We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing 2 bedroom villa”
Review of The Jas Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jas Villas
Ranked #62 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having stayed in villas and in Bali (including Seminyak) before we were very disappointed with Jas Villas. They were overpriced worn villas located down a dark muddy lane way (difficult for taxis to travel down), away from the 'centre' of Seminyak. Unfriendly check in. On the outside kitchen appeared modern but inside cupboards were old and damaged and struggled to close drawers. Water damage to bedroom ceiling and poorly flushing toilet (if your bin doesn't have holes in it, fill that to flush the toilet). Semi open air bathroom, with glass panels to allow for natural light which was good but the modern fountain type shower head was not practical, splashing water all over the bathroom and wetting the toilet and vanity. Private pool area with nice fountain feature and daybed but pool quite deep (and same depth all the way along). Bedrooms made up sporatically, even when we had been out all day we had to ask for the room to be made up and for fresh towels. Bed was uncomfortable. Breakfast was served in the villa and the different dishes arrived at various times so could not eat at once or all together if you wanted the food warm (or to eat toast with your eggs). Also took a long time for breakfast dishes to be cleared. Service charge on mini-bar exhorbitant. There are plenty of other places to stay in Seminyak and surrounds so recommend to pick somewhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 440 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here with my family for about 9 days in jan 2013.
Villa itself was nice.
The bedrooms are enclosed, but all else is kind of open air.
Nice pool, and being private was a bonus
Had some problems with air-con in one room, but the staff were very helpful with getting it fixed.
The breakfast was nice, but became a bit boring due to the limited choice. Ended up going out for breakfast last few days.
As other have said the road/path leading to the main street is a bumpy/dark walk - not really hotels fault.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a great value villa, in a great location just off one of the main streets hosting restaurants such as ltimo, Rumours, Trattoria, The Junction, Cafe Bali, Champagne Bar, Kaizen, Chandi and of course the best beaches at Kudeta and La Lucciola. The villas were clean and the bedrooms a reasonable size one with an outdoor bathroom (which constantly smelled unfortunately) and the other with an indoor bathroom which didn't. Staff were great and overall we had a great stay. We could have done with a little more room, but all in all very good

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 07Rhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Not sure what 4 star hotel operates like this but this is what we faced:

1) Non working of air conditioner in 1 room
We left the AC on in our room at 4 PM and on our return around 8 PM, the room was still hot. We waited for another hour and asked the reception to have a look. They called in their maintenance staff to work on it and they finally got it to work marginally better around midnight. We waited outside in the heat and with mosquitoes for 4 hours after a long day and the result was still the same. We had plans the next day which we had to cancel and reschedule due to this inconvenience. While we waited for the problem to be resolved, the receptionist was busy cracking jokes and laughing on her phone conversation.

2) No Water in the Bathroom
The water stopped flowing in the bathroom while I was taking a shower. We checked the other bathroom and that had no water either. Again, a call to the reception and the lady mentioned she had no clue why there was no water and had no maintenance staff on site to take a look at it immediately and that it would take some time to fix delaying our plans further.

3) Misrepresentation of information
Our booking included buffet breakfast however we were given a sheet of items and were asked to pick only 1 item per person in each category and anything additional would be charged. For e.g - if I had a pancake, I had to pay additional to eat a croissant.

4) Rude Customer Service
We reserved a villa for 5 adults however the reception told us we had to pay an additional price for the 5th adult as their villas were meant to accommodate only 4 adults and that we would not be able to get breakfast for the 5th person if we didn't pay for the 5th person.

5) Dirty Linen and sheets
The linen in the rooms was dirty and we had to ask them for it to be changed. This in spite of we having had to wait to check in (arrived at 1 while check in was at 2).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Singap0reTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We chose the Jas Villa to stay at on our second trip to Bali in August because of it's location which is right near cafe Bali which was our favourite place to get coffee! I even explained this when making an enquiry before booking and all emails were from "the Jas Villas". We arrived at 10pm and went straight to the Villa to check in only to be told that because we had a one bedroom villa we were actually staying at "the jas boutique villas which was situated about a ten minute drive away . I told them I was not happy and wanted to stay at that location but they said they were full and due to it being nearly midnight we had no choice but to go to the other villa.
I hated it! The walls on the villa were so high and claustrophobic and unlike the previous villa we stayed at which was open and spacious on a previous trip this was a narrow walled in villa situated at the rear of a paddock !
The pool saw no sun due to the high walls around it and the day bed next to it with a canopy and there was no room to even put chair to sit in the sun.

When we complained the next day and said we wanted to leave as this was not what we booked and we were never told we would not be staying in Seminyak or that all one bedroom villas were at their other location we were told they would charge us a cancellation fee of three nights. I was then told if I did not pay the cancellation fee they would take it out of the managers salary so basically they made me feel guilty about it. We paid but as soon as we booked in to another wonderful hotel I emailed the owner and complained and they refunded my money.

Room Tip: Be very careful to ask which location you will be staying in as the Jas villas are in Seminyak but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The location of this villa is great! You can go to the Main Street with restaursnts and shopping within 5 minutes walking distance. However the path to the Main Street is a little bumpy and dark however it's not much of an issue since we can use our mobile phones as torchlight.

The staffs at the villa are very helpful and friendly. Our privat tour guide who came to pick us actually told us that the villa staff took down his car number plate etc and asked him what time we will go back to the villa for security purposes. Which I thought is a nice touch.

The villa itself is very clean and cosy. However the pool is really cold to swim in. Overall it's a nice villa and the price is great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirleyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a great place. It's a lovely clean, spacious, relaxing, well managed, staff friendly and helpful place to stay. It's location is excellent. 5 min walk to many excellent restaurants and shops.
My 2 boys 15 and 19 shared the king bed. They found this not a problem.
Communication before we left by email was fantastic.I just warn you to update them for arrival time changes.
We have been here for 5 days and no complaints with anything. We have 6 days to go and we know they are going to be just as great.
I hope if you book here, you too have just as a wonderful time like us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spotty63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.9 mi away
Jas Boutique Villas
Jas Boutique Villas
#237 of 426 in Seminyak
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#26 of 426 in Seminyak
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Light Villas
The Light Villas
#27 of 426 in Seminyak
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#15 of 426 in Seminyak
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bracha Villas Bali
Bracha Villas Bali
#48 of 426 in Seminyak
209 reviews
1.0 mi away
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
#69 of 426 in Seminyak
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jas Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jas Villas

Address: Jl. Laksmana Gang Bugis, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $84 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jas Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Seminyak, Bali's most sought after area. Seminyak is known for its trendy cafes, modern art gallery, fashionable boutique and beautiful beach. Here, you are not just experiencing a retreat but you will discover the spirit of Bali. The Jas villas are decorated with Balinese theme to give our guests memorable stays. You can spend your cocktail evening, while you enjoy the serene sound of the wall fountain from your very own private swimming pool. Each villa is equipped with full kitchen set, a comfortable lounge to enjoy every moment with your companion. Enjoy your morning coffee with a wide selection of our international as well as local TV channel. Stay connected with your friends and family as each villa is equipped with internet Wi-Fi. Free shuttle is provided around Seminyak area for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Jas Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jas Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Jas Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing