We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Be Fooled By the Pretty Photos and Positive Reviews”
Review of Green Chaka Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Chaka Villas
Ranked #23 of 107 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Be Fooled By the Pretty Photos and Positive Reviews”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

First of all I need to say that I hate leaving negative reviews so I will just list the things that led me to rate this bed and breakfast 1 star.

1.Location is difficult to find and when our driver called to get directions no one answered the phone. After 45 minutes trying, someone picked up and told our driver (in Balinese) that the "owner" was away on another island and that he would have to call us back with directions.

2. 10 minutes later someone calls with directions. We arrive and are greeted by 2 young men for which English was a challenge. One of the two didn't
speak English at all.

3. The room, although large and nicely decorated - which looks amazing on their website - was not clean. There was a dusty shag rug that had never seen a vacuum and the towels were musty. We found hair strands on the sheets and called to have the sheets changed. We were then asked if we wanted ALL the sheets changed or just the one with the hair on it. We requested ALL the sheets be changed. Moments later they had redone the bed and sprayed half a bottle of Fabreze on the mattress.

4. The bathroom was massive. It had a skylight above the shower from which people on the terrace above could look down into the shower. There was also a window that was "boarded up" with decorative boards and a porno decoplage.
The boards had huge gaps between them so it was easy for mosquitoes and critters to get in. At night we had to sleep under the mosquito net and wear repellent.

5. The houseboys then disappeared and we felt as if we were abandoned in a deserted house. We went into common areas and found 2 shaggy Persian cats - one sleeping on the dining table, the other sleeping on the kitchen counter.
The sink had dirty containers and the stopper was filled with food. There were also dirty ashtrays and stained, dirty rags on the counter. The refrigerator was empty except for a plate full of watermelon slices and drawers full of plastic medicine bottles. We lost all appetite for the "included breakfast" and decided to eat out every morning. We also desperately tried to get a room elsewhere but everything was full. Since it
was only a 3 night stay we decided to bite the bullet. At least we knew the bed was clean.

6. Because of the lack of personnel or of the language barrier were unable to get directions, suggestions or even a map and pretty much had to fend for ourselves.

7. The day before we left we asked for our bill. We were told the missing owner would email us the amount. The next day we were told it needed to be paid in cash - of course. We went to an ATM and paid the houseboy. We were told we'd receive a receipt via mail. I write this 3 weeks later and still have not received anything.

8. As we were leaving we met 2 newly arrived guests. A STRAIGHT married couple from Australia! So much for this being a gay, clothing optional
place.

Staying at this villa left a bad taste in our mouths. Having stayed at 2 amazing locations the previous weeks (Phil's Place in Seminyak and Taman Bebek in Ubud) - we left Bali wishing we had gone home earlier so that we wouldn't have had the negative experience at Green Chaka's Villa Eden. Don't be fooled (as we were) by the beautiful photos on the website or all the positive reviews you read. The place is dirty, has -0 customer service, the "staff" doesn'tspeak English and it misrepresents itself online.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oscar J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
30
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Its my second time within 5mnths staying at the villa.The owner Chandra and his boys makes our stay memorable..we are treated as friends and not as guests..good service nice ambience..privacy..will definitely continue staying here

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bbyayumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I simply cannot praise the beautiful owner Chandra and his wonderful staff for making my stay perfect.I had a the hugest room - immacuately and beautifully presented and a jungle style shower bathroom. The hotel is private, secluded and idyllic and the staff sweet and so helpful.

Just go there !! - it's a classy and special place :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed for a week at Villa Eden (near the Kunja Hotel) and had a great experience; you cannot but relax in such peaceful, quiet surroundings. Can't fault the service, bedrooms and bathrooms are huge and comfortable...it's just perfect if you 're looking for a relaxing getaway. Chandra and staff were very helpful and the cooked breakfast is sumptuous.
I will definitely come back one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HermannS516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Green Chaka Villa's Bali. The villa's themselves are beautifully furnished and appointed and were very clean.
The pool and garden area is amazing, so lush, a real tropical paradise.
Our host, Chandra and his staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and their attention to detail was brilliant.
One of the best holidays I've ever had, will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here in February 2013 and really enjoyed our time in Villa Eden Green Chaka. Rooms are well appointed and bathrooms are huge, very luxurious. The swimming pool is in a beautiful tropical garden setting and only 3 or 4 metres from our room door, each day started and finnished with a dip in the water. Cooked to order breakfast is a nice touch each morning. With only 3 rooms in this hotel it felt like we were the only guests there most of the time. Villa staff very efficient and owner/manager very helpful with info regarding the local area or tours. Villa well located - easy walk to Potato Head, beach and really good restaurants.

Room Tip: If you are in and out of the pool all day, book one of the two downstairs rooms, they are closer. Up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRETT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Myself and two friends stayed in the villa for 7 days. The rooms, pool and garden setting is just amazing. The villa is totally secluded from the outside world and you feel like you are in a tropical pradise. The rooms are fully equipped and the beds are very comfortable. It's close to all the action but you cannot hear the traffic. The owner and the staff are very helpful and friendly and the villa is very well kept. I would recommend the villas to all my friends.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
Room & Vespa 4
Room & Vespa 4
#8 of 107 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
#9 of 107 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.8 mi away
D'Penjor Seminyak
D'Penjor Seminyak
#5 of 107 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Bunga Hotel & Spa
Villa Bunga Hotel & Spa
#13 of 107 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bali Yubi Villa
Bali Yubi Villa
#16 of 107 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Light Villas
The Light Villas
#20 of 415 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Chaka Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Chaka Villas

Property: Green Chaka Villas
Address: Petitenget Beach, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Green Chaka Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing