We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely private Villa, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Astana Batubelig Villa
Ranked #106 of 411 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely private Villa, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I do recommend Astana Batubelig villa!
We had 3 days reservation there (07/2013) and had a wonderful time. Good value for money! we ordered a package with flights from Singapore from AsiaTravel.
Service was excellent and on time all the time. We ordered breakfast every evening from a menu that had 4-5 different choices (from continental to american) and could even choose our own juices and type of eggs. we said the time and breakfast was always delivered on time to our own kitchen.
2 * 0,5l water bottles are delivered to your bathroom every day. Once during your visit they replace (without charge) minibar's honey peanut, coca cola and green tea drinks. in the kitchen you have tea bags and water heater. Villa offers room service, some small snacks and appetizers.

Private Astana Villa is exactly what you see in the hotel pictures. Beautiful, quiet, clean, tastefully furnished. Bathroom is pretty and big, bedroom bed faces the pool. The glass doors of the bedroom can be opened so that you can dip into your own pool right from your bedroom.
Astana Villa with a private pool was an excellent choice for spending relaxed time. All the villas are the same shape and size and pool. The pool has a few water massage points and the depth is about 1,50 meters which was good for swimming.

Since Villa Astana is situated in Seminyak you do need a taxi to get around. The streets are not wide or safe enough for walking. But the taxi to for example Kuta is only around 30 000 rupiah. It takes around an hour to to the airport. If there is traffic or a big bus turning around (for example on temple seremony days) the traffic can be stuck for a long long time. Note this if you are going to the airport!
The only negative thing to say about Astana Babubelig is that the towels were clean but they were clearly old with stains in them. Villa offers the guests both white towels to use in the villa and striped towels to use in the beach.

Beach nearby (200-300m) the villa is not so pretty, with dark sand and no services or cafes. We took a taxi to Sanur beach or to seminyak or Kuta beach every day. Beaches in the east cost of Nusa Dua were disappointment and not good for snorkeling.

Just across the street is a proper massage place that offers decent Balinese massage (1h 50 000 rupiah) and pedicure (45 000 rupiah). Close by is also an ATM and next to it a Naughty Nuri's ribs place. Ribs are fine but the place is crowded in the evenings and it is a bit overpriced. Note that minimum payment with credit card in Naughty Nuri's is 800 000 rupiah!
Right next door is a cafe where you can order breakfast, sandwiches and wraps. The service is slow and tiny wraps with french fries cost 42 000 rupiah. Queens Tandoori is a decent indian food place.

A great place to shop top quality bikinis, swimwear, tops and underwear is 69slam, a Balinese brand. The other good place for beach wear is Surfer Girl (Jl Legian 138) that has Quicksilver, Billabong, Rip Curl and other famous brands on top of their own Surfer Girl brand. Both have online-store as well.

Room Tip: Try to find a good package and you probably end up paying a bit less per night than ordering the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Batubelig Villa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Lnghll,

Warmest greeting from Astana Batubelig Suite Villa..

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to say thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali.

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to read that your time with us at Astana Batubelig Suite Villa was amazingly wonderful, right from the sincere service from our team members, the beauty of the villa (of course the private pool). Thank you so much also to explain what around our area start from restaurant, ATM, Money changer also, we wish it will be helping to another who are still looking good place to wonderful staying in Bali.

Again thank you so much for your delight review about us and we are waiting for your next stay with us.

Should there any assistance pleased feel free to contact us

ours sincerely,

Gede Pria Ady Kusuma
--------------------------------
Unit Manager Astana Batubelig Suite Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    91
    27
    8
    9
See reviews for
18
154
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

What you see in the pictures are what you get. It is beautiful. But this villa taught me that beauty isn't everything. It lacks the genuineness and has a bad service recovery.

The Good:
If you are looking for a private experience away from all the hustle and bustle, this is definitely the place to be. You would have to pre-order your breakfast the day before. Different sets to choose from e.g.: Asian, American etc… Variety in sets is a lot but taste is mediocre.

There is free shuttle to Seminyak and Kuta. There are times when the shuttle service is not available so have cash ready for taxis.

Only the staff Ayu, seemed genuine in serving customers. The rest were fake, especially one of the older male staff (thats another chapter to talk about)

The Bad:

I do not like it when something is promised for the amount paid but it is not delivered. When you say I would get a welcome drink, fruit-basket etc… I would expect to see it when I arrive because your package mentioned that its all included for the price paid for. Previous review has encountered the same problem so it seems that this Villa does not take our reviews seriously. I do not see why I should ask the staff for it when it should be provided with initiative.

My package included activities such as water rafting or 10 hour tour. We chose water rafting. An hour and a half journey and extra waiting time after changing our clothes, we were told it had to be cancelled due to a fallen tree. We accepted it since its nature. That company mentioned there would be a refund by villa. So our morning was wasted.

We headed back with another hour and a half car ride to villa but the staff mentioned no refunds but only alternatives. We were leaving the next day so water rafting the next day was not an option. So he suggested replacing the 10hour tour with 4 hour tour. The locations he wrote down was different from the locations we were brought to. Our morning was wasted in car rides and our afternoon was wasted going from one beach to another just sitting and having a drink.

I didn't cook up a fuss there because I was there to relax, not to spoil it. I emailed them for an explanation but no reply. So thank you Astana BatuBelig for spoiling our limited time there. Do not give me your standard replies here because I will definitely not return and not recommend this place.

I had doubts about this place before booking it and now regret not listening to my instincts. For some, you might say my water-rafting experience might be a one-off thing. But keep in mind that if they were not able to rectify the minute problem of missing welcome-drink and fruit-basket with a few tourists, how are they going to solve unexpected problems?

Room Tip: I stayed in room 114, not a major problem with noise and Wi-Fi was decent. Too many insects around p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelnoobdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed in room 115 in June 2013. Villa same as pictures. Small kitchen (with pans, cutlery, coffee cups but no dinner plates), very large bedroom with 2 couches, flat screen TV and DVD/USB player, gorgeous bathroom (central bathtub, large shower with rainfall head), small patio off bathroom with 2 loungers and large private pool. Great overall. Pool very private.
Location quieter than Kuta so nicer, 25min walk on beach to Seminyak. Beach at Batu belig (less than 5min walk from hotel) has quite black sand but 5 mins along beach to nicer sand and several beach cafes.
Wifi great in hotel. Staff amazingly friendly. Paid for taxis for me to get to Kuta as their shuttle was not available. Breakfast did have to be ordered the day before, which didn't bother me, and delivered to your villa.
Overall, villa very nice, location quieter but means you need to travel. I would come back because private pool made up for any other negatives.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Batubelig Villa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Julia B,

Warmest greeting from Astana Batubelig Suite Villa..

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to say thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali.

Please allow me to thank you for taking the time to post your review of your most recent stay at Astana Batubelig Suite Villa. It is a pleasure to read that your time with us has been nice especially for private swimming pool and our staff performance. Explain all about our facility as information for other guest. Again we say thank you for your all review and we are waiting to welcoming you again for next stay with us.

If we could be of any assistance in your future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us .

Yours sincerely,

Gede Pria Ady Kusuma
--------------------------------
Unit Manager Astana Batubelig Suite Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from Astana villas where we stayed 7 nights, and it was a lovely stay.
The villas look exactly like on the photos, and are in excellent condition and truly only 300 m walk to the beach.
The pools are actually a lot larger than they look in the photos and we got quite a bit of sunshine (stayed in villa 121 ) although if the tree in the garden was trimmed a bit we would of got a lot more sunshine !
the villas are very private but with the added bonus of your normal hotel service.
Our package included one set lunch which we had to order the night before, and that was lovely, and we also had the romantic dinner - so sweet they prepared the pool with flower petals, and "I love you" was written out with the petals in the pool with candles set up all around, even the bath tub was prepared.

The staff are all very friendly and welcoming and couldn't help you more, and were also very accommodating with free transfers into Seminyak/Kuta/Legian.

The villas is a little out of Seminyak - if you like walking its about a 15/20 minute walk along the beach into Seminyak , otherwise a cab will cost you between 25 - 30 (000) rupia.

There is a few nice Warungs right next to the villas, especially Naughty Nuris which is a must for the best ribs in the world !

The only thing which needs slight improvements is the breakfast which you must order the night before, it was a little inconsistent in taste and in what was actually included, and things like milk/salt and pepper were sometimes overlooked - but with that in mind when we called reception and let them know we were missing something it was delivered straight away !

We would defiantly recommend this villa and seriously consider returning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishaJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Batubelig Villa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear TrishaJ1,

Warmest greeting from Astana Batubelig Suite Villa..

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to say thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali.

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to read that your time with us at Astana Batubelig Suite Villa was amazingly wonderful, right from the sincere service from our team members, the beauty of the villa (of course the private pool), lunch food and WOW for candle light dinner with flowers arrangement that made your stay an unforgettable experience.
I highly appreciate your feedback also about slight improvements for the breakfast food where we already discuss with related department to improvements by controlling for all standard recipe and standard set up as order. Again thank you for your review and I am also very happy to hear that you are planning another visit to Astana Batubelig Suite Villa. We can not wait to see you soon again.

If we could be of any assistance in your future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us .

Happy days to you

Gede Pria Ady Kusuma
--------------------------------
Unit Manager Astana Batubelig Suite Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed for 6nights from 28th april-4may,and on arrival were supposed to get fruit basket supplied,but had to ask for it next day(great start).Also were given the nearest villa to the road(asked to be moved after 1st night)as it was terribly noisy from traffic in the morning,and staff using stairway to go up above office! 2nd villa was about 9 away from road and no traffic noise.Dissapointed though as we had a brochure for a tour to Lovina.Waterfall,temple on the lake etc,and asked reception could they do it cheaper or at least the same price,they said they could do it for the same price,However the original included lunch and all entry fees,and with there tour guide we had to pay all these extras that we were not happy about at all! Also as i said villas ok,but got woken up every morning by the neigbours rooster crowing at about 5am(should put him down)and so not to much pieceful sleep!Everyone must hear him just don"twant to let on!

Room Tip: ask for away from the road,the further the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coyote1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Batubelig Villa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Kelvin,

Warmest greeting from Astana Batubelig Suite Villa...

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali.

We regret to hear that some part of our services were not meeting your individual expectation. We encourage and appreciate all guests to share their review in immediate time so that we can address the every concern immediately. We always trying every single guest to looking or helping to call and booked a tour package. It's any a tour package selling in Bali with many option price and come with some inclusion so i believe that it's just miss communication between us.We highly appreciate your feedback also about the neigbours rooster crowing in early morning. Our location at a middle of local people housing where is some people have a raising chicken at home. It's a good point for us to get a solution and I am committed to ensuring we resolve each point you have made. We very much look forward to welcoming you on your future Bali vacation.

If we could be of any assistance in your future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us .

Yours sincerely,

Gede Pria Ady Kusuma
--------------------------------
Unit Manager Astana Batubelig Suite Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Astana Batubelig is a wonderful getaway in Seminyak, Bali. We stayed in Villa 122 and the room was a great size, its features exactly as depicted in the pictures.

I read a lot of reviews concerning the wifi being erratic, however I only have good things to report on that front. We had no trouble at all :) It was a real treat to listen to our spotify playlists as we relaxed in the pool. I'd imagine you would hear some noise from traffic is you were placed in one of the villas closer to the front of the property- I would certainly ask for one of the mid to end ones like ours.

The staff at Astana are so very helpful - they went out of their way to make sure our needs were taken care of. Mr. Putu and the two ladies at the reception were friendly and warm. We enjoyed our conversations with them about Balinese culture as well as the wonderful arrangements they made for our travel needs. Bikes are free; mopeds are available on rent, at 60k rupiah a day- the perfect way to get about and enjoy the shopping and eateries 10 min away. The shuttle was helpful too in the evenings, and for longer journeys, car+driver arrangements may be made. We visited the Tanah Lot temple for a fantastic sunset view :)

Breakfast was adequate and served to our room at the time of our preference. They do require that you make your selection the previous day, which was fine. There is a Chinese restaurant next door, if like us, sometimes you are too lazy to venture out far.

The beach really is a short walk away, and our first evening we walked over to catch the sunset. That said, the approach road and initial entry to the beach is not very nice. There is a sunset bar and a small shack of a spot on the beach to have a drink, but it didn't look inviting at all. We snapped a few pictures, enjoyed the sunset and made our way back to the villa.

All in all, I highly recommend Astana Batubelig. It is far (but not overly so) from the hustle and bustle of the shopping areas, the service was exceptional and the room was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa further away from the lobby. Ours was 122 and well to the interior - no noise, great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cppriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Batubelig Villa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Mr/s. Priya Chirayat,

Warmest greeting from Astana Batubelig Suite Villa...

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali.

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor and we are really happy to serving during your stay. We hope you had a memorable stay with us...feel like your home.

We look forward to welcoming you on all your future holiday with new experience and more memorable stay with us.
If we could be of any assistance in your future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us .

Yours sincerely,

Gede Pria Ady Kusuma
--------------------------------
Unit Manager Astana Batubelig Suite Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had week at the villas. The private pool is great but it is a little claustrophobic, with the high walls all around. The staff are typical of the people of Bali, warm, friendly and keen to help. We really enjoyed our time here taking time out from work and doing very little.

We made the mistake of buying the Combination Package, not realising that the apartment in Sanur is just a combined bed/sitting room with no bath, just shower and no private pool and in a two-storey group of units; going from total privacy, to much much less. We were very thankful for the support of Wotif, in getting agreement from the owners to let us stay for the original package price. At first the hotel asked for an additional US$175 to stay in the Villa for two days, rather than relocate to Sanur. This took two days of negotiating and many emails to and fro to Wotif...but they were great and got the hotel to agree to let us stay for the original price! The thing to note here is the hotel will not refund for ANY reason.

We enyoyed our hotel breakfasts - try the Indonesian options, very different but nice and very tasty. There are also many quality restaurants around, just a short taxi ride away... US$2 to $3. We were surprised that the beach was not so "nice"...the sea was quite rough, OK in places for the surfers but not for swimmers; and there is the dark sand and TOO much rubbish.

Just a note on Sanur, the beaches are much much better for swimming, white sand and almost as quiet as Seminyak's beaches. Maybe try and find a private pool villa and stay there?!? Or, perhaps not, it really does depend what you're looking for, the earthiness of Seminyak is very different from the more conservative, and tourist oriented Sanur.

Happy hols, Trevor and Jenni

Room Tip: Beware of the combination package - the room quality is very different in Sanur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Batubelig Villa, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Trevor and Ms. Jenni,

Warmest greeting from Astana Batubelig Suite Villa...

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we hope you had memorable stay.

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor . We are very pleased to know as your feedback to us.

We look forward to welcoming you on all your future holiday with new experience and more memorable stay with us.
If we could be of any assistance in your future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us .

Yours sincerely,

Gede Pria Ady Kusuma
--------------------------------
Unit Manager Astana Batubelig Suite Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
2.2 mi away
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
#70 of 411 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.0 mi away
Astana Kunti
Astana Kunti
#23 of 105 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Tukad Villa
The Tukad Villa
#90 of 411 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#13 of 411 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crown Bali Villa Seminyak
Crown Bali Villa Seminyak
#83 of 411 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Jas Villas
The Jas Villas
#42 of 411 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astana Batubelig Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astana Batubelig Villa

Property: Astana Batubelig Villa
Address: Jl. Batubelig No. 28, Seminyak, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 411 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Astana Batubelig Villa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astana Batubelig Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astana Batubelig Villa Hotel Seminyak
Astana Batubelig Villa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing