We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice new rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amadea Resort & Villas
Ranked #34 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
kelmscott
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location, nice new rooms”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Whilst this hotel is in a good location on the main street in Seminyak it is set back a long way . Its about a half a kilometer walk from the street. They do have golf buggy type transport to take your from the rooms to the foyer at the front of the hotel but these are not always available. The restaurant is on the main street so its quite a trek for breakfast. therefore this hotel is not really for the elderly or infirm. I also found a problem in the bathroom, as I am vertically challenged (5ft 2in) I had a real problem trying to step over the wide bath hob into the bath tub to get a shower. The rooms are O.K but are set around the pool and really on the ground floor there is no balcony to speak of . We did have a problem a couple of nights with a group of people being really noisy but security soon fixed that and the manager apologised to us the following day. This of course is not the fault of the hotel,but guests just not considering others. The staff at the hotel were all very polite and attentive. Overall this hotel was O.K. but just lacked atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perthgirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    706
    123
    31
    13
See reviews for
331
888
116
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stayed in the deluxe room which is just outside the swimming pool. the room was spacious, clean and modern. Comfortable King size bed to sleep in. With the pool just outside my room, the view around it was really gd and it gives me a very relaxing feeling. Only thing is you need to walk a long way to the entrance of the hotel or u can always call for the buggy to fetch u. Service was great as well... You are greeted by the staffs wherever u go... Location was great too... Shops and restaurants is just at the door step of the hotel and Seminyak beach just 15mins walk away.

On the day I'm supposed to leave... The driver who is supposed to pick me up did not turn up... The staff on seeing me waited for my driver for a long time, approached me and asked if they can help... They tried calling the agency from which the driver is from but to no avail, then they arrange for their driver to send me to the airport(for a fee of course!) But i'm very impressed with their prompt actions in arranging for the driver to send me to airport. Thumbs Up!!!! Thank you so much for your service and great help....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick_tks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warta1604, General Manager at Amadea Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear nick_tks,

Many thanks for your compliments, we will share it with all team members at Amadea.

See you soon again.

Best regards,

Wayan Warta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This is a relatively new Resort/Villa ... in a great location right in the middle of "eat street" Seminyak, but unfortunately it didn't hit the mark for us. Initially we were impressed at how cheap the rates were and how many different types of rooms were available, but now we can see why the room rates are relatively low. The staff were very friendly, but the actual hotel lacks that "resort" feel. The pool is very small and there is a constant sewerage smell that wafts through the air when you are lying by the pool, we had a room by the pool and so could smell this as soon as we stepped outside.
We had junior suite which was spacious, with a huge bathroom - but for some reason the toilet is squashed up against a wall leaving no room for your knees when you sit? The shower is in the bath which really needs to step to get in to as its quite dangerous to get out of when you are wet and especially as there is no curtain/shower screen to stop the water from going everywhere when you shower. In addition our shower/bath was covered in sand and dust when we arrived and the the door handle on the bathroom door broke in the middle of the night so we had to use the reception toilet. They actually didn't repair it just unlocked it and left it broken so my husband got locked in there, so we didn't close it for the rest of our stay (lucky only 2 days)!
Other problems we found, our room service plates were left on our verandah for over 24hrs, we had ants in our room, we found glass pieces on our sun lounge and there was no mini bar in our room?
We are regulars to Bali and were hoping that we found a new place to stay, but unfortunately we won't back :-(

Room Tip: The private villas with a pool looked nice and reasonable value - I would not recommend the hotel ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thepences27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warta1604, General Manager at Amadea Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear thepences27,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay with us. As a new property, there many things that do not run well such as the sewage smell, broken key, shower in the Junior Suite, ants etc. However, those things have been fixed accordingly.

Our room service is handled by our partner at Bistro Batu Kali, now we have set up a new system so that all dirty plates will be collected on time.

We look forward to have another opportunity to welcoming you back to Amadea, perhaps you should try the villa this time.

Best regards,

Wayan Warta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed in the Deluxe Room for 4 nights. Overall room was clean, nice and new and overlooking the common pool. Service was great, we were greeted upon arrival and were driven in a buggy to the back where the reception was. Hotel requires a deposit of around 440,000Rp on check-in of which they return fully on check-out. Daily buffet breakfast at the restaurant located at the front (called 'Bistro Batu Kali') was great, with a selection of a mixture of Western and Indonesian food such as mi goreng, nasi goreng, pancakes, fruit, pastries, sausages and fresh omelettes made in front of you. Room is cleaned everyday and security is quite good with 24 hour service and guards checking vehicles at the front. Only minor comment is the shower curtain kept falling down cos it uses suction to stick to the walls. Also, if you stay in the Deluxe/Superior rooms, you have to walk or get driven in a buggy all the way to the back (100m?), but is not really a big deal (good separation from the front street and restaurant). However the Villas (with self contained pool) are located closer to the front.
The best thing about this hotel is that is is new (opened in May) and is perfectly located in the centre of the main food street, with great restaurants, bars, high end boutique stores and convenience stores all located close by. Taxis are also easy to flag down with very little waiting time. If you are looking for a more lavish accomodation, I would recommend staying in the Villas.
Overall I would definitely rate this hotel for those who just want a nice modern hotel in a good location; those who want to go out and about try out different places nearby.
Tip1: For exchanging money I would recommend the money changer next door to the hotel (on the left) which has a glass door - they are more trustworthy than the dodgy ones on the street that offer unusually high exchange rates - don't be fooled!
Tip2: Taxi drivers may not know where Amadea resort is, but if you say "Jalan Laksmana, near Ultimo restaurant" they will know how to get there. Taxi from airport costs around 70,000Rp.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizard_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Great location to restaurants, ease of access from airport, set well back from main road as long as you dont mind a very long walk. Staff did not understand english very well. Checked into room which was found to be not as clean as you would expect a new resort to be, Bathroom door did not fit in its frame so you could not close it when going to toilet, shower did not drain so floor became flooded. joining door between rooms did not lock so guest in next room had access to your room anytime.
Asked to move rooms which took some time but same problems again. Balcony looked onto the driveway which was very loud all night long, breakfast was great but area smelt like raw sewage. The say they are a quiet location in the heart of Seminyak this is not true. Found lots of guest complaining about same issues.

Room Tip: Hard to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubaguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warta1604, General Manager at Amadea Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear scubaguys,

We thank you for your feedback and please accept our apology for the inconveniences you had during your stay. Please be assured that everything is now taken care. The issue of sewage smell at Bistro Batu Kali has been accordingly communicated with their management. We have seen that they are now tackling the issue.

We look forward to be at your service again in the very near future.

Best regards,

Wayan Warta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This is on a strip of road where all the shops are. It has a small entrance, which goes into a large estate behind, with both villas and hotel rooms. There are two pools for the hotel (and I prusume the villas would have their own pool).

When you arrive, you get taken to reception (at the back) with a "golf" cart. The staff are very friendly, each greeting you as you pass them.

You get complimentary drinks (mocktail), 15min massage, and breakfast with your room. The breakfast is done thru a bistro in the front of the hotel. Food is just ok only. The mee goreng is consistently undercooked.

Wifi internet must be purchased, and is ok for surfing, but not streaming videos or downloading an app or music. Rp55,000 for 2 hrs (you can log in and log out to make full use of the time). Best to get a sim card and tether mobile data. (XL netowork has a monthly pass for rp 100, 000 at a cap of 2gb).

Overall I would rate the hotel a 4 star, hopefully it stays that way. As this is a relatively new hotel, it might deteriorate with age.

Location: This area is extremely touristy- you wouldn't want to be here for more than 3 days. It is very close to all the bars & clubs of seminyak, and is probably a good place to start when you first get to bali.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Nice property close to many resturants and shopping on busy Jalan Laksmana. The hotel rooms are well off the street so the street noise doesn't intrude. Nice gardens and 2 swimming pools. We stayed in ground floor deluxe pool terrace room which had a large bedroom and bathroom with shower over bath and lovely fluffy towels. Comfortable bed, nice pillows and linen and good room lighting. The resort has friendly staff. The villas look nice and spacious with their own pools.

It's the details that let this resort down. The walls are thin as we could hear lots of noise from the ajoining rooms and from upstairs. There was a constant sound of running water from behind the wall. We had booked a double bed and first of all they gave us 2 singles pushed together and only moved us to a room with a proper double bed when we complained. There is no drying rack for clothes even though the hotel directory says there is. When using the shower the water sometimes didn't drain away and we ended up standing in 5cm of water. The pool bar is about 10m away from the pool and doesn't serve food. The resort does not have free wi-fi anywhere but you can get free wi-fi at the separately owned and operated resturant at the front which also serves the included breakfast. Breakfast was okay. The room had a DVD player but we had to call maintenance to set it up - it wasn't even connected to the power supply behind the cabinet!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonesterWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#27 of 146 in Seminyak
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
0.4 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#31 of 146 in Seminyak
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.9 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#64 of 146 in Seminyak
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadea Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadea Resort & Villas

Property: Amadea Resort & Villas
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya 55, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#30 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#32 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amadea Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amadea Resort and Villas is an oasis in the heart of Seminyak.Located on the fashionable “eat street” with its’ many boutiques and famous restaurants the resort is perfectly located for those who want to be in the heart of the action.The resort consists of 86 rooms, 7 Suites and 7 villas. A choice of six 2 bedroom Villas or one 4 bedroom villa offering a fully equipped facility including their own private pool and garden. A perfect place to celebrate that special occasion with family or friends!All 93 spacious rooms and suites are tastefully furnished with flat screen TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, fridges and most rooms offer views onto one of the lap pools.Amadea is a perfect oasis for couples who want to enjoy a romantic escape or small group of friends and family who want to combine the vibrant side of Seminyak and peaceful lifestyle of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amadea Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadea Resort & Villas Hotel Seminyak
Amadea Resort And Villas
Amadea Resort & Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing