We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbishing badly needed”
Review of Kunti Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kunti Villas
Ranked #106 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Refurbishing badly needed”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

While it is indeed value for money in terms of space, I wouldn't recommend this place at all to those who enjoy a good location, comfort and cleanliness. It is run down and badly in need of refurbishing. I believe it was once a really lovely place and still can be if something is done to restore it. But for now, it is mosquito infested, with rather dirty looking bed linen, holes in the mosquito nets, towels that aren't fresh smelling or clean and rather rough to the touch, sofa that is torn and unsightly. The place is dimly lit even with all lights turned on and that attracts mosquitoes even more. I spent the entire night wide awake just hitting away at mosquitoes. I wanted to check out the very next day but had no choice other than to stay on as I'd already paid in full. I spent my second night better prepared to fight with the mosquitoes and planted mosquito patches all around the bed. That somewhat helped. The bathroom although spacious is rather run down and makes you just want to do your thing and get out. As for breakfast, although having a butler deliver breakfast of your choice at a time appointed by you is a nice idea, the quality of breakfast is left to be desired. Be prepared that breakfast could come to you rather cold, coffee or tea means a pot of hot water which you would use to make on your own cuppa with the sachets available at the kitchenette and juice tastes like a really sweet cordial mix. I personally would appreciate a cup of freshly brewed coffee and juice that's more natural. If you want to be away from the excitement of the activities in Seminyak then this location is fine. But if you're in Seminyak for the shopping and night life, you are not in the middle of it if you stay here and need to walk at least 10 minutes to be at the start of it all. Not at all safe to walk because there are no pavements all the way - so avoid walking if you're with little ones. You need to call for a taxi from the villa if you don't want to walk. In terms of service, Balinese are generally lovely people. Won't likely be back to this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRM_Bali, Manager at Kunti Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear JulieCon

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Bali and thank you also for taking time to write comment.
We would like to apologize for couples inconvenience that you encounter when you staying with us. This certainly doesn't represent the high standards of our brand. Please rest assured that I have addressed your comments with the concerned department for improvement.
For your next trip to Bali, and since this recent visit did not match your expectation we would like to recommend you and your relatives to check directly at balitrm.com in where you can see the different properties that Tjendana Corporate has in different locations of the Island such as Villas Aya and The Club Villas in KayuAya Street, the heart of Seminyak.

Kindness regards

Nova
Villa Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    36
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ok so I would like to think I am now a seasoned traveler to Bali. I have stayed at around 6 different resorts there. When considering all of the different factors this I would say comes out in the top one or two and here are my reasons why.
Firstly what I love about this venue is the space. I have stayed at many of the plush villas in Seminyak like Pradha, BVilla to name a few. What I really didn't like about them is how squashed in you are. Also in nearly every one of them after midday or around 2pm the sun will set over the building. So if you are considering enjoying your villa and not necessarily exploring then bear that in mind. With this villa you have masses of space. The pool is the bigger than any I have had in Bali and its well serviced and looked after.
That space applies to the whole villa, you have a massive room, chill out area and bathroom.
The honest truth is it is a little scrappy in areas. Yes the air con in the room looks a little shabby but it works. The kitchenette is a little ragged around the edges but it was functional.
So the space to me outweighed a lot of the other factors. We simply hired a scooter from reception which cost around $5 per day and we would ride into Seminyak or catch a cab. It was around a 5 minute drive, so yes dont expect to be able to walk to anything apart from the convenience store which you could happily stock your mini bar up for half of the price that you would be charged in the other villas
The service was good, anything you needed they would tend to. Amenities were excellent you got everything you needed for the stay.
I will be going back there every time I go back to Seminyak I think, I would much rather the space than the limited space you get in the centre of seminyak.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room away from the road. I think it can be noisey if you stay near reception. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ_Traveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Villa is quite run down. Many parts of flooring and shower look aged. Surroundings not interesting. Nothing in walking distance. Service is not up to par.

Tried to order dinner after long day and called front desk, only to be told I have to come to front desk to pick up a booklet because they are to busy to bring it over. Once picked up, you get a booklet of a low end delivery service.
Towels are like sand paper. Water pressure goes up and down, so your shower will go hot-warm-hot-warm-etc.
Breakfast they will bring it to your villa in the morning, but what they bring is not great. Fruit juices are artificial bulk products.

Also strange is upon check-out they need 15 minutes to check your villa if anything is missing. A waste of time because there's nothing worth taking.

There's many other locations on Bali where you get much better bang for your buck.
Unless you get a very good deal and are not planning to hang around your villa more then an hour, avoid this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank galore360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Had stay 2 nights La Beau Kunti Villa. Upoon arrival no welcome drinks and buttler not around. .Had ask the front desk for a map. they do not have as they run out and offer to give us a copy of a unclear map that is so blur.
The key thing about the villa is the Room is in need to re-vamp . Toilet flooring is worn out and discolor . Stain on floor mat.My room even have dripping issue when it rain. Poor house keeping as I see spider around and tap/ hair dryer is not shiny but in tarnish condition.

Poor breakfast , do not order the western breakfast. Better if you are eatting out.

It is the little details in a hotel or villa that made the stay complete. The management had failed to do so in all level.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have never stayed in such a huge hotel room before 3000 sq feet with our own pte pool.
The concierge lady was really excellent and the villa driver was always trying to help us get to our place free of charge.

Am amaze at the size of the rooms we got and the wah liao so huge toilet and bath tub...

If we do come to bali again we will defintely book here again so many great memeories

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Like most Balinese "luxury" resorts, this one cut corners on everything possible to save on cost. From afar, this resort is absolutely breathtaking! The pool, rooms, and bathrooms are everything you can wish for on a perfect holiday. However, when you get up close, this place had good intentions of being of luxury quality, but turns out to be poor in execution in every way.

While the rooms look new and modern, the villas still needed work. For example, the door to the bathroom doesn't seal shut at the hinge, so bugs continue to come into the room even when the doors are closed. The water that comes out of the sink spills every time because it is made for a tall sink and not the shallow one they used. The rainfall shower head is great, but spills everywhere in the bathrooms. The view of the TV is completely obstructed by the bedposts and there is no view from the couch. There are no fitted sheets on the bed so the flat sheets move around at night and you find yourself faced with a dirty mattress.

Service is hit or miss depending on who you get at the front desk. I often find that the night staff is more friendly than the day staff. The girl who wears white during the day cannot speak much English and has to ask someone else to help me every time I ask for something. Even when I asked for a print out of a bill, it took her 30 minutes because she couldn't do it on the computer on her own. When I asked them to book a in-room massage, they said they would call right back but they never did. However, when my mom got ill, they brought her ginger tea immediately at no room charge. When we needed an umbrella they let us borrow them for our day trips.

One thing to note about the safety of your personal belongings is that everything should either be with you or in your safe. The hotel says that you are responsible for all of your belongings left in the villas. We stayed there for 4 days, 3 nights and every time we leave the room, we lock EVERY door. When we return, we find at least 1 or 2 doors unlocked. That's the service staff who make up your room. So if you get burglarized during your stay, it's not the maid's fault, it's yours. Think twice about this point.

This place is new so they have great deals going on. At $200USD per night for 2 couples is a steal. But please look at it as an average hotel room and not a luxury villa to not be disappointed. That way you'll really enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location lets this villa down. It is off a busy road near a busy intersection and so you need a taxi to get about everywhere.
As always, very friendly staff and the accommodation was very generous in size with a large pool and in a secluded walled garden.
Breakfast is provided. I paid $117 USD which is a fair price for the villa. I wouldn't pay any more.
It is clean with nice large balinese style bathrooms.
TV only had 20 channels with one Film channel in English though there is DVD player in the room if you require. Good air conditioning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejp1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.1 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#35 of 146 in Seminyak
700 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heliconia Villas
Heliconia Villas
#91 of 146 in Seminyak
182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
#23 of 146 in Seminyak
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#29 of 146 in Seminyak
618 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sanyas Suite Seminyak
The Sanyas Suite Seminyak
#82 of 146 in Seminyak
303 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bhavana Private Villas
Bhavana Private Villas
#109 of 146 in Seminyak
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kunti Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kunti Villas

Property: Kunti Villas
Address: Jl. Kunti II, Seminyak, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kunti Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting Kunti Villas with 7 exclusive units are located next to the fashionable Seminyak area where beach and all kinds of shopping, restaurants, nightlife and entertainment can be found. After an active day, you can escape to peacefulness in this wonderful holiday villa with private swimming pool with sundeck area, kitchenette, semi-open dining area and living area. The combination of sunny skies and tranquility, as well as warm and friendly Balinese hospitality makes this villa the perfect holiday gateway for families and couples. The guest rooms are beautifully appointed and well equipped with modern amenities. Experience personalized service, 24-Hours Security, 24-Hours Front Desk, Laundry service, Daily housekeeping and Room service, etc. Contemporarily Balinese design and true serenity that will genuinely leave you with unforgettable memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kunti Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Beau Kunti Villa Hotel Seminyak
Kunti Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing