We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food locale a little rustic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Eny

Warung Eny
Jl. Petitenget 97 | (across from Gourmet Cafe next to Villa Lumbung), Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
361 473 892
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 452 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food locale a little rustic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went here for dinner- upon first entering the place did look very rustic, however tables were clean and the family running the place were very nice.
Was nice to watch the food prepared, and when it arrived it was excellent. Food was, delicious and authentic and the prices were great. Just a note some of the specialty items can only be supplied if you arrange ahead of time. It was great and would definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    206
    55
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had lunch here after walking by the day before and watching the owner cook seafood in cocnut husks on the fire. A family run Warung, with Dad on the bbq and Mum in the kitchen. We ordered chicken satay and calamari. We did have to wait about 20 minutes for our meal, but drinks were served quickly (the Bintang is kept at 0oC in a freezer) and while waiting we could watch the family at work in the kitchen. Cooking lessons are available and we watched a couple help prepare and cook their meal.
Our food was delicious, hot and fresh. Some dishes have to be ordered a day in advance(mainly seafood- lobster etc) as the family go to the market every morning at 5am. A very relaxed and casual atmosphere, traditional Balinese fare at a good price. Meals and drinks for 2 came to less than AUS$15 including tip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the few that serve real Balinese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had the typical Balinese Lawar (without the pork fat and blood luckily), and we had king prawns, red snapper and chicken sate. The food was really really good! Quote from my company: the best satay I had on bali! People are friendly and the place looks nice. Good value for money. Really worth a visit.

Small note for the owner: play some nice music!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KD-ontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wish I had a better review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted warmly and the business owner was really delightful. The atmosphere was authentic and nice for a change from all the other tourist driven restaurants. Unfortunately, we really didn't like the food . I ordered the massive prawns after the rave reviews and couldn't eat them ... They were so tough and rubbery. The skewers were average at best . I really wanted to like this place as much as I liked the business owner but it just didn't happen and wasn't even close .

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neatb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great traditional family food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The best meal we have had in Bali so far provided by friendly welcoming family run business! All fresh organic ingredients cooked right in front of you by the whole family. Relaxed cosy atmosphere would recommend this to anyone!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alnjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Eny also viewed

 
Seminyak, Bali
 

Been to Warung Eny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing