We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Eny

Warung Eny
Jl. Petitenget 97 | (across from Gourmet Cafe next to Villa Lumbung), Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
361 473 892
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 452 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great, cheap little Balinese restaurant that offers a menu in English and cooking classes. You can watch your meal being prepared in the kitchen by the family. The corn fritters are great, as is the sate, and I wish I'd tried their bubur injin!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    206
    55
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Best dinner we had in Bali during our nine day stay! Absolutely amazing!!
Very small and hidden place, it can get busy so you might have to share a table but it's well worth it! We ordered three main meals, a fresh fruit juice and two beer and paid around 11 AUD - wow!!
Highly recommended!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amsely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Balinese nosh - better than Jimbaran bay prawns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived in torrential rain. I read about this Warung from a Gourmet Traveller review. Good on you Gourmet traveller because it was spot on.
This is a tiny eatery, with no air con, and a kitchen that you are almost sitting in. Well, what a great meal. The BBQ ( that is half on the road and footpath) was cranked up in the rain and we were cooked those classic giant prawns to perfection. We also had the yummy shredded chicken dish and a great salad of chopped up fresh veggies and cocconut. This food was far better than some of the other larger tourist warungs closer to town and the prawns were better than any I have had at Jimbaran Bay. I think it cost about $15 each so we left a super huge tip that almost doubled our bill we were so Impressed ...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“good home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great Balinese cooking run by Eny and her family. Corn fritters and nasi goreng yum yum! Get there early evening to ensure a table as it gets popular with Balinese and tourists.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank phil59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Eat the entire menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great value for money. About 20 metes from Hotel Vila Lumpung. Small & quaint. Everything on the menu especially the specials section) is worth trying. We particularly liked the Balinese duck batutu (135,000Rp; whole duck; signature claypot indonesian cooking style), Balinese salad (20,000Rp), giant prawns (110,000Rp), sate lilit (minced meats spiced and put around head of a lemon grass stalk; 80,000Rp). Prices as of June 2013 when AUD1=9400Rp.
Some dishes like the Balinese duck batutu and the black rice have to be ordered the day before. The batutu takes 4 hrs to cook.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Eny also viewed

 
Seminyak, Bali
 

Been to Warung Eny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing