We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amadea Resort & Villas
Ranked #34 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2011

A nice place to stay to avoid the rowdy Kuta area. The breakfast was great, with nice friend rice and indo fried mee. We were lucky to take the buggy instantly every time we went out and coming back from the street. Staffs were also very friendly. However the hygiene need to improve badly, as there are mosquitoes in the room, towel was dirty even after they service the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WoShiHeiRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warta1604, General Manager at Amadea Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Dear WoShiHeiRen,

Thanks for your positive review and for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We appreciate your comment about the cleanliness and mosquito. This is irregular as we have a set of quality standard of room cleanliness and hygiene. We will make sure it will not happen again.

Look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Wayan Warta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,767 - 1,773 of 1,956 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

Traveled to Bali, 16 - 25 September with spouse and adult children / son-in-law. Wife and I stayed in Deluxe room (ground level, across from pool) and children stayed in two-bedroom Villa (Bayu, villa closest to hotel entrance. This was my second visit to Bali; wife has been there several times.

In sum, few small issues but truly exceptional location, friendliness and responsiveness of staff, and perceived exceptional value (compared to other hotels and villas in higher priced Seminyak area) lead to highest rating.

Airport Pickup - We arranged for on arrival at cost of about $US15 per vehicle - needed two due to amount of luggage. Met without incident though other couple "commandeered" seats and space in van we paid for. Sticky situation; did not pursue remedy. On departure, hired driver and taxi with combined cost of about $US22. For first time visitors, think that having hotel pickup worth small extra cost for "stress relief."

Location - As others have noted, simply outstanding if want to be close to great restaurants and shopping in Seminyak. My wife and I are in our 60s and walk of about 200 meters from entrance back to our Deluxe room no problem. Less than 5 minutes walk to many good restaurants, 10 minutes to lots of shopping (including Seminyak Square) and 20 minutes to beach (via entry way at Ku De Ta club). Believe for "mature visitors," Seminyak best choice for areas to stay in if want to be close to beach.

Rooms: Deluxe room on ground level very nice but if don't mind climbing one story stairs, sure that room with small balcony (at about $US25 less per night) would work just fine. As some have noted, partially opague glass between living area and shower no problem (our view) for a couple but if two same sex friends (vice romantic couple) traveling together, probably more than a bit weird. Understand that hotel plans to install curtains to enable view to be closed off. Wish there was more drawer space for clothes but not seen as big deal. Nice amenities, including two complimentary bottles of water each day, shampoo, skin cream, and shower gell plus refrigerator, DVD player, coffee/tea and hair dryer. In-room safe. Large flat screen TV with lot of channels, including CNN and BBC.

Villa very large and more than enough storage storage and hanging around space. Pool for villa is relatively large and is actually big enough to swim in. Think if have small children might be uncomfortable as pool is (not surprisingly) not fenced. Large refrigerator in kitchen and in addition to individual bottles of water, large (5 gallon?) bottle of water in dispenser (hot and cold choices) that is replaced as needed. Unlike many villas you will see advertised, you can entirely close in all space (lots of windows) and thus keep mosquitoes out and AC all area. Three large flat screen TV, DVD players, etc as in Deluxe room.

Restaurant - On site / separately managed Bistro Batu Kali provides breakfast daily for all, as part of room cost. We thoroughly enjoyed. Coffee better than average and can "upgrade" to capucino and similar for less that $2.00 per meal if desired. Muslix good (agree with others prefer if milk not added before served - how about changing, Bistro? - but taste excellent). Every day there is good quality bread, lots of fresh fruit (mango, pineapple, watermelon, etc), chicken-based breakfast sausage and bacon, eggs cooked to order (had problem with bit runny omelets but after specified well done each morning that problem ended), outstanding breakfast potatoes (styles varied, all exceptional) each morning, and more (including porridge and rice (common for Asian breakfasts) and Indonesian selections (usually Nasi and/or Mi Goreng (fried noddles / rice), Only quibble was juice - OJ tasted as if out of can. Plenty of seating, nice dining area, comfortable, and friendly staff who picked up dirty plates as used. Never felt rushed to eat and leave - for our family, PERFECT start for each morning.

Grounds and amenities - Hotel web site photos accurately depict appearance of all (including rooms, pool area, and grounds). Resort is never going to win any Architecture Digest awards and if looking for a lux resort experience (vice coming to Bali to focus on visiting Bali) will probably prefer other location. Main Pool is in shade in afternoon but alternate pool (off lobby, near two free use computer area) is usually not - and both never crowded and large enough for lap swims. We did not use the on-site spa / massage facility (provided but did not use five (one per person) free 15 minute massage coupon on arriival. We did not use pool bar except for complimentary "welcome drink," which was fine.

Staff - Friendly without exception; some staff have llmited English skills (cannot speak to other languages) but all do their best to help. We did experience a few gliches but all resolved. Staff really does try to please. Land of smiles applies to staff at Amadea.

Other - Found, as others have noted, that WiFi coverage spotty at best. Two free computers in lobby are in frequent use but worked fine for us to check our email daily, which is all we wanted to do.

Had chance to see the one-bedroom rooftop villa (apartment) and if looking for a room with a bit more Balinese feel (wooden floors and roof, as example) this would be a good choice. Very private; view from roof OK but not spectacular. Interestingly, this is the only part of hotel where I noted my blackberry got very strong WiFi connection (five bars vice two at best). Note there is no elevator, so two flights of stairs to gain access to.

Overall, see this resort as designed for couples or families with older children. There are no lifeguards at pools and as noted, the pool in villas would be easy for small, unattended children to fall into. There are no "childrens activities" or diversions here. In the nine days we stayed, only saw a couple of toddlers.

Open baths in Villa are nice but do give access to mosquitoes. We thus were careful to keep doors to baths (two plus one separate just for pool - really nice if entertain friends) in Villa fully closed at all times. We asked hotel to spray Villa for mosquitoes on arrival (and a couple times during) and that plus "repellant dispenser" provided in all rooms appeared to do the trick. If have issues with mosquitoes, found staff to be very responsive in spraying.

Would we stay at the Amadea again? Maybe - we might opt for staying in Ubud next trip to Bali or other area -- but if we do decide to stay in Seminyak, then we will definitely stay at the Amadea.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MikeandYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warta1604, General Manager at Amadea Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Dear MikeandYong,

Thank you for staying with us. From your review we trust that you had an enjoyable holiday in this beautiful island. Your review has covered the resort very well. Thanks for that.

Additional information that we want to add here is that we now ordering roller blind for the bathroom window so that guest may have privacy if they wish to. As they are customized order, it will need two or three months to arrive. Mosquito is still an issue that we need to solve and we are very pleased to inform you that we have planted some plantations that can chase mosquito away especially in the villa. We are also working closely our partner from pest control company to find other solution for this problem.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Amadea next time.

Best regards,
Wayan Warta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

comfortable bed, beautiful pools, friendly service, modern rooms, great restaurant, central location, very quiet
Having been to Bali six times previously I have always stayed in Kuta or Legian and this is the first time we have stayed in Seminyak. We were very impressed with the location and ammenities of the hotel and would highly recommend to other travellers. The room was very modern and in all the hotels I have stayed in I have never experienced a bed as comfortable as the one in our room. The hotel is located close to many first class restaurants and retail shops. Will definately be coming back in the future. Sacha from Perth

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Travelled in a group of 6 (2 couples & 2 singles) in September 2011. Stayed in the 4 bedroom villa and we were extremely happy with the quality of the accomodation, the inclusions, and the staff. The Villa is huge, and extremely comfortable for a group setting. It is an oasis off the busy streets of Bali. I spent quite a bit of time researching 4 bedroom villas in Bali as they are not too common, and I am glad I did as we would certainly return to Amadea's villa, the quality, the location & the price are all big ticks.
The location is continually spoken about in comments below, and is a positive with only short taxi rides to the main tourist areas of Bali.
Breakfast is in the restaurant and consists of a standard western hot breakfast- it could be changed a little more from day to day, but it is no different to most hotel buffets.
The staff were welcoming, helpful & eager to please to a person.
We had a great experience at Amadea, and I can certainly recommend a Villa if it is an option.

Room Tip: Villas are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarlostheJackal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Firstly, I should point out that Seminyak is very expensive for accommodation so this does actually provide reasonable value for money for the location and quality of accommodation however if you are looking for somewhere truly peaceful then spend the extra money and go elsewhere.

It's hidden off the main road and is a very long, very thin complex with villas closest to the road and the rooms further back. There are 2 pool areas. Didn't struggle to get beds at any point and towels were provided. Golf buggies can get you from the rooms to the road.

Positives - it's well located as everyone says, right off the main drag of Seminyak with lots of bars and restaurants (recommend Ultima for very cheap quality Italian food) and it is a 10-15 min walk to be beach if you take the route down the side of Ku De Ta. The resort is new so everything feels fairly clean and fresh but from a style perspective, this place if pretty basic and plain once you get past the nice pool areas. Rooms are good sizes but quite bland. We had a standard room on the 2nd floor which was plenty big enough for 2. The next room up in terms of price bracket is on the 1st floor and therefore you are situated right on the path around the pool so effectively your 'pool terrace' is 2 chairs on a public pathway. For this type of room you also get a bath and the bathroom is quite a bit bigger but like I said, the standard room is plenty big enough for 2 anyway and you get a private balcony overlooking the pool so I have no idea why you would pay the extra money to upgrade your room.

Negatives: The constant noise and movement of staff. Whilst this might sound odd, the sheer amount of staff and workmen around just kill any sense of a peaceful retreat. I know they are working hard to keep the place clean, tidy and bug free but you just can't relax anywhere for 5 mins without someone attending to some work issue around you -sometimes literally right next to you. Cleaning starts about 7.30am and there was a cleaning staff of about 5 on our floor. There aren't that many rooms but it took them a good 10 hours to clean all the rooms therefore the corridors are full of dirty sheets, towels, cleaning products, cleaning trolleys practically all day. The walls are pretty thin too so if a room next door to you is being cleaned you will hear it. Trying to relax by the pool is impossible - there are men in green overalls, brown overalls, khaki overalls - god knows what they all do. I watched a guy in green overalls cut a patch of grass about a metre wide which spanned the length of the 25 metre pool BY HAND with a small pair of shears. All I heard for 2 hours was 'snip, snip, snip' before I couldn't take anymore. Then they was the bug-spray guy - going in and out of every room. Then there were other guys in overalls fiddling with something underground until the stench of drains was so strong they managed to clear the pool area one afternoon. The point is there is always someone doing something within about 5 metres of you so it's hard to relax. You feel like they are are creating jobs to do. I'm sure this goes on in every hotel and it's great that they care about the property but the resort is so small that everyone is on top of each other and you just feel bad lounging by the pool or on your balcony/terrace when people are slaving away around you. The pool is also so close to the rooms that I got woken by very noisy small children in the pool at 7am for 3 mornings in a row. This is not the hotels fault but it is the design of the hotel that makes this is all the more noticeable. I just couldn't relax the whole time I was there. Workmen seriously outnumbered guests by about 3 -1 so I felt like I was imposing on their work day!

Breakfast was OK - provided at Batu Kali on the main road. There was lots of choice and freshly cooked eggs but don't go there for lunch as they do the blandest Nasi Goreng and Sate I've ever eaten.

Overall, I was looking for a peaceful place to rest by the pool before going to the beach and then going out in the evening - this provided the amenities and location to do that at a good price but I was glad to leave the hustle and bustle of the hotel by the end of my stay. I'd spend extra and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Superior Room on 2nd floor - don't pay the extra for Deluxe Pool Terrace room as the 'pool t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LMcKeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warta1604, General Manager at Amadea Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear SingaporeRedDot,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your valuable feedback.

As our tagline says 'peaceful oasis in Seminyak', we would like to provide peaceful sanctuary in the heart of vibrant Seminyak. We apologize that you did not get that experience during your stay. Yes, you are absolutely correct that everyone is trying hard to upkeep the property and we agree that this in other hand should consider the convenience of our guests. We will look into the work schedule again to ensure that every guest will enjoy the best quality time during their stay with us.

Once again we thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Wayan Warta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was our second hotel we visited whilst in Bali. We stayed here for 10 nights and got a fantastic price for the accommodation through booking.com.

The hotel was beautifully decorated and had a concierge desk to assist with baggage, and even a shuttle to run you down to reception and your room which was a few minutes walk away.The hotel was set in tropical gardens in which daily gardeners attended to flowers, shrubs, trees etc.

We had a ground-floor room (142) with a small patio area outside the front where we could leave towels, bikini's, surfboards etc to dry without hesitation,this was due to the 24 hour security which operated throughout the hotel.

The room was very clean and welcoming and had all the room comforts which you would expect from a 4* hotel.A massive bed, flat screen TV, nice shower and bathroom facilities and a bathrobe & slippers!

The hotel benefitted from free internet access in the lobby, two pools,spa,pool bar,towels and sun-loungers.... the one problem being that the pool didn't get much sun!

Breakfast was included in our room rate, and was a little disappointing for a buffet style breakfast. It was very tailored to Asian culture, "chicken porridge" and "chicken noodles" arent what we fancied at 9am! There was no choice of cereals... and the cereal available was muesli with the milk already added, so by the time we arrived to eat it was well and truly soggy. Despite these things there was elements of the breakfast which were nice such as fresh omlette's made and american style pancakes!

The hotel is positioned perfectly on the Seminyak strip and Seminyak beach.


Overall a really great stay and good value for money, would highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

new beautiful hotel with clean simple rooms and bathrooms. Friendly staff. Very nice spa with great massage ( although a bit more expensive than average in Bali). Location is good : right on the main street, with a lot of restaurants. Ku De Ta, main bar on the beach, is less than 10 min far.
Definitely a goodhotel to startyour stay with, only 20-30 minutes drive from the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trt1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 148 in Seminyak
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
U Paasha Seminyak
U Paasha Seminyak
#45 of 148 in Seminyak
1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#53 of 148 in Seminyak
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.4 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 148 in Seminyak
569 reviews
1.0 mi away
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadea Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadea Resort & Villas

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya 55, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#31 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#32 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $60 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amadea Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amadea Resort and Villas is an oasis in the heart of Seminyak.Located on the fashionable “eat street” with its’ many boutiques and famous restaurants the resort is perfectly located for those who want to be in the heart of the action.The resort consists of 86 rooms, 7 Suites and 7 villas. A choice of six 2 bedroom Villas or one 4 bedroom villa offering a fully equipped facility including their own private pool and garden. A perfect place to celebrate that special occasion with family or friends!All 93 spacious rooms and suites are tastefully furnished with flat screen TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, fridges and most rooms offer views onto one of the lap pools.Amadea is a perfect oasis for couples who want to enjoy a romantic escape or small group of friends and family who want to combine the vibrant side of Seminyak and peaceful lifestyle of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amadea Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadea Resort & Villas Hotel Seminyak
Amadea Resort And Villas
Amadea Resort & Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing