor point, considering the overall experience. Make sure you try this place.

Room Tip: Ask for the side pool rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a new hotel. It looks nice. We liked the feel. Comfortable. I thought it was a bit too far from the beach. For dinners etc. it is okay, although we had our est food in Legian (value for money too). People are friendly in the hotel. On arrival we upgraded our room to a room on the first floor with a view on the bigger pool. The room we would have gotten was on the groundfloor next to the parking spot of the golf cars, and no privacy on terrace. Dark room too. Not pleasant. Make sure when you book a room you don't end up in that room. First floor rooms are better if you ask me, more privacy,see also other reviews.
Our new room was nice. Small issues: big bathroom but lots of unusuable space. Didnt like the showercurtain rail. It was taped together and when we pulled the curtain to close it the whole rail came down over and over again. Housekeeping really slow and one day he just informed us his shift was over and if we wanted to have our room cleaned we had to call reception. Not a good idea!
we always were able to get some sunloungers. For us not a big deal.
We enjoyed the breakfast. Enough variety. We were early most days and all food was fresh and each day a bit different.
Roomservice from the bistro was average. But then again you pay for convenience and get average food. Not bad either.

We stayed two weeks. I prefer Legian location. In general: i was shocked by the state of the beach. Been to Bali many times but the beach from Seminyak to Kuta was absolutely dirty. Filled with rubbish and plastic. Three years ago it was definitely better.

The pressure on the ecosystem is too high i guess and they are still building more hotels and huge ones too. For nice beaches try the other side of the island. You wont be disappointed.
Amadea is a nice place but they have to improve housekeeping and maintenance.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayanWarta, General Manager at Amadea Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear ronnie66,

We are very delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Amadea. Our apology for the un-pleasant experience you received from our Housekeeping team. It is not our standard and have taken necessary action for this kind of attitude.

We also received many comments from other guest about the quality of the shower rail therefore it will be changed this month for all rooms.

During this time of the year when the wind coming from west, Bali faces problems with rubbish stranded on our beach. We have seen the government had put some efforts there but it is not enough. We agree with you that the pressure on the ecosystem is too high. Within our reach, we at the hotel have taken several eco-friendly initiatives to keep this island sustainable. We thanked our guests for participating in those efforts.

We look forward to serve you again soon.

Cheers,
Wayan Warta



We
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We (me & wife, my sister & friend) checked into Amadea on X'mas day and left on New Year's eve. We stayed in the hotel rooms for the initial few days and moved to the 2-bedroom villa for the final two nights.

My superior room was spacious and had the basic amenities that you would expect for a decent hotel. The bed was clean and comfortable. No tub in the bathroom but toilet bowl came with a bidet (nice!). Other pluses include the all in one alarm clock with radio and iPhone/iPod dock which can be used to charge your iPhone; and the universal adapter power outlet. We were blessed with a relatively incident-free stay with no major issues except for a housekeeping hiccup where the complimentary bottled water and face towels were not replenished on one of the days. But the same could not be said for my sis & friend. Read on.

My sis & friend booked themselves into a deluxe room on the ground floor facing the main pool which was just steps away. On the first night, the air-con broke down at around 1.30am and it took the hotel staff an hour or so to repair it. So sis & friend retired to bed at 3am, only to be awaken by the staff's call to check if the air-con was working fine. Bad start to a vacation. The next day, their shower curtain rod was broken and the hotel staff had to be called in again. Took them quite a while but it was fixed eventually. You wouldn't normally expect such maintenance issues with a newly open hotel.

As for the 2-bedroom villa, I have only good things to say. The two storey villa was beautifully furnished and fully air-conditioned. You can dive into the villa pool directly from the ground level bedroom, pretty cool, isn't it? On the opposite end of the pool is the roomy main lounge, dining area and well-equipped kitchenette. Level two is where you find the other bedroom and a small family lounge area which can be converted into another bedroom (It has sofa bed). The en suite open-concept bathrooms were as huge as the bedrooms. Strangely, the toilet bowls do not have bidets like those in the hotel rooms. A hot and cold water dispenser was provided in the kitchenette. The 1.3m deep pool was of a decent size for a relaxing dip as well as for laps. Free wifi was available in the form of usage vouchers. Overall, it was a luxurious and enjoyable villa stay.

As many reviewers have pointed out, Amadea is excellently situated along Seminyak's shopping and restaurant strip, it cannot get more convenient. No worries about the street noise permeating in as the rooms are buffered by a long open corridor from the concierge area, leading to the front desk/reception and lobby. Guests can use the buggy service to commute between these two areas. All the villas are positioned on one side of the corridor. Our villa, the Bayu, was the closest to the concierge and the main street but it was quiet and peaceful.

Daily breakfast provided by the Batu Kali Bistro was ok, quality and variety wise. But it would be a bonus if the hotel could serve the breakfast in the villa.

The service, in general, was good. The staff were friendly and polite. In particular, the housekeeping was efficient in attending to our requests. The only gripe I have would be the front desk staff. I wish they can be more focused when serving guests. On several occasions, while I was being attended to by a staff, she would suddenly walk off to serve another guest, leaving me to wait for the next available staff to continue from where we left off.

To sum up, the short getaway in Amadea was pleasant despite the minor dampers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The reason I chose Amadea was mainly because of its location. I wanted a place that is close to the happening spots in Seminyak. Yes it was just a walking distance to cool places like Ultimo or Rumours, also mini markets and ATMs. Location is indeed Amadea's main selling point.

Check out time is not common, at 11am. As opposed to the usual 12pm. And check in time is 3pm.

As for the room, it was ok with all the basic amenities like bathrobe, slippers, LCD TV, hairdryer and safe deposit box. They also provide a mini fridge (but no mini bar, so fridge was empty) but strangely it is never cool eventhough I already asked it to be replaced. It is normal for the electricity to turn off when you're out of the room, but the fridge should not. So since I'm always going out, my mocca eclairs in the fridge went from sweet to sour overnight. Hahaha....

As for the bathroom, it was actually good enough. But taking a shower is always messy as the curtain cannot stop the water from spilling to the floor. You have to be really careful if you don't want to slip, and getting in/out of the bath tub is also something you have to do very carefully. I don't suggest elderly people or kids without supervision to use this kind of bathroom.

Breakfast is served in Bistro Batu Kali which is located separately from the hotel. You either have to walk or take a buggy that is always on call at the reception. Sorry to say, the selection was so boring as you were served the same menu day by day. If you want cereal, you gotta settle with corn flakes for the rest of your stay. Sausage is always chicken alongside pork bacon. And you have to fetch your own coffee or tea...

The staff service was good, always polite and happy to serve you. But the security staffs gave us a bad impression on the last day. Since the parking space is so limited, every night we leave the car keys at their station. It was raining heavily that morning and they forgot to close the window of our car! The car seat was soaking wet and my husband had to sit on the wet seat all day.... Luckily the car rental company didn't charge us anything as the seat was still very wet when we returned it.

Overall, I would prefer another hotel over Amadea. But I'm still eager to try their villas as the location is very convenient....

Room Tip: I would not stay here again, but I would still like to try the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayanWarta, General Manager at Amadea Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Dadut,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent holiday in the island. Your points about few things has been noted well.

1. Check out time is 11 am. It is not common in the most of hotel however as we found out that 70% of our guest arrive at midday from other destination in Bali we would like to ensure that the room to be ready by the official check in time at 2 pm. As you can see on other comments, we will do our best to accommodate late check out as long as the occupancy allows.
2. Minibar issues is now fixed.
3. Food variety at breakfast has been improved accordingly. Thanks for your input.
4. We deeply apologize for the negligence of our Security Team when taking care your car

We trust the rest of your holiday been enjoyable, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Wayan Warta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#29 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#30 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#45 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#49 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadea Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadea Resort & Villas

Property: Amadea Resort & Villas
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya 55, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#28 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#30 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amadea Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amadea Resort and Villas is an oasis in the heart of Seminyak.Located on the fashionable “eat street” with its’ many boutiques and famous restaurants the resort is perfectly located for those who want to be in the heart of the action.The resort consists of 86 rooms, 7 Suites and 7 villas. A choice of six 2 bedroom Villas or one 4 bedroom villa offering a fully equipped facility including their own private pool and garden. A perfect place to celebrate that special occasion with family or friends!All 93 spacious rooms and suites are tastefully furnished with flat screen TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, fridges and most rooms offer views onto one of the lap pools.Amadea is a perfect oasis for couples who want to enjoy a romantic escape or small group of friends and family who want to combine the vibrant side of Seminyak and peaceful lifestyle of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Amadea Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadea Resort And Villas
Amadea Resort & Villas Hotel Seminyak
Amadea Resort & Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing