We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Phil's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phil's Place
Ranked #123 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently and loved it. The location is close enough to the city center for everything to be readily accessible, but once you enter the home you're shut off from the hustle and bustle. The staff was very attentive and helpful and always polite. Once the construction is finished next door, things will be much quieter. Be mindful that this is a home, not a resort, so there's limited outdoor space for sunning.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericnelsonchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
44
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My partner and I visited Bali for the first time and we booked into Phil's Place based on the reviews here on TripAdvisor. We certainly were not disappointed. it was a real oasis away from the hustle and bustle but so close to great food and night-life.

In the afternoon we would go back to the villa for a dip in the pool and a snooze. Staff were delightful and so attentive always on hand. Putra was a superstar who speaks great English and has a great sense of humour. He arranged full day tour around the island giving us the best place to go and arranging a car and driver for the whole day for around $45. The villa was spotless and I felt very secure leaving my valuables in the in room safe. it really has a air of calm and we felt like we were at home, great fresh breakfast and unlimited coffee all day. I had a great massage in the outdoor gazebo, very professional, no sleaze. Make sure you arrange via the villa for a car and driver to pick you up from the airport, they have their own and for approx $10 a great way to start your holiday.

The gay bars and great restaurants are all only a short stroll away. Seminyak is nothing like Kuta or many parts of Bali, we were not hassled once by street sellers and the people were genuinely warm and inviting. Lots of great vegetarian food and cafes.

We often had went to 3 of 4 restaurants, grazing and having an entrée and drink at each, so much great cuisine. We were a little further from the beach but close to everything else. I have to say the beach had little around it and it is better to be where we were and if you want to go to the beach take a taxi for $2, so cheap.
In the evening go down to a bar Ku De Ta at around 5 pm for drinks overlooking the ocean and the stunning sunset. live DJ plays Cafe Del Mar style music. Just have drinks as food is expensive, and if you like the beach you can use their sun lounges and facilities, showers and sit on the grass.

I travel for work and stay at a lot of 5* hotels, it was great to get away to Phil's Place where it is exclusiveness gay, intimate, discreet, spotless and so welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robjfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Rooms are well-furnished with comfortable king size beds and air conditioning. Each room is a little different. Here’s what you can select from:
Premium room: Upstairs, with large en-suite bathroom including bathtub, and own private rooftop balcony area. Cable TV and DVD.
Garden access en-suites: Two large rooms, with full en-suite and direct garden access. Cable TV and DVD.
Pool access en-suite: Large room with en-suite and direct access to the pool. Cable TV and DVD.
Pool view room: Upstairs room with pool view, guest in this room use a shared bathroom. Cable TV and DVD.

Room Tip: Make sure you book in advance as the rooms get booked very quickly . We have booked again for Januar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nautilus1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Repeat customers. Lucky in a way that being Idul Fitri with little constructions going on next door. Location of the new building does not appear to keep Phils Place & pool in the shade. Staff always friendly (not gay). Staff should cut down use of mobile phone when customers are present. Pity coffee machine broken, missed our iced coffee in the afternoons & evenings. Local Nescafe is crap! Stayed again in Deluxe poolside room. Clean, & well maintained. For short visits breakfast is great with enough variety. Phil was away.

Room Tip: Suggest ground floor rooms. Deluxe poolside room is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_Joseph_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just had 14 days in bali 11 at phil's place, 2 stays of 8 and 3 days each. The villa is delightful, a relaxed atmosphere, chatting with other guests, and that genuine feeling of being welcome. The staff were friendly [ including the gardener and the laundry guy] and helpful, often going beyond the norm in their desire to assist. I stayed in both of the garden access rooms and enjoyed the garden outlook and fresh air. Yes there was a little construction noise during the day, but this appears to be almost over now and should be no problem in a couple of months. Impressed by the responses from Phil to my initial enquiries, found it easy to book and pay via the website, and had complimentary transfers from/to the airport, in-house massage and a late [8.30pm.] checkout as added bonuses for a 'longstay'. All-in-all a great place for a single traveller, truly excellent value for money. Also had several day trips by car in and around the surrounding countryside including being driven to Ubud [3 day stay at a resort suggested by Phil - a good choice], and back by a lovely scenic/sightseeing route. The driver was Gede, - lovely guy with a comfortable car, good english and good local knowledge. Highly recommended. It's 5 stars from me.

Mr. Peter, Sydney October 2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pbdinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is close enough to bars restaurants and shopping. It's safe to stroll down the one street to everything. The rooms are clean and tidy. We had a room with ensuite but the other rooms are all good. The staff are super helpful with anything you require or need to visit.
PHIL. Is a great bloke and equally as helpful to all your needs.
The breakfast is plentiful and varied and available after a late night I had one after 1130 am.
The pool and bar are quaint and private. The masseur is the most professional (no hanky panky) and best I have ever had.
This hotel is AWESOME

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOORYwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I meant to write this review about 6 months ago, when I got home, to warn people!!!

We arrived at Phil's place to try something a little different. We came from a hotel in Seminyak, and within 10 mins of arriving, I wanted to leave. There was a major construction site next door. We were upstairs at Phil's place, and looked directly into the site. The Villa was covered in dust from the work being conducted next door. Relaxing... jackhammers aren't relaxing in the slightest.

The air-conditioning was not strong enough to keep the room cool, the shower had scum that hadn't been cleaned off in... I don't know how long. There was limescale on the shower/tap/bath.

Downstairs by the pool was the buckets and cleaning products that didn't seem to have a home.

The staff could've been quite busy keeping this place clean, but they were too busy watching tv in the back room. We later found out that Phil was on holidays... maybe if he was there, we would've had a better experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesC392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philsplace, Owner at Phil's Place, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear JuleC392

I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay. For the benefit of other guests I note that this guest stayed 6 months ago when construction of a new villa next door was commencing. The villa is now almost complete and our neighbours do not create undue noise or dust in our villa.

We always value feedback on housekeeping matters, as we aim to maintain a high standard, and we have brought the matters you raised to the attention of our staff. We are aware of the issues of “limescale” which results from the well-water in Bali. While it tarnishes the taps, it is not soap scum.

Best regards
Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.6 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Spartacvs Bali Hotel
Spartacvs Bali Hotel
#14 of 113 in Kerobokan
150 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Rajapala
Villa Rajapala
#258 of 417 in Seminyak
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Artisane Villas and Spa
Artisane Villas and Spa
#94 of 417 in Seminyak
50 reviews
1.4 mi away
Balinea Villa - Rooms & Spa
1.8 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phil's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phil's Place

Property: Phil's Place
Address: Jl. Plawa, 40 Gang Melati, Seminyak, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gay guest house in Seminyak, Bali - 5 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms. Close to gay bars (10 minutes by foot), restaurants, shops and beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phil`s Place Hotel Seminyak
Phil's Place Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing