We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly enjoyable villa stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phil's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phil's Place
Ranked #116 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly enjoyable villa stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

The husband and I stayed at Phil’s place this February (2014) and we’re so pleased we did. Phil is a gracious host who genuinely wants to make sure you have an outstanding time in Bali and at his place.

Not only were we within short walking distance of the gay clubs, shopping and the beach - additionally Phil’s Place is located minutes away from two of the best warungs in the area. (Warung Mimpi and Waring Taman Bambu.)

We found the staff to be just delightful - super courteous and helpful. This was my first time in Bali, and drinks can be a bit expensive, so I’ll say that the mini bar prices at Phil’s are very reasonable.

I was so thankful for the indoor pool to cool off from those hot, humid Bali days - BONUS - the daring can skinny dip.

The bed in the room was wonderfully comfortable with a picturesque view of the indoor pool. The only down point was something Phil had no control over - mosquitos. I’m one of the lucky many that mosies love to bite - we didn’t see the plug in repellant until the 2nd day there (shame face on my part) - but the staff does spray and light coils to keep them at bay.

The breakfast menu varies during the week and both the "American" and Indonesian offerings were super tasty. (They graciously gave me all watermelon for the fruit platter as I'm not a big fan of papaya or honey dew melon.) In other words, if you have a food preference don't be afraid to ask!

We enjoyed the area and the accommodation and would definitely book again - say hi to the turtle when you stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
44
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I was staying in Sanur for a wedding and had a couple of days to fill in before returning home so I thought I try a couple if nights on the wild side of Bali . After a quick look on tripfinder and other sites I contacted Phil's place via email from a net cafe in Sanur and received a clear response within minutes .
My room was booked at a great rate and they also organized to pick me up from Sanur for a very reasonable price.
Right on time the next day I was greeted buy a cheery young guy in a clean air con van and delivered to Phil's place . Although at first I was not to sure about the location ( down a narrow road into an even narrower lane and the into a smaller entrance way ) I was greeted at reception again with a smile and no prob attitude and although not big the place did have a nice sort of homely feel about it .
After a few walk s to the main shopping strip and restaurants and bar area in the daylight I felt quite comfortable walking to and from , night and day but it is handy to find a landmark so you know were to turn .
The bed was good , the breakfast was great , pool very refreshing , the staff were all very friendly and helpfull . great in house massage and great location .
Phil's place is a small cozy quiet place , easy walk to shops and restaurants and night life . Not to far to walk to the beach either . If I am ever in the area again I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank GBeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Phils Place is just a delight to stay in. Close to bars and shops and restaurants. The Hotel is beoutique clean tidy and the stsaff are outstanding at every level. The breakfast is felxable and nice. The bar is small and the pool is warming and perfect and has a louge area next to it. NOW the massage is the best I have ever had and is professional form start to end. We stayed there last year when next door construction was under way and it made no differnce at all. We are nbooked in again to stay In APRIL 2014. Excited as this place is perfect for a relaxing holiday and close to Bars we same sex people like, some quiet some crazy but within five minutes walk. Its safe and its secure.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, to choose one means you miss out on the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOORYwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My partner and I stayed here on a trip to Bali and really loved this place! It's like staying at a home away from home and we were lucky to have come across it. Firstly the location is perfect as it is only a short walk from the shopping streets of Seminyak and very close to all the gay bars which are great for a fun night out. The staff here were so welcoming and friendly and special thanks to Dodi and Aldi for being so warm and welcoming. The place only has 5 rooms and we stayed in the upstairs room which was superb with a large bedroom, bathroom with a beautiful shower and bath, and a verandah area which was perfect for relaxing during the day. Also a small downstairs pool which was fantastic. The staff take your breakfast orders the night before and make it for you in the morning whenever you decide to wake up. Staff are there all the time so it is very safe and secure and you can come back from your night out whenever you like knowing you can still get in. They also organised our laundry to be done and had it back the next day. Phil you have an amazing place and we will be back for sure !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stay here again over Christmas and received a warm welcome back. The location is perfect for Bars and Beach. Service is above and beyond. Rooms are very clean and breakfast is very good too. Definitely staying again in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I don't write reviews but Phil's villa is exceptional. The villa is in the heart of Seminyak and very close (walking distance ) to major entertainment and the beach. As soon as you enter the gate, you are greeted with a sense of tranquility as you steps onto the little pond and the Buddha waterfall. The bedrooms are well decorated and more than what I expected for the price. There is the pool in the middle of the villa and a serene back garden, with a well set-up massage gazebo and outdoor showers. But most of all, the owner (Phil) and his staff provide the best service- and will go out of their way to make you feel at home. Highly recommend this villa, and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at Phils Place in May 2012 (sorry i had always thought i had written a review back then). Stayed in the garden view room nearest the kitchen./ bar area.
when we had first booked it was to be a shared bathroom, though to our surprise when we arrived there had been a freshly built onsite in our room. Definitely made a difference to the stay, allowing for a bit more peace and privacy being so close to where staff and other guests congregate at times.
The staff are so friendly and awesome, were always there no matter what time of day or night to attend your needs.
At the time we were there all the construction was going on next door, though to be honest even that wasn't a big deal.
the location is very convenient for clubs, cafes shops etc. Pool is awesome to lounge in after a bit of a walk around the area or a lovely day trip out some where.
Breakfast was included and a great relief to wake up any time off the day and still be offered.
Returned to Bali this May in 2013, alas we had a girlfriend travelling with us so had to stay elsewhere, though dropped by for a visit to see the guys. Looking forward to staying there again soon. Would definitely recommend giving it a try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
1.3 mi away
Spartacvs Bali Hotel
Spartacvs Bali Hotel
#17 of 115 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunclad Villa
Sunclad Villa
#84 of 201 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Rajapala
Villa Rajapala
#227 of 410 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Green Chaka Villas
Green Chaka Villas
#26 of 103 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Laki Uma Villa
#21 of 41 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.4 mi away
Artisane Villas and Spa
Artisane Villas and Spa
#112 of 410 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phil's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phil's Place

Property: Phil's Place
Address: Jl. Plawa, 40 Gang Melati, Seminyak, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gay guest house in Seminyak, Bali - 5 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms. Close to gay bars (10 minutes by foot), restaurants, shops and beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phil`s Place Hotel Seminyak
Phil's Place Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing