We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but missing atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Warung Eny

Warung Eny
Ranked #56 of 506 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food but missing atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went based on TA feedback and the food didn't disappoint. We had the corn fritters and calamari for starters and both were excellent and tasty. Rice was served to us both whilst we waited for the mains to accompany it. My cap coy was delicious and lots of different veg. My husband had the fried chicken which he thought was fantastic.
Not sure if it was the time or day but we were only one of two couples tonight. Admittedly we arrived at 9 and its Halloween so may have been why others skipped or had an early dinner.
Family run and friendly, happily explained dish and provided extras we asked for.
Would recommend the food to veggies as well as this has the largest range I have seen so far.

Thank you for the great food

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunitaLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    253
    67
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

An early lunch and we just wanted a light meal Indonesian style. Right on the main road with only a few tables and very basic but friends had urged us to try it. A cold beer and we placed our order with the friendly staff and watched as the food was prepared and cooked right before our eyes..
Some satay in a delicious gravy with lemongrass followed by beautiful tasty corn fritters. Simple fried chicken was next along with the best warm Indonesian salad I have tasted - forgot the name but it was yumm!
Definitely going back for more next time!
If you are looking for a trendy place this is not for you, but honest local fare what is on offer here

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Local restaurant, real Indonesian food, real taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We pre-booked the giant prawns the night before as recommended by other guests at our hotel. for $200,000Rp (AUD$20) you get four giant prawns cooked over some coconut husks burning in a cut off 44 gallon drum. The flavours are amazing and the side dish of vegetables only complimented the prawns. Drinks are some of the cheapest we paid and the service was fast and friendly. If you need to find Eny's, just get your driver to take you to Vila Lumbung and eny's is located to the right of the entrance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smurphs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“My favourite place for dinner in Seminyak, heartly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I live in Oslo, Norway and have spent several winterholidays in Bali and Seminyak. As from the first time I spotted the small Warung with the vegetable shop in front I have been a regular guest there. I can say nothing but; Try it and you will be just as "saved" as I have been. The food is always fresh and from the best ingredienses, prepared in the open kitchen by the boss and members of the family. His wife is the smilingly caring in command in the restaurant always with a pencil across in her hair, handy for writing the bills. They form a complete athomosphere of harmony and pleasure. The first time I came their two sons were little boys playing quietly in a corner. Now I guess they are responsible for the internet presentation of Warung Eny.

I am looking forward to my visit in February with great pleasure and my very first dinner will be.... at Warung Eny! Try it yourself, it is not fancy, very down to earth, genuine. We need places like Warung Eny.

Tycho D. Castberg, Oslo, Norway

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TychoOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Had all seafood. The crab with sweet chilli sauce was quite incredible, prawns with garlic were the biggest prawns I've ever eaten, slightly underseasoned but ended up having everything with the crab's sweet chilli sauce anyway. Squid was nice too. Amazing value, great service, simply furnished. Well worth a visit for Indonesian food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crumbs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Eny also viewed

 
Seminyak, Bali
 

Been to Warung Eny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing