We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot, but GREAT!”
Review of Raja Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raja Gardens Hotel
Ranked #127 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot, but GREAT!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I tell you what, I stayed at Grandma's Hotel the first time around for $2 less a night and I feel like such a fool! Raja Gardens is beautiful, spacious, and very comfortable. It's located really close to the beach and easy access to bars, restaurants, and shops. I loved our little room! The bathroom was probably the cleanest I have seen since I got to Bali 3 weeks ago. It almost felt like you were taking a shower outside as they have beautiful plants and stones decorating part of the bathroom. We had a very decent sized room and a nice little porch with a couple of chairs to relax and overlook the pool. The only downfall is the lack of A/C in our room, which made for a very hot evening. The nets they put around the bed refuse any air from the fan to enter, so I ended up getting bit by some very lucky mosquitos. Other than that, it's definitely worth the stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
16
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We found this accommodation by accident , and I am glad I did. The air conditioned Bungalows were spacious, clean and well maintained. The family run business provides an adequate breakfast and the staff were always helpful. A little bit of Bali paradise. Will I be back? DEFINATLY

Room Tip: For a few $ more, the aircon rooms are good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curley47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Not being happy with our booked accommodation next door we stayed here and were absolutely delighted, spacious, clean and close to beach, restaurants and shops. The grounds are superb, great pool and staff. Could only suggest a shade sail or Umbrella at the pool. Love this place.

Room Tip: Great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 740Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very nice hotel with lovely swimming-pool, beautiful garden and close to the beach. It's a pity that the room is full of mosquitos and net over the bed is filthy and doesn't help that much. The pillows of the arm-chairs inside need laundry badly. It's rather cheap according to Seminyak standards so it's OK for a couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We came down to Seminyak after 10 days in Ubud and spent our last 4 days lounging around at the beautiful beach. The staff were so obliging and helpful we felt really at home, and our air conditioned room was perfcet - comfortable, spotlessly clean and very handy for the pool and the little lane running down to the beach.

We splashed out and went for the A/C room after 10 days in the heat with only a fan, but their other rooms looked equally comfortable and clean. The garden setting is simply beautiful and the taxi place across the road meant that the short distance into seminyak 'proper' was never a worry, although the walk was pleasant with plenty to see on the way.

The biggest asset is definitely the proximity to the beach, and you don't need to go far once you're on the sand - the spot nearest the guesthouse is one of the nicest stretches of beach in the area. A stroll along brings you to plenty of nice restaurants and there's more surfing than you can ask for in the immediate area.

We also found that there are plenty of opportunistic Balinese people hoping to sell their wares on the sand - don't be annoyed at this, its part of the whole experience. They're lovely people and why not spend £3 on a great foot massage or £2 on a manicure? you're on holiday, let loose.

Our stay at Raja Gardens was the perfect end to our honeymoon. It was quiet, relaxing and perfect for couples looking for a private getaway in lush surroundings.

Room Tip: Splash out and go for the air-con room, and enjoy the book exchange at reception too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have stayed at Rja Garden in Seminyak for 2 wks.Excellent in every way .Very clean and immaculate property. Jon and his Balinesse wife and staff were all great..
Beautifull and reasonably price for the quality and service. Close to everything ..beach shopping...pool but secluded...a little jewel in Bali...
Michel Menard Vancouver Canada

Room Tip: They'll re all good.. Some pool and a few private villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The owner John Walker is quite the adventurer and regularly sails traditional teak-wood boats down to Darwin from Bali. If you join him you may find yourself surrounded by natives with spears wanting to kill you or the boat might run up on a reef or perhaps a sea ulcer might form on your leg and create a puss filled whole. So don't forget the antibiotics. All good for a laugh though, if you survive the trip. As for Raja Gardens you gotta love the old school flavor of the place. Its great and much better than these huge monstrosities that have been built in Bali in recent years.To be on the safe side maybe just stay there and live vicariously through John's tales of adventure on the Wetar Straights. Although the sailing trips are where you will get to sample some of the best canned food you have ever eaten.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#77 of 146 in Seminyak
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
ANANDA RESORT
ANANDA RESORT
#96 of 146 in Seminyak
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#78 of 146 in Seminyak
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#48 of 146 in Seminyak
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#80 of 146 in Seminyak
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarinande Hotel
Sarinande Hotel
#20 of 113 in Seminyak
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raja Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Gardens Hotel

Property: Raja Gardens Hotel
Address: Jl. Abimanyu (Dhyanapura), Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy bungalows in a big peaceful garden just a few steps from Seminyak beach. Large swimming pool. Close to the best restaurants,shopping and nightlife. Only 9 rooms ... small is beautiful! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Raja Gardens Hotel Seminyak
Raja Gardens Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing