We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never judge a book by its cover”
Review of Warung Eny

Warung Eny
Ranked #60 of 519 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never judge a book by its cover”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stumbled across this place while walking into Seminyak beach and stopped because it was full of people who looked like they were enjoying the food and beers.

Very reasonably priced (IDR 150k for two mains and drinks) and the coldest beer in Bali (one came out and it was actually frozen!)

Honest food, made by locals without the tourist pricing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    259
    70
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
212 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Ate twice at this family run Warung. The service is great as is the atmosphere - open kitchen, some of the food cooked over an open grill out on the roadside and having to shift the cat to be able to sit down all contributed. The first meal as full of flavour and well cooked. The second, a preordered suckling pig was a bit of a let down. When you factor in the ridiculously low price of everything this restaurant represents real value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank litigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Looks dodgy but the food is great!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate there after seeing it on trip advisor and it was recomended by a friend. We got some of the garlic butter prawns for an starter and they were the biggest prawns I have ever seen. For a main I had the crab and my boyfriend had the whole red snapper, I would definetly go there again! We would like to get the suckling pig but you need to order it the day before.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stenbob90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good local experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We went here based on a recommendation from a friend. The food was very good, prepared on the BBQ on the road. The service was prompt but not at all polished. It was good value for money.
Don't go here if you like 'shiny' restaurants or oodles of atmosphere. Come here if you are looking for an authentic Balinese experience.
Nb-do not visit the bathroom. You have been warned!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twiggy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Forget it!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I do not understand how this restaurant gets such rave reviews! Our first visit here was vey disappointing- my husband ordered a meat (pork) dish as he is allergic to fish and it came garnished with fish! When we complained, the owner offered to cook a noodle dish which was a considerable improvement but it was added to the bill! My fish curry was appalling, three chunks of fish swimming in curry flavoured water. We paid the bill, minus the disastrous pork dish, and it was not contested. Would not recommend this - there are better in Seminyak!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Eny also viewed

 
Seminyak, Bali
 

Been to Warung Eny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing